We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel but.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Head Country Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Myself, My Partner and our dog Bo stayed at this hotel for 1 night in August. We chose to stay here as it was doggy friendly and seems good from reviews and photos. When we booked there were no rooms left but we were offered Room 4 which was a double room not advertised as they use it as an overflow room. On arrival we checked in and the room was lovely. We went straight down to the bar, grabbed a drink and sat outside in the huge garden. Staff and visitors were friendly and we booked a table in the bar for dinner that evening. Dinner was lovely and even the dog was made very welcome. The only issue we had was with the noise in our room! Our room was directly above the patio leading to the garden and as it was a nice evening lots of people were outside chatting and drinking until the early hours - when I say early hours, I eventually had to lean out of the window at approx. 3am and ask the couple having a cigarette if they could take their conversation elsewhere!! Which they did but then they were back again 30 mins later!!! All in all we had about 3 hours sleep. We were not impressed. Also the room was like a boiler room - it was so hot, we had to have the windows open or else we would have cooked to death, we found out the following morning that the actual boiler room was next door with 2 massive boilers in it - hence the heat? Upon check out I was prepared to mention the noise issue when I was asked if we had had a nice stay, but we were never asked the question and I felt awkward complaining so we skulked off with our tails between our legs!!! All this said we did love the hotel and we wouldn't be put off of returning, but we won't be staying in Room 4!! Really close to Brancaster and Hunstanton beaches which was the purpose of our trip.

Room Tip: We had the small double, room 4 - avoid in the summer when you have to have windows open as you are...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sarah-june
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for The Kings Head Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Having spent one night at The Kings Head I felt that I have been well and truly treated to a little slice of Norfolk heaven.
Amazing stylish rooms,amazing atmosphere,superb breakfast,friendly cheerful hosts.
Ideally situated for Brancaster and Burnham Market
Thank you so much... Will be back!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kaff1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Not good enough to be described as luxury - furnishings called 'Edwardian' are just mismatched shabby. Carpets smell badly in room 1 and no bed skirts give poor first opinion. Hotel MUST move rubbish bins away from outside the OPEN kitchen window. Huge fly problem spoils what it actually very good quality food. Such a few small improvements would change this hotel for the better.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gypsygirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at the Kings Head whilst visiting the Sandringham Flower Show - on arrival a very friendly welcome, promptly shown to our room which exceeded our expectations. Very clean and well supplied with various teas/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits! The bathroom was spacious well stocked with toiletries.Very good outside terrace - ideal during the excellent spell of weather! The only downside being our room was located at the front of the property so was quite noisy early morning. We dined in the evening with friends and the menu was very good - spoilt for choice. Food was well prepared and presented and the waiting staff very attentive. Reasonably priced wines with a good selection to choose from. The hotel is also well situated for visiting the North Norfolk coast as well as the Sandringham Estate and Houghton Hall. As an aside opposite the hotel is the 'Country Store' run by a very amicable Frenchman stocking some excellent wines together with an excellent delicatessen - and sandwiches for a picnic.
Looking forward to our next visit to the Kings Head!

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a room at rear of property
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ERG586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stubbled upon the kings head at great bircham after we left Sandringham. We turned left ouy of yhe carpark and headed towards Anmer passing the Queens stud. Then turned left into great bircham and the kings head was the left. Ample parking at rear, vety warm welcome at bar on both occasions and we sat in both thr garden with our children and the courtyard dining area. The lunch menu is excellent and great value and quality. We had the whitebait dur to being by the sea, but our daughters had other choices that were also excellent. The kids menu and food was fabulous our 3.5yr old tucked into fresh local produce sublime. .so good wr took out in laws the following day..they were also very impressed andcwe loik forward to any opportunity to return. A hidden gem of the east coast and definitely worth a visit. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Andy748s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Went for lunch and was very impressed with food, service and surroundings. Have been to various eateries in the area such as Hoste and The Duck Inn and this is just as good, even better. Would definitely eat here again. Thank you

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed here on a groupon deal with my dog and was extremely impressed with the friendly staff, the clean and spacious room and the wonderful food. I had breakfast and the tasting evening meal. All of the food was delicious, there was plenty of choice and the staff were lovely and helpful. The bar is well stocked and if you like gin you are in for a treat as they have over 60 different types.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the paved area at the back and was quiet
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Bircham
7.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,342 reviews
7.1 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
841 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
889 reviews
6.8 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
835 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Country Hotel

Address: Lynn Road, Great Bircham PE31 6RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Bircham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Great Bircham
Price Range: £94 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Head Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Kings Head Country Hotel, a very warm welcome to the family-run Kings Head Hotel. Built in the Edwardian era, the hotel combines all the traditional warmth and comfort of a long established country house hotel with sleek contemporary facilities. The hotel is located on the great estate of Royal Sandringham and close to the Houghton estate, also offering easy access to the North Norfolk Coast the Kings Head is very well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Kings Head Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Lynn
Hotel Kings Head
The Kings Head Country Hotel Great Bircham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing