We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Bilsdale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laskill Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hawnby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Mandy met us, straightaway offering tea and cakes. Nothing is too much for her. We quickly settled in. We booked dinner that evening and joined another couple who were staying in the cottages (Laskill Grange) and they were able to tell us about them. We have booked the Granary in August. I can thoroughly recommend Laskill country House.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Four Poster which had panoramic views all-round
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is not a hotel, it's a private house were you are welcomed by Mandy and nothing is too much trouble. Def worth eating in one night and sharing a table with other guests, very enjoyable. Make use of the hot tub, great fun after a good days walking.
Wonderful location for travelling.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Our second stay at Laskill Country House was just as enjoyable as our last, a stunning property set in beautyfull countryside and only a short drive to Helmsley a pretty village with everything you would want, Mandy and Joe are really friendly and make you feel at home and nothing is too much trouble with the easy going atmosphere.
The bed was so comfy we found it hard to get up in the morning and the room with its lovely views over the fields was perfect. The breakfast was first class and set us up for the day ahead, we hope to return in the near future to a perfect place to just chill out.
Janet, Tony, & Archie.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TONY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Set in a remote place near Hawnby, Laskill Country House stands in the middle of very breathtaking scenery. The place is serene and peaceful. It has clean and spacious rooms. Everyone is very accommodating. Great place, great people and great food. Thank you for a very rejuvenating vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed here late March with our spaniel Douglas. Mandy was very welcoming. Only 2 other guests with their small child. We were upgraded to the four poster suite room which was fabulous & has great views.
Had a lovely meal with a good choice of wine. Excellent quality & value.
The house is in a great location for walking. Helmsley is a lovely town & well worth a good look.
No problems having our dog with us. Plenty of room in the fields for him to run about. Mandy happy for him to stay in the dining room whilst we ate (as long as other guests don't mind)
We will go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulnDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed as a foursome for two nights on dinner B & B terms. Everything was right: a lovely house, nicely decorated; tea and cake on arrival each day; comfortable beds; log fires; and an excellent four-course dinner with good choice of wines. Mandy is a very welcoming host with exactly the right customer service approach. She remembered our names, chatted to us, offered a better wine at the same price when the one we wanted had run out, and provided goat's cheese on the second day for one of our party who could not eat cow's.

Dining is at a communal table, which was fine by us, and the evening meal was very good quality. The outdoor jacuzzi was an unusual feature for a British B&B, and we enjoyed using it in weak spring sunshine after our walk.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Booked 8 rooms as a shooting party on a bit of a punt. Usually stay in Helmsley. Mandy was friendly, good humoured and organised an excellent dinner and breakfast for us. My room was large with a very good quality mattress and linen. Reports of the other rooms were all positive apart from one who moaned because he ended up with the singe room and single bed.
Red wine was got in specially and she charged modest corkage on the white that I took. Large living room with log fire made it feel very homely and we helped ourselves to the well stocked bar and had a reckoning up the next morning. We had a very reasonable rate db&b and the whole thing cost about half what it would in one of Helmsleys best. The nicest part that everyone commented on was the warm welcome and a feeling of being 'at home' Another feature not found in town is silence and beautiful views.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms in the main house, otherwise a 50 yard walk to converted outbuidings and a self contain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawnby
5.2 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,646 reviews
5.2 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
5.3 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
402 reviews
23.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,097 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laskill Grange
Laskill Grange
#12 of 14 in Helmsley
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laskill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laskill Country House

Address: Laskill House Easterside, Hawnby, Helmsley YO62 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley > Hawnby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hawnby
Price Range: £98 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laskill Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laskill House stands proudly in beautiful Bilsdale, 6 miles north of Helmsley, in the stunning North Yorkshire Moors National Park. It is surrounded by hills and open countryside which fringe the unique open moors. Traditionally built of Yorkshire stone in the seventies, Laskill has its own private spring water supply that runs down from the hillside - definitely worth a sample...Originally built as a private residence, it has now opened its doors as a contemporary Bed and Breakfast establishment whilst still retaining its rural charm. Open all year round for B&B, dinners, private dining and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Laskill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laskill Country House Hotel Helmsley
Laskill Country House Hawnby, North Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing