We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stop off and take 10”
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I meet friends here for a coffee and chat but stayed for a meal as we enjoyed the atmosphere of the Plough. Service was very good and the meal was of a good standard. The Restaurant is a little tired looking but they try hard to make sure that all your needs are met. Desserts need some work to make better but the over all experience was very good

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed with my wife over a weekend and we both found the whole establishment spotlessly clean. The food was first class and the accommodation very comfortable.I would have no hesitation in recommending this fine inn. The staff were very warm and friendly and We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a country pub with with a restaurant and rooms and I'm afraid, like much of my home county, Norfolk, is in danger of pricing itself out of business. £95 for bed and breakfast is steep we thought on booking, but it looks nice and we'll treat ourselves. On arrival we were greeted in a friendly manner and a delightful young receptionist showed us to our room. We had asked for a twin and were given a twin, but...... It was a bedroom which was obviously part of a family suite and was tiny. It was very clean and tidy but there was no wardrobe or anywhere to hang clothes. We eventually discovered a wardrobe in an adjoining room - a sort of dressing room affair next to a room with a double bed! An ingenious use of space but while there were three rooms all of them were poky and had insufficient space to do anything. We decided, as we had had an awful journey, to dine in the restaurant but this was not a pleasant experience; the food was expensive and my sirloin steak was swimming in fat and at £18.95 seriously overpriced. We ate in again the next night and the food was better but still expensive. Mine host and his wife were very pleasant and worked hard to make us welcome but at £320 for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast (plus a few drinks) the hotel is poor value for money and we won't be returning anytime soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Knowing that the weather was going to be good we booked very last minute for a weekend break in Norfolk. We took pot luck and booked 2 nights B&B at the Plough inn - their last double room - we were very pleased that we did.

The Plough Inn is midway between Norwich and the North Norfolk coast, handy for the steam railways, the beaches, Cromer and Norwich, with their theatres. The room was clean, the breakfast very good and dinner on the Saturday was excellent. The menu was sophisticated, the food beautifully cooked and presented. The hosts are very nice and we will definitely be staying there again soon, especially with their Winter break offer (ask them about it!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Plough Inn is a country Pub with restaurant and 12 guest rooms. The host and staff are very welcoming and attentive. The rooms clean and draft free. The restaurant was surprisingly good. We would recommend a stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anglophile2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here for a few days and found this an ideal location to explore this area of Norfolk. The room was spacious and comfortable, clean, and well kept, with free wifi. The wifi is a little bit erratic and weak, but this may be due to the rural location of the Inn.
Great food, and the staff very friendly and obliging.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fxbronte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was a business trip for me and wow! What a great find. I booked due to the over priced chain hotels nearby. I stayed here one night - very friendly, great food (homemade), nice clean room with free wifi and breakfast inc. this was £30 cheaper than the Travelodge / Holiday Inn and Premier inn. So much nicer and would defiantly recommend to anybody. I will most defiantly be coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMerison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsham
6.4 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
956 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
9.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
796 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
230 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Old Norwich Road, Marsham NR10 5PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Marsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marsham
Price Range: £91 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Inn Marsham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing