We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, delicious food, never disappointed, great service all round.”
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marsham
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcoming, delicious food, never disappointed, great service all round.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have eaten here many times including Christmas Day, not once have we had a bad meal or service. Wonderful staff and fantastic food, highly recommend a visit to all.
They go above & beyond what is expected.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolmollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    63
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
97
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went to the Plough at Marsham for lunch today with my wife and father. Very nice pub which also has accommodation. Sat at a nice round table and we all had something of the Lunchtime menu board. Myself and my father had Pan fried Plaice on the bone with parsley sauce and buttered new potatoes. This dish was also accompanied with a selection of vegetables. The fish was flavoursome, fresh and cooked to perfection. The Parsley sauce was delicious and obviously freshly made. The new potatoes were full of flavour and cooked just right as was the small vegetable compliment. This course was just £7.50 and I thought was remarkable good value for such an excellent meal. My Wife had Smoked ducks breast with a salad of apple and feta cheese which she thought was delectable. This course was also £7.50. All in All we thought it was excellent food and really good value. Will be going here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Famstavros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We drove past this pub and thought we'd pop back for dinner. We weren't disappointed.

It had a nice atmosphere and great friendly staff. The food was amazing and there was lots of it, we were disappointed that we couldn't manage dessert!

It may seem a little expensive for pub food but don't be put off, it's well worth the money and you get what you pay for!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PandaWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

A very warm welcome from both staff members, firstly sat for a drink in the bar before being shown to our table for a delightful meal. Very nice food, shame I didn't get to sample dessert but was so full from the main course!
Will be visiting again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cl4ire02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and i dropped in to the plough on our way back from a weekend away on Monday lunchtime. first off we were shown the lunch menu at 7.95 one course and increasing in price for 2 and 3 courses. In addition we were given the dinner menu average price £11. As i am on a strict diet we told the owner we would skip lunch and just have a drink. At this point we were presented with the bar snack menu. Sandwiches, jacket potato, omelettes etc. I opted for a ham and mushroom omelette minus the chips. Asked or salad and some balsamic vinegar. food was nice. But the bill less so! £9.45 for a 3 egg omelettes. Will not be visiting again. Over priced.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank sharon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Visiting this excellent pub with a friend for a weekend break. Excellent Food, the service and staff were very good, they were helpful and friendly. Our twin room was small but well appointed as requested at the rear of the building to avoid the traffic noise noted on other guest reviews at the front. It would have been nice to have had voile or net at the window as this room is side onto several houses and direct onto their communal drive. One of the beds was a little uncomfortable and a little more attention to dust in the bedroom & bathroom is needed but otherwise very clean. We did have an enjoyable stay and would recommend this very friendly place to other guests visiting Norfolk. Places to visit nearby Fellbrig Hall excellent National Trust property with lovely walled garden and very interesting country house. Coeliacs catered for but breakfast would have been better with some gluten free cornflakes and natural yoghurt to go with the fresh fruit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter but may be smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights for a break and can say it was very enjoyable. The 'but' comes later. The food was excellent in the evenings and very well cooked. The breakfast was freshly cooked and plentiful. Very nice surroundings and our room was very spacious and spotless. Here comes the but. Our room, no 3, is above the restaurant and on our first evening there was a large booking. When in bed it sounded as if we were in the restaurant with them. At least at closing time the noise stopped and we were able to drift off to sleep in a very comfortable bed. The owners and staff were very friendly and attentive.
If we return to this part of Norfolk we would have no problem using The Plough Inn again. But would book a room at the rear.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the inn are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsham
5.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
890 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
609 reviews
6.4 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
11.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
736 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Old Norwich Road, Marsham NR10 5PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Marsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Inn Marsham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing