We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel in an ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kings Head Country Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire England
Level Contributor
171 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel in an ideal location”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at the Kings Head whilst visiting the Sandringham Flower Show - on arrival a very friendly welcome, promptly shown to our room which exceeded our expectations. Very clean and well supplied with various teas/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits! The bathroom was spacious well stocked with toiletries.Very good outside terrace - ideal during the excellent spell of weather! The only downside being our room was located at the front of the property so was quite noisy early morning. We dined in the evening with friends and the menu was very good - spoilt for choice. Food was well prepared and presented and the waiting staff very attentive. Reasonably priced wines with a good selection to choose from. The hotel is also well situated for visiting the North Norfolk coast as well as the Sandringham Estate and Houghton Hall. As an aside opposite the hotel is the 'Country Store' run by a very amicable Frenchman stocking some excellent wines together with an excellent delicatessen - and sandwiches for a picnic.
Looking forward to our next visit to the Kings Head!

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a room at rear of property
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERG586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    103
    32
    21
    7
See reviews for
53
272
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stubbled upon the kings head at great bircham after we left Sandringham. We turned left ouy of yhe carpark and headed towards Anmer passing the Queens stud. Then turned left into great bircham and the kings head was the left. Ample parking at rear, vety warm welcome at bar on both occasions and we sat in both thr garden with our children and the courtyard dining area. The lunch menu is excellent and great value and quality. We had the whitebait dur to being by the sea, but our daughters had other choices that were also excellent. The kids menu and food was fabulous our 3.5yr old tucked into fresh local produce sublime. .so good wr took out in laws the following day..they were also very impressed andcwe loik forward to any opportunity to return. A hidden gem of the east coast and definitely worth a visit. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andy748s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch and was very impressed with food, service and surroundings. Have been to various eateries in the area such as Hoste and The Duck Inn and this is just as good, even better. Would definitely eat here again. Thank you

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed here on a groupon deal with my dog and was extremely impressed with the friendly staff, the clean and spacious room and the wonderful food. I had breakfast and the tasting evening meal. All of the food was delicious, there was plenty of choice and the staff were lovely and helpful. The bar is well stocked and if you like gin you are in for a treat as they have over 60 different types.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the paved area at the back and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I chose the Kings Head Hotel for a celebration break for my birthday, which proved to be a great choice. It's in a beautiful location overlooking the countryside and Great Bircham Windmill, the sunset views from the gardens were beautiful. The hotel room was comfortable and spacious and the food was of a high quality and delicious, the five course taster menu was a treat. The hotel was a good base for exploring this part of Norfolk. I definitely want to go back.

Room Tip: Room 11 had the views at the rear of the hotel which took in the countryside and windmill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The room was good value for money. Clean and spacious with a settee and two chairs. Very comfortable. Have paid a lot more and had less.
The resteraunt was light and pleasant,the food was good,staff helpful and attentive.
We would definately stay here again.
It was in an excellent central position for touring the surrounding area.
We wanted to visit Sandringham and the lady on reception gave us the scenic route.
Can't recommend enough.
Forgot to mention the breakfast,you certainly won't go hungry.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The bedroom was dissapointing, it was a 'Superior Double' and it may have been ten years ago but the signs of wear and tear are there. The downstairs was well appointed and in the restaurant for breakfast we had a good breakfast but had to keep asking.. more toast..butter, we gave up when it came to more tea. The bar was nice and cosy and served very good coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greyffox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Bircham
24.0 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,246 reviews
23.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
748 reviews
19.8 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
533 reviews
10.2 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
774 reviews
22.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Country Hotel

Property: The Kings Head Country Hotel
Address: Lynn Road, Great Bircham PE31 6RJ , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Bircham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Great Bircham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Head Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Kings Head Country Hotel, a very warm welcome to the family-run Kings Head Hotel. Built in the Edwardian era, the hotel combines all the traditional warmth and comfort of a long established country house hotel with sleek contemporary facilities. The hotel is located on the great estate of Royal Sandringham and close to the Houghton estate, also offering easy access to the North Norfolk Coast the Kings Head is very well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kings Head Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Lynn
Hotel Kings Head
The Kings Head Country Hotel Great Bircham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing