We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laskill Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hawnby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We spent two nights here but would quite happily have stayed for longer. We arrived Friday pm and were greeted warmly by Mandy, shown to our room and then asked what we would like to drink as it would be brought to us on the patio. The "room" was a treat, with separate bathroom and another shower room, oh and what a view! A cuppa on the terrace (with cake) and a lovely relaxed afternoon was enjoyed by both of us. We chose to eat out that evening, but booked to eat in for the Saturday night. Breakfast was full English and we shared a table with two other couples, a little different to the norm but a great way to meet other people especially in such a relaxed environment. We were encouraged to treat it like our home and to come and go as we wished during the day, so this took any pressure off us trying to keep ourselves busy and out of the way.
The evening meal on Saturday was lovely, nothing too fancy, but good wholesome food (Mandy describes herself as a cook not a chef). Again we ate with three other people, Australians this time (who didn't really want to talk about cricket). Once again a thoroughly enjoyable evening and different to what we might be used to. Another great nights sleep followed by breakfast and we were sadly on our way home. Would we recommend it to others, absolutely. Would we go again? Yes without any hesitation, that is if you can get in. Only four rooms available so book early. All the staff we met were very friendly and couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome. Even the handyman had time for a chat.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Laskill Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a lovely out of the way place to restore the batteries. We stayed in the blue room which is now the tulip room and has a very comfortable bed and a very comfortable bath! Beautiful views, homemade cake, yummy jam & marmalade. Wonderful hot tub outside. Mandy is very relaxed and also very helpful. We did some great walks taking in part of the Cleveland way which has spectacular views, enjoyed Rievaulx Abbey and pretty Helmsley.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Mandy met us, straightaway offering tea and cakes. Nothing is too much for her. We quickly settled in. We booked dinner that evening and joined another couple who were staying in the cottages (Laskill Grange) and they were able to tell us about them. We have booked the Granary in August. I can thoroughly recommend Laskill country House.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Four Poster which had panoramic views all-round
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is not a hotel, it's a private house were you are welcomed by Mandy and nothing is too much trouble. Def worth eating in one night and sharing a table with other guests, very enjoyable. Make use of the hot tub, great fun after a good days walking.
Wonderful location for travelling.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Our second stay at Laskill Country House was just as enjoyable as our last, a stunning property set in beautyfull countryside and only a short drive to Helmsley a pretty village with everything you would want, Mandy and Joe are really friendly and make you feel at home and nothing is too much trouble with the easy going atmosphere.
The bed was so comfy we found it hard to get up in the morning and the room with its lovely views over the fields was perfect. The breakfast was first class and set us up for the day ahead, we hope to return in the near future to a perfect place to just chill out.
Janet, Tony, & Archie.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TONY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Set in a remote place near Hawnby, Laskill Country House stands in the middle of very breathtaking scenery. The place is serene and peaceful. It has clean and spacious rooms. Everyone is very accommodating. Great place, great people and great food. Thank you for a very rejuvenating vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed here late March with our spaniel Douglas. Mandy was very welcoming. Only 2 other guests with their small child. We were upgraded to the four poster suite room which was fabulous & has great views.
Had a lovely meal with a good choice of wine. Excellent quality & value.
The house is in a great location for walking. Helmsley is a lovely town & well worth a good look.
No problems having our dog with us. Plenty of room in the fields for him to run about. Mandy happy for him to stay in the dining room whilst we ate (as long as other guests don't mind)
We will go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulnDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawnby
5.3 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
763 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,626 reviews
5.2 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
396 reviews
23.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,077 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laskill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laskill Country House

Address: Laskill House Easterside, Hawnby, Helmsley YO62 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley > Hawnby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hawnby
Price Range: £92 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laskill Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laskill House stands proudly in beautiful Bilsdale, 6 miles north of Helmsley, in the stunning North Yorkshire Moors National Park. It is surrounded by hills and open countryside which fringe the unique open moors. Traditionally built of Yorkshire stone in the seventies, Laskill has its own private spring water supply that runs down from the hillside - definitely worth a sample...Originally built as a private residence, it has now opened its doors as a contemporary Bed and Breakfast establishment whilst still retaining its rural charm. Open all year round for B&B, dinners, private dining and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Laskill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laskill Country House Hotel Helmsley
Laskill Country House Hawnby, North Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing