We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laskill Country House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hawnby B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another amazing stay.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Once again we stayed 3 nights as a birthday treat for my wife. The accomadation and the food were to the high standards that we have come expect being there. We had dinner on one of the nights and this was a superb 4 Course meal (Main course - Phesant, Fantastic) The location is beautiful and Mandy the hostess is fantastic, who cannot help you any more than you ask for. Giving advice on the best places to visit on your day trips. Ideal location for York, Whitby or Helmsley.
Highly recommend this to anyone looking for a lovely place to stay in North Yorkshire. Slept like a lamb for all 3 nights. Hot Tub a beautiful place to unwind under the stars in private seclusion.

Room Tip: The tulip room gives a beautiful view over the countryside at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
53
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
721 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I booked Laskill Country House using the online booking facility on their website. I paid the required deposit (50%) using Paypal. A few days later I received a Paypal notification with no explanation from the merchant that the deposit has been refunded! I finally had to call Laskill Country House to be advised that they had double booking. Not impressed!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laskillcountryhouse, Owner at Laskill Country House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I would like to begin by clarifying 2 issues. Firstly, this man WAS contacted by us despite his statement to the contrary. Secondly he has never stayed at Laskill Country House so any rating he gives us cannot relate to the rooms, location, value, service, cleanliness or sleep quality here as he has NEVER experienced any of them.

His online booking was made very late (11.06 pm) on 20 June. In his review he states he had no explanation from us - this is not true. He was contacted after little more than 48 hours of making the booking, when we realised there was a problem - caused by issues beyond our control. We do not run or control the online booking system - issues with the servers, update synchronisation etc are matters far out of our hands and on this occasion unfortunately allowed a double booking to be made. I cannot believe that there will be any hotel or B&B on the planet which has not had a double booking at some point.

Also we are not “the Merchant” and at no time was his payment ever in our account. We can only initiate the refund process but after that it is out of our hands. We are not responsible for their contact with the customer.

"A few days" suggests to me longer than 48 hours and so he would have received our email explaining the problem before his paypal notification. It is simply a lie to state in the review that he had no explanation from us – he did (Sent a 07.39 on 23 June 2014)

I do not feel we were "unprofessional" in the handling of this. He WAS contacted promptly - even if he says differently. As a small family run business we don’t have the luxury of being able to monitor and respond to emails 24 hours a day but we have been awarded Trip Advisor Excellence awards for the past 2 years. Something not achieved by being unprofessional!

People who come to stay often say we have read your reviews on trip advisor but “there’s always one isn’t there”. This man is currently our “one” – a title which sadly comes with just a one star rating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It goes without saying that I had the best day of my life at Laskill Country House on Saturday June 7th as I was happily married here! On our first visit to Laskill we knew within a few minutes this was the place for us.We didn't even have to look elsewhere! From Mandy's incredibly warm welcome to the delicious tea and cake we were treated to, everything about Laskill is warm and inviting and we were made to feel that this home was our home. The day of the wedding couldn't have gone any better with Mandy having everything running smoothly and nothing was ever too much to ask for. The food and service was simply stunning! The ceremony room was perfect for our intimate service and we loved that we could decorate the house how we wished, making it all the more personal to our family and friends. As for the bedrooms, these are all very spacious with the most beautiful views of the dales and the breakfasts did not disappoint either! I can't thank Mandy and her team enough for making our day and time there so special!! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bexicle1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed for two nights and were in the four poster bedroom. It was very spacious with a shower room plus a separate bathroom. Loads of wardrobe and drawer space, bath robes, bedside clock radio a smallish TV, a super king bed, tea and coffee tray, hairdryer in fact everything had been thought of. A special mention for the very comfortable bed. An excellent full English breakfast and we had an evening meal which was also enjoyable and nicely served. On arrival we were treated to afternoon tea and homemade cake which was delicious. Convivial hosts Mandy and Sue were very friendly and accommodating, I would highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Four poster was more expensive but felt was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollyboy1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The location is stunning set in rolling Yorkshire dales.The house itself has rooms with cottages nearby also available. The main house is all that you would want in a country house and whilst not classically 'pretty' the rooms are traditionally furnished to create a very cosy atmosphere. The team who run it are attentive without be intrusive and you feel more like a house guest than a customer.The food was reliable without being spectacular. Good value and worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights for a wedding , Amazing place , all staff so friendly and helpful . Wonderful homely feel .Mandy made our entre party feel at ease and so welcome . All the rooms were of an exceptional standard . We will be going back .. Thank you for making our time there very special :)

Room Tip: great hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynsey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Title says it all. What a fantastic place. Really well run, super comfortable.

Rooms are of a high standard, great lounge and log fire. Some cottages down the road for larger groups of an equally good standard

Great breakfast. We'll be back soon hopefully.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawnby
5.2 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,532 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
683 reviews
5.2 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
362 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Hawnby
The Inn at Hawnby
#1 of 3 in Hawnby
381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laskill Grange
Laskill Grange
#13 of 15 in Helmsley
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laskill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laskill Country House

Property: Laskill Country House
Address: Laskill House Easterside, Hawnby, Helmsley YO62 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley > Hawnby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hawnby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Laskill Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laskill House stands proudly in beautiful Bilsdale, 6 miles north of Helmsley, in the stunning North Yorkshire Moors National Park. It is surrounded by hills and open countryside which fringe the unique open moors. Traditionally built of Yorkshire stone in the seventies, Laskill has its own private spring water supply that runs down from the hillside - definitely worth a sample...Originally built as a private residence, it has now opened its doors as a contemporary Bed and Breakfast establishment whilst still retaining its rural charm. Open all year round for B&B, dinners, private dining and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Laskill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laskill Country House Hotel Helmsley
Laskill Country House Hawnby, North Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing