We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Comfortable Inn....But At £98 A Twin !”
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marsham
Certificate of Excellence
solihull
Level Contributor
814 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
“Good Comfortable Inn....But At £98 A Twin !”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My colleague and I stayed at The Plough Inn (booked at the last minute trying to find a twin) whilst we were travelling in Norfolk (Mid Norfolk Railway, North Norfolk Railway, Bure Valley Railway, Wroxham) and found our twin room (No 1) clean and spacious with a good en-suite. I found my mattress rather hard for me which spoilt my sleep. There was free Wi-Fi but had a problem in our bedroom as it was erratic and kept loosing internet connection so I gave up.

We decided to eat in the restaurant in the evening so we could have a couple of drinks and we had the following...Starters Duck Liver Pate £5.50....Crab and Coriander Spring Roll £5.95...Mains....Lemon Sole Fillet Stuffed With Crab £12.95....Steak and Kidney Pie £12.50...
All the food was tasty and cooked to perfection.
After our meal we relaxed in the armchairs in the bar area for coffee and drinks.

Their breakfast was well supplied with the usual cereals, full cooked English breakfast,kippers,meats and cheese (although I did not see fresh fruit salad).

We enjoyed our stay overnight but think overpriced for the room that we have stayed at other establishments.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    57
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
90
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
283 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had arrived the previous day from NZ and were looking for a welcoming, well appointed, inexpensive stay with a fantastic bar and restaurant. We got all that here with the plus of lovely staff, large comfy bedroom with all facilities.
A relaxing night thanks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Nice Hotel for a stay in Norfolk, Clean throughout, Friendly staff, Good Breakfast, Good food in the restaurant, Convenient for North Norfolk attractions, fair priced, what more do you need! Easy to find located just out side of Aylsham

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here before and we were really pleased to visit again. A beautiful individual setting, ideally located for visiting the area, the food is outstanding, all prepared fresh to order and locally sourced. Great service, a little gem of a place, we are looking forward to coming back again soon!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sharonandjohnLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very nice inn a with a comfortable room, good food and very friendly staff. This is a good location easy to get to Norwich, sheringham, cromer and blakeney with several NT properties nearby, including blickling hall. Will return when we next go Norfolk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardna32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have now stayed at the Plough on 3 occasions and will definitely be back again. Rooms are modern, clean, comfortable and accommodating. Each room has tea and coffee facilities, Hair-dryer, TV and soaps and shampoo in the en-suite bathrooms. The rooms are made up everyday which is nice to come back to after a busy day out.
The hotel is also very quiet and I have never heard any of the other residents in any of the rooms or downstairs in the restaurant/bar area.
Breakfast is served in the restaurant downstairs and includes everything you need from orange juice to tea and fruit to a full cooked English breakfast.
Cannot fault the room facilities or service, would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for a break away, with excellent service, facilities and a great range of high quality food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckySav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here on a weekend visit to Norfolk.We had a room at the front which was very clean,and comfortable and had all the amenities required.
All the staff were really welcoming and nothing was to much trouble.We dined in on both evenings and the food was excellent with a nice atmosphere .Breakfast was just as good and plentiful.
All in all an excellent stay and would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRIAN403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsham
5.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
865 reviews
6.5 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
826 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
708 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
203 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Old Norwich Road, Marsham NR10 5PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Marsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Inn Marsham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing