We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Head Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kings Head Country Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here in February and are new to trip advisor but have to add a review of this Hotel. Whilst it is a couple of months now since we stayed we have to record that this Hotel is nothing short of marvellous.
The rooms and staff were throughly first class.
Of course not the cheapest place we have stayed but it was quite simply faultless.
You can book this Hotel with total piece of mind.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise1963b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kings H, Owner at The Kings Head Country Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Denise1963b

Many thanks for taking the time not only to post a review but also for joining trip advisor in order that you could.

A review such as this speaks volumes to us all and helps motivate us to maintain standards.

I am pleased that you found us to be faultless and we hope to be welcoming you back to The Kings Head Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    101
    31
    21
    7
See reviews for
49
265
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here last week, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, although we live some fifteen miles away, we stayed here to attend a Birthday Party nearby. would thoroughly recommend this a Hotel to stay at whilst in this part of Norfolk. The Staff are brilliant too.

Room Tip: Excellent Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BALI2007BALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kings H, Owner at The Kings Head Country Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear BALI2007BALI

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your experience at The Kings Head Hotel.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much and found the staff to be brilliant.

Despite living so close, we hope to see you back in the hotel or in the bar or restaurant in the near future.

Kind Regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

supposedly given a superior room,whilst there was space.,there was no decent blind in the bathroom ,which was filthy,the tiles behind the shower were dirty ,the shower screen dirty.The room was on the main road in Bircham,which by Norfolk standards should have been quiet..but a combination of traffic and music from downstairs which restarted at 6:30 did not provide peace.!
Dinner was ok,but poor vegetarian option and very overpriced.
shame as we had visited many times.
In response to my complaint about the music ,I was told I should have phoned down,fair point but at 6:30 am.!

Room Tip: superior room facing the front road. ......beware
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from weekend break to Kings Head Hotel (Travelzoo offer) Lovely hotel, decor and ambience, friendly staff (with a sense of humour!) nothing too much trouble, great food, beautifully presented. Fantastic time had by all (all 8 of us!) and a big thank you to all the staff who looked after us so well, hope to visit again soon ...

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kings H, Owner at The Kings Head Country Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Cathy T

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your experience at The Kings Head Hotel.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much and all had such a good time. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings Head in the near future.

Kind Regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Kings Head at Easter, having driven past it many times. Can't recommend it highly enough. Our room was lovely - clean and comfortable and beautifully decorated. The food was fabulous - great choice for both breakfast and dinner. The staff were friendly and helpful. Craig is doing an amazing job! Could have stayed all week. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kings H, Owner at The Kings Head Country Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Carrie 1963

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and also for your email to us thanking us. Feedback like this helps encourage us to maintain standards. I enjoyed speaking to you both during your stay and look forward to doing so again next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We didn't notice immediately, but having gone back to the car to pick up a few things, coming back into the room we noticed that the bin had not been emptied. That then sets off the alarm bells and one tends to be more critical. We then noticed the filthy - yes filthy- net curtains which could not have been washed for some considerable time - years? and the shower screen splash marks that hadn't been cleaned.We complained to the desk and received an apology and offer to move us for just one of our two nights whilst they deep cleaned the room, but having not subsequently found anything worse other than a ripped undersheet, we didn't want the hassle. They said we could have a "couple of free drinks" as a token of apology.

We had not booked dinner on the first night and wanted just a bar snack. The choice was fair but prices very high. However we were told that we could have a table in the restaurant which was pleasant and came with bread and olives etc. This made it much better. My burger was good, but my wife's fish and chips rather disappointing in both quality and quantity and at around £11 each would have been far too expensive if taken in the bar.

Going back to the room we tried the tv but could not get any consistant reception on any channel. BBC1 was best, but still kept breaking up. NB phone reception was very intermittent as well - we had to rely on the wifi and email for communication.

The next morning we asked about the TV and it was suggested that the channels may need updating and that would be dealt with, as well as the deep clean, while we were out. They explained that the room cleaniing was a contracted out operation and the housekeeper had been unwell the previous day so hadn't checked...

Breakfast was limited but fine for a small hotel - one cannot expect much choice- and unfortunately there was an electricity supply problem the next day so they decided to do English hot buffet only rather than cook to order.

Coming back that evening the room had been cleaned properly and net curtains replaced, but the TV had not been resolved.

Our second night tasting menu dinner was quite good,, but not particularly memorable other than small portions that I suppose goes with the "tasting" aspect. The rosette awards tend to raise expectations that are seldom met.

When asked on checkout how we enjoyed our stay we reminded them that the initial dirty room had been a disappointment and the TV reception problem had not been resolved, and there was no real reaction and the offer of a couple of drinks had not been pursued nor deducted on the bill.

Apart from the specific faults, the hotel was modern and smart, and the staff friendly and seemingly helpful though in our case did not deliver the quality or the promises.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We went for a two day Travelzoo break. Hotel was excellent, staff very efficient, friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble.

Food was excellent. My wife would strongly recommend the Eggs Benedict and the fresh crab.

Easy to get to plenty of parking, room very spacious and comfortable. Very handy for North ans West Norfolk coast. If you are a Nelson freak like me then Burnham Thorpe is a must, both the church and the Lord Nelson pub (previously The Plough), Nelson's local.

Was previously the village pub so locals use it as well which adds to the atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186225David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kings H, Owner at The Kings Head Country Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear 186225David

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. A review such as this helps encourage us all to maintain standards. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us so much.

We hope to welcome you back to The Kings Head next time you visit the area.

Kind Regards
Craig Jackson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Bircham
7.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
7.1 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
6.9 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
6.8 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Country Hotel

Property: The Kings Head Country Hotel
Address: Lynn Road, Great Bircham PE31 6RJ , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Bircham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Great Bircham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Head Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Kings HeadA very warm welcome to the family-run Kings Head Hotel. Built in the Edwardian era, the hotel combines all the traditional warmth and comfort of a long established country house hotel with sleek contemporary facilities. The hotel is located close to the great estates of Royal Sandringham and Houghton, also offering easy access to the North Norfolk Coast the Kings Head is very well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Kings Head Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Lynn
Hotel Kings Head
The Kings Head Country Hotel Great Bircham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing