We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, quiet, good food and a fabulous bed!”
Review of The Inn at Hawnby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Hawnby
Ranked #1 of 3 Hawnby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Peace, quiet, good food and a fabulous bed!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Hawnby is a tiny little village nestling in the valleys not too far from Sutton Bank or Helmsley in North Yorkshire. If you're looking for a boutique hotel, then this is not for you. This delightful little Inn is warm, welcoming and cosy. Dogs are welcome in the bar so forget your high heels and designer frocks, this is YORKSHIRE and this is a country Inn!
Lovely friendly greeting by Francesca and my room overlooked the entire valley with the most enormous bed. Fab!
Wonderful dinner helped down by an excellent Timothy Taylor's pint or two and an utterly peaceful night - not a sound to be heard outside. No mobile phone signals - bliss. Free Wi Fi though if you need it.
I lent out of the window in the morning, sun just peeping over the hills, and drank in the peace. If you're looking for a country retreat, log fires, good food, an excellent cellar and good beer, then this is the place for you. If you want a posh, minimalist hotel where everyone whispers, then this is not for you.
I came on the Travelzoo offer and wasn't disappointed. Sadly hubby couldn't come so they very kindly let me invite a girlfriend to join me for dinner and then another girlfriend for breakfast! How nice was that? 10/10 to the owners.
Definitely coming back to this little haven.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highleghlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn Y, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thankyou for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you again hopefully this time with your husband
Kind regards
Kath Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    118
    45
    21
    14
See reviews for
34
270
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Booked the travelzoo offer for our wedding anniversary. Made very welcome on arrival, room very nice (cowslip) views overlooking the village. Nice cosy log fire burning in the bar and the food was excellent, all freshly prepared.
would certainly visit again. 26.03.14

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn Y, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Than kyou for taking the time to write about us. Delighted you had a lovely anniversary.
You were a pleasure to look after
Many thanks
Kath Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had another wonderful, relaxing stay here. The food is amazing, the atmosphere is tranquil and the setting superb. It is a quintessential country inn.The hosts were as always lovely. Having no phone signal is perfect to being able to unwind. There is Wi Fi if you need it. The rooms are cosy and clean. It is a little piece of heaven and we have the best nights sleep ever when we stay here. Thank you again and don't change anything, perfection can't be bettered!

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn Y, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Karen. Thanks so much for your support of our INN. We love looking after you both you are such a pleasure - Its great to have repeat customers like you and Mike - you make it all worthwhile
See you soon
Kath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skidby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Visited on Fri 21/3/14 with my partner as part of a weekend away. The pub is set in stunning country side with fantastic views across the valley. Arrived late afternoon & were shown to our room, called Sky. Regards some reviews saying the rooms are a little tired, we found them clean, tidy & cosy, bear in mind the building is old. We had a pleasant drink in the bar & met Freddie & Bobby the Labradors. For dinner I had the scallops , steak & cheese board, my partner had steak & the creme brûlée, all of which were very tasty. If people complain about paying a little extra as we did for wine & some of our dishes then maybe stay at home or go to McDonald's! Breakfast was the full English, although the omelette & kippers looked & smelt amazing. Overall we had a lovely short break away & will recommend The Inn at Hawnby.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank airliebird13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn Y, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thankyou for saying the lovely things you have said about our INN. When we have happy customers it makes us very happy too. Glad you have a great stay and look forward to welcoming you again
Regards
Kath Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed on the Travelzoo D B&B offer and surprise surprise we got the Sky room. Presumably there are better rooms in the place. We immediately noticed that the bathroom mirror light wasn't working, there was no TV remote and contrary to the room blurb, no phone- quite important when there is no mobile signal. We went down to the bar to point this out to Dave who said "there's a phone in reception" and seemed not to know about the TV remote and the light. His attitude was " what's the problem? Press the bottoms on the TV". Fine if you are a 7 foot basketball player.
The food at dinner was good but the prices if we had been paying the full price were high and several dishes had surcharges. There was no fruit at breakfast but there was a choice of cereals and juices. There was a good choice of cooked breakfasts. I has the full cooked breakfast, which was very tasty. My wife chose Yorkshire ham and poached egg.
It arrived quickly but the ham smelled odd and tasted off. When we told Kathryn (who was serving at breakfast) she said it couldn't be off as it was fresh in. She took it away with no offer of any replacement. We waited for her to reappear with some explanation but after 10 minutes we gave up. When we checked out we mentioned it again and she conceded that she had tasted it and described it as "strong". She said she had planned to offer us something else but by the time she got round to it we had gone.
The deal included a glass each of prosecco. No one offered us this either before or during the meal so we had the awkward situation of having to ask for it in the bar afterwards. Dave produced two glasses and a tiny 20 cl bottle. It was actually quite good so we asked for another. When we checked out we found they had charged us £11 for the second 20 cl bottle. When we expressed our surprise we were told " it is on the wine list".

To sum up, this pub seems to be losing sight of what it is- a Yorkshire pub in a tiny village. It isn't a swish city hotel and nor should it be, but it's pricing itself as one. If they are going to pitch themselves into this market they need to get everything right and invest in some major refurbishment. We stayed on a deal and still left feeling cheated but it would have been a lot worse if we had paid full price.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn Y, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
I was really disappointed to read your review especially as you had had quite a long conversation with Dave about how great the food was and about the calligraphy we have on our walls.
I was going to respond to every point you have picked on us about. However after sleeping on it I have decided not to bother and let other people read the reviews above of the same week. Those people had a great time and were such a pleasure to look after.
We are not losing sight of what we are. We have spent 15 years building this business so I would hope by now we know how to make the majority happy.
I am just going to finish with what another customer said about you whilst you were picking on me publicly in the bar. As she paid her bill and told me what a lovely time she had had. She started laughing about you and your comments and said some people want it all for nothing don't they. How do you cope with them - they just don't get it do they that you have bills to pay too.
I rest my case and welcome all others to come and have a nice time with us as the majority of people do. I guess you just sit in the 1% that don't.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

On reviewing the weather forecast at the beginning of March, we booked the Travel Zoo offer for the evening of 12 March. When telephoning to make the booking we were advised that the inn was fully booked but we could be accommodated in a Stable annex. We accepted this, but on arrival were shown by a pleasant yourg lady to a lovely spacious room - king size bed - large bathroom - outlook over the garden and surrounding countryside - and, in the main building. This was a really pleasant surpise, especially as it was my birthday! We had a drink before our meal in a very pleasant bar and then had a lovely 2 course meal chosen from quite a comprehensive menu and afterwards spent more time with other visitors in the bar.
There was a very varied choice on the breakfast menu - and althoug "full English" was available it was good to have quite a number of available options.
We really enjoyed our brief vist to the Inn at Hawnby and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it - staff, food and location all great!!
Brian and Liz - Staffs Moorlands

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

A travelzoo offer taken up by wife and me led to no disappointment at all. Arriving at 3pm we were made welcome from the off. Shown to our room (Heather) we were instantly taken with the quaintness,brightness and cleanliness. A very comfortable room for our needs with adequate space to hang clothes,cupboards etc etc. A very comfortable bed, complementary sherry, plenty of tea/coffee facilities was most impressive. The ensuite was very clean with a decent sized bath and shower combination, lashings of hot water and a wonderful view of the valley. The bar area was just up our street, a lovely fire, nice furniture,real chill place if you know what I mean. The evening menu was varied and although there was additional cost to some items,I really didn't mind. I paid extra for a 5 scallop starter and was not disappointed. The standard of food was very good and the fish main excellent. Enjoyed the cheese board too, extra again but hey ho! The staff were very friendly and attentive also. After a fantastic nights sleep we both decided on a full English and again were impressed with the quality. We have promised ourselves that we will come back here and stay for longer. The Inn is in a beautiful tranquil location and we want to explore the surrounding area more extensively together with experiencing the hospitality of the establishment again. A lovely place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawnby
5.7 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 5 in Helmsley
734 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Helmsley
1,595 reviews
5.6 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 5 in Helmsley
387 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
624 reviews
15.2 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Hawnby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Hawnby

Property: The Inn at Hawnby
Address: | Nr. Helmsley, Hawnby, Helmsley YO62 5QS, England (Formerly The Hawnby Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley > Hawnby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hawnby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Hawnby 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a nine bed roomed country INN situated at the top of a hill in the peaceful hamlet of Hawnby. Panoramic views surround us.We have a cosy bar with real ales and a good selection of wines. The restaurant is elegant with crisp white linen dressing the tables. The INN holds the taste of Yorkshire award as well as one rosette for its high quality locally sourced food.Our ethos is for you to come and stay with us, relax and unwind from the stresses of everyday life while we look after you in a laid back professional manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Hawnby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Hawnby Hotel Helmsley
The Inn At Hawnby North Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing