We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laskill Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hawnby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed here late March with our spaniel Douglas. Mandy was very welcoming. Only 2 other guests with their small child. We were upgraded to the four poster suite room which was fabulous & has great views.
Had a lovely meal with a good choice of wine. Excellent quality & value.
The house is in a great location for walking. Helmsley is a lovely town & well worth a good look.
No problems having our dog with us. Plenty of room in the fields for him to run about. Mandy happy for him to stay in the dining room whilst we ate (as long as other guests don't mind)
We will go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulnDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed as a foursome for two nights on dinner B & B terms. Everything was right: a lovely house, nicely decorated; tea and cake on arrival each day; comfortable beds; log fires; and an excellent four-course dinner with good choice of wines. Mandy is a very welcoming host with exactly the right customer service approach. She remembered our names, chatted to us, offered a better wine at the same price when the one we wanted had run out, and provided goat's cheese on the second day for one of our party who could not eat cow's.

Dining is at a communal table, which was fine by us, and the evening meal was very good quality. The outdoor jacuzzi was an unusual feature for a British B&B, and we enjoyed using it in weak spring sunshine after our walk.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Booked 8 rooms as a shooting party on a bit of a punt. Usually stay in Helmsley. Mandy was friendly, good humoured and organised an excellent dinner and breakfast for us. My room was large with a very good quality mattress and linen. Reports of the other rooms were all positive apart from one who moaned because he ended up with the singe room and single bed.
Red wine was got in specially and she charged modest corkage on the white that I took. Large living room with log fire made it feel very homely and we helped ourselves to the well stocked bar and had a reckoning up the next morning. We had a very reasonable rate db&b and the whole thing cost about half what it would in one of Helmsleys best. The nicest part that everyone commented on was the warm welcome and a feeling of being 'at home' Another feature not found in town is silence and beautiful views.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms in the main house, otherwise a 50 yard walk to converted outbuidings and a self contain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Very nice and welcoming! There is a warm log fire in the front room and tasty breakfast. The room was cosy and had good views. Great location if you have a car and the views from the house are beautiful!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Thank you so much to Mandy and Joe who made our short stay at Laskill Country House such a welcome October half term break. Mandy upgraded us to the HoneyMoon suite which was a real treat. The fourposter bed looked out onto the glorious colourful, autumn views of the local countryside. We were truely spoilt with both a separate luxurious bathroom and shower. The breakfast was perfect and a great start to the day before a memorable walk from Helmsley to Reiviex Abbey, which is well worth a visit. We had our first evening meal at The House. Mandy made this very special and cooked quail as it was in season. Nothing was too much trouble and the whole experience was very relaxing because of the homely and comfy surroundings. After a long walk nothing could be better than a soak in a very big bath followed by drinks in front of an open log fire and finished off with a lovely home cooked meal. The feathers in Helmsley was also a great place to eat for a bar meal. A great break at a very reasonable price. A brillliant find.

Room Tip: Go for the 4 poster, room with a view, you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathryn509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We hired the house for a special family birthday. Mandy could not have been more accomodating and her team were brilliant. The food was simple but perfect and nothing was too much trouble for Mandy. We had the run of the house and used all the bedrooms which were comfortable with lovely personal touches. Can highly recommend the garden hotub! We would definately use again for a similar occasion it was a home from home with none of the work. Thank you Mandy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizj755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed one night on our drive through Yorkshire, and found Laskill a comfortable respite. Mandy and Joe were perfect hosts, the room was comfortable and cushy, the breakfast enormous. We ended up staying for dinner, also, and it was one of our favorite times on our trip, eating and laughing with 2 other couples. Couldn't have found a better play to land and plan to return on my next trip to the UK.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawnby
5.3 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,672 reviews
5.2 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
5.3 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laskill Grange
Laskill Grange
#10 of 13 in Helmsley
74 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Carlton Lodge
The Carlton Lodge
#7 of 13 in Helmsley
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laskill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laskill Country House

Address: Laskill House Easterside, Hawnby, Helmsley YO62 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley > Hawnby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hawnby
Price Range: £95 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laskill Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laskill House stands proudly in beautiful Bilsdale, 6 miles north of Helmsley, in the stunning North Yorkshire Moors National Park. It is surrounded by hills and open countryside which fringe the unique open moors. Traditionally built of Yorkshire stone in the seventies, Laskill has its own private spring water supply that runs down from the hillside - definitely worth a sample...Originally built as a private residence, it has now opened its doors as a contemporary Bed and Breakfast establishment whilst still retaining its rural charm. Open all year round for B&B, dinners, private dining and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Laskill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laskill Country House Hotel Helmsley
Laskill Country House Hawnby, North Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing