We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”
Review of The Inn at Hawnby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Hawnby
Ranked #1 of 3 Hawnby B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We bought this on a travelzoo deal, well worth the price for a nights stay with a meal and breakfast too.
Location is beautiful, very peaceful and relaxing, we stopped in local Helmsley for a while and then made our way to the Inn. we arrived just before 2pm which is lucky as they close for a few hours after that so they can collect the children from school.... life goes on for everyone, sadly this means the bar would be closed for a few hours so in hindsight purchasing two bottles of wine instead of one would have been better to pass the time whilst taking in the view. the bar itself was quite bare and not as in keeping with the exterior but certainly does the job.

We stayed in one of the stable rooms as we had brought our dog (costs a small fee extra), this was perfectly adequate and very cosy.

Meal was fantastic, very well cooked and presented, service was brilliant and the restaurant itself was very tidy....... I can certainly recommend the restaurant if you fancy somewhere with a little class.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will more than likely take up another deal when one appears on the travelzoo site.......... and I recommend you try it too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    114
    40
    20
    14
See reviews for
34
262
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Like many others reviewing the premises, we had purchased a Travel Zoo voucher and took advantage of an overnight stay with evening meal.

We were greeted by a staff member who was friendly and efficient. He quickly checked us in and showed us to our rooms (in the main Inn) they were quaint, but comfortable and in keeping with the age and location of The Inn. The owners were away for the weekend so, unfortunately, we did not meet them.

The Inn is in a wonderful location. We were lucky enough to enjoy late afternoon drinks in the sunshine, taking in the wonderful views, before retiring to the cosy bar area with real fires. We did however feel as though we were a "side show" to the locals who came in to the bar around tea-time.

Dinner was enjoyable. A varied menu in a beautiful dining room, our choices delicious and well presented, served by pleasant, friendly staff. Breakfast, likewise.

Overall a very pleasant overnight stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJNIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn Y, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thankyou for your comments I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. We try very hard to mix the INN guests with the locals, sorry if you felt like a side show not our intention at all. I am glad you would recommend us to others
Regards
Kath Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We bought a Travel Zoo voucher in the summer and stayed this weekend. The room (York) was in the annexe just over the road and had everything you need. It was very quiet and cozy. Our voucher entitled us to a 2 course meal in the restaurant and the food was excellent - they very happily catered for me (gluten free and an aversion to mash!) and the lamb was to die for!
Our only quibble with the Inn was the cost of a bottle of wine - £28 for a french rose which was very nice ... but rather expensive. All in all, the Inn is a wonderful place to stay and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annexe are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireHarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My partner and I recently had DB&B at The Inn on a Travelzoo promotion.There were a number of positives: our room was clean,comfortable,well equipped and had a spacious en-suite bathroom;the staff were very friendly and the service at mealtimes was prompt and efficient;we enjoyed our starters for dinner-my mushroom and chestnut soup was particularly memorable-and the modest breakfast was perfectly adequate.The big disappointment,however, was the quality of our main courses at dinner !My partner's ribeye steak had an excess of fat and gristle and was served with soggy chips and a thin and insipid sauce,and the gnocchi in my otherwise tasty smoked haddock dish was undercooked and rubbery.The chef's night off or simply an off night ?A pity as this experience marred an otherwise pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our party of 5 had a great break at The Inn. We stayed in the stable block warm, comfortable, cosy and clean. Very welcoming staff -Jane who really was generous and kind during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Our evening meal was delicious and well presented. Breakfast was just right and service again with a smile! Very good value and total relaxation.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itomlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

You certainly can't fault the location! The pub is warm and friendly. The restaurant is smart, food good and staff are friendly and efficient. Wine is a little expensive. The bedrooms in the stables are comfortable but not luxurious. Travel zoo prices are about right - not sure I'd pay more. I would recommend checking your bill carefully.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarrieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I booked with Travelzoo for dinner bed and breakfast for £99. We are very familiar with the area, often visiting Helmsley. We initially visited Nunnington Hall, lovely old place with small gardens and then went to book in at the Inn. We were greeted by a member of staff and taken to our room. Our daughters had arranged for flowers and chocolates to be delivered - lovely surprise. Our room, Heather, was old fashioned - I felt the carpets and bathroom curtains could have been cleaner but it was ok. The corridor leading up to it was very tired, curling wallpaper and the lightshade outside the room and the ceiling needed a good clean. No welcome drink was offered as advertised but that was ok as we were going straight into Helmsley. We were told the bar wouldn't be open during the afternoon but again that was ok. We were asked what time we wanted our evening meal and so at 7 we made our way down to the bar, a smal,l cosy room with a nice fire and we chose from a good menu. Some of the meals were starred so a supplement needed to be paid - refer to later when our bill was paid. The dining area is lovely, we sat next to the fire and the atmosphere was good. When we returned to the room at around 10pm the radiators had still not fired up even though we had turned them up so needed to use the additional heater. The bed was comfortable.
We had our breakfast over looking the side of the Inn, lovely views even with the dark, misty morning. We could only manage tea, toast and orange juice which was a shame.
When my husband paid the bill he was charged for two supplements which had not been shown with a star on the menu for steak and apple crumble; I think this should have been shown clearly as were things like the cheese board.
Overall our stay was pleasant, the views are stunning and the food was good but I didnt feel it was necessarily a 4 star experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badlyneedaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn Y, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thanks for your comments I am glad you had a lovely anniversary which your husband said on his departure. All of your other comments have been taken on board and are being dealt with.
Kind regards and congratulations on your anniversary
Kath Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawnby
5.7 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
11.8 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laskill Country House
Laskill Country House
#2 of 3 in Hawnby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Hawnby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Hawnby

Property: The Inn at Hawnby
Address: | Nr. Helmsley, Hawnby, Helmsley YO62 5QS, England (Formerly The Hawnby Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley > Hawnby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hawnby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Hawnby 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a nine bed roomed country INN situated at the top of a hill in the peaceful hamlet of Hawnby. Panoramic views surround us.We have a cosy bar with real ales and a good selection of wines. The restaurant is elegant with crisp white linen dressing the tables. The INN holds the taste of Yorkshire award as well as one rosette for its high quality locally sourced food.Our ethos is for you to come and stay with us, relax and unwind from the stresses of everyday life while we look after you in a laid back professional manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Hawnby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Hawnby Hotel Helmsley
The Inn At Hawnby North Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing