We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous! Church View Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Church View Bed & Breakfast
stratford upon avon uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous! Church View Cottage”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my headband and two girls in the cottages behind the bed and breakfast on May bank holiday weekend. We would return and return and return! Super comfy beds with high quality, immaculate bedding, well equipped kitchenette and friendly obliging owners. Ticked all the boxes for us and great value :-) Thanks

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    23
    16
    22
    23
See reviews for
33
19
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

When we checked in we we're asked to pay in full, which I don't think is the norm but would not have minded if they had taken of the deposit of £80 we had paid when we booked online. They were not very helpful and we only got our refund after querying a couple times.

Once shown to the accommodation, (I cannot call it a cottage, as it is more like a converted outhouse or garage at the back of the main building) it was very small for 3 guests. The bedroom had a double bed and two single beds in one room. There was a shower room which was covered in damp and paint/plaster was coming off the wall above the toilet. There were not enough chairs or other facilities for more than two people to use. The fridge was very clean along with the work tops in the kitchenette, but the cooker/oven was dirty with burnt food all over the elements. It seemed that it had not been cleaned for a long time.

The village itself is quiet and there is a pub within spitting distance and a village shop in the other direction for essentials for self catering and there is enough parking for one vehicle per guest room.

I would suggest you do not book Room 1 that can accommodate up to 4 people. But best of all, book with the b&b next door instead!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Average accomadation. Youll be asked to pay immediately on arrival which doesnt seem good practice. Charged £75 per night for cottage but feel £45 -£50 more realistic price. A bit basic. Mould in bathroom to ceiling and around shower. 1 wine glass . Feel travellodge would have just beat it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourholidays2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

At £50 for a saturday you dont expect 5 star luxury but the room was fine, clean, comfortable, en suite of a reasonable size compared to some hotels. My partner and I parked at the park and ride at mcarthur glen shopping centre during the day, travelled to the hotel (10 miles from the park and ride) during the evening, greeted by the owner, friendly bloke, advised us on the local restaurants. We opted for Thomson fish restaurant, a little pricey there but the food was excellent. Overal, happy with the stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valley0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I visited the complex last weekend for my hen do. We had a wonderful time! We were quite concerned about how it would be after reading the reviews but were very pleasantly surprised!!
12 of us stayed in the bunkhouse and it was fine! Clean and OK beds, we all made sure to come well equipped with bedding, warm clothes, extension leads etc .... There were lots of heaters to ensure we were warm enough and we had a lovely night in the lounge area, nice and cosy in front of the log burning stove.
All the cottages were hired out to my party too and the girls all seemed pleased!
The only drawbacks were: the shower situation was a bit of a nightmare- we were told not to shower at the same time?? Now when there's 6 showers between 30 people of course we will have to shower at the same time! People had mixed experiences- too hot,too cold, and just a trickle of water. It would make a huge difference if some money was spent improving this!
Also the walls in the cottages were thin.
However, all in all, fantastic value for money (£50 pp for 2 nights) and the owner Lynn was incredibly helpful, both prior to and during stay. The only thing I think she should take on board is to be a bit more flexible- as as friend was very unwell so unable to come and Lynn would not refund any of the her £ which I felt was a little harsh considering the amount of £ she had received from our party! But to be fair she had warned us in advance, I just felt that she could have been a bit more sympathetic.
To summarise, if you haven't got v high expectations, this is the place for you, particularly for large parties! And distance from York is great! And the village was lovely.
Thanks very much lynn and co xxx

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We booked the bunkhouse and the 5 cottages for a 32 person hen do in Feb.

After reading the reviews we were worried about going there but when we turned up we were pleasantly surprised.
yes the bunkhouse is budget accommodation but it suited us to the ground - it was only a place for sleeping in, and the space in the living area fit all 32 of us (at a push) to be able to play games. It's a similar set up to a youth hostel with the bunk beds - but it was clean and tidy when we arrived.

The cottages were great too as each had it's own little kitchen and own bathrooms so all of us were able to manage a shower rotation. These were better quality than the bunkhouse but we knew this in advance so put the laid back people in the bunkhouse.

The great thing about booking all of the accommodation was that we didn't need to worry about being quiet or annoying other guests. Lynne and Her husband were very helpful and were on emails throughout the months before helping us with plans for York.

If you are expecting 5 star luxury then this is not the place for you, but for a budget weekend that is close by to York - 15mins to the centre by car this ticks the boxes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A group of 15 of us booked the bunkbarn for 2 nights over the New Year period. It was basic to the extreme: 2 cold showers (only 1 that actually kind of worked), horrible plastic sheets, dirty carpets, plugs and wires hanging near sinks and a bulb that exploded. Both smoke alarms bleeped constantly, (new battery required) but when we mentioned this to the owner, we were told 'well that's what smoke alarms do, welcome to England'. Amusing considering we are all from Yorkshire. We were hounded as soon as the first few people arrived for the cash, and he hung around until all of our party arrived to pay him upfront. Unwelcoming, unhelpful and not an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton on the Forest
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.0 mi away
Orillia House and Cottages
Orillia House and Cottages
#1 of 2 in Stockton on the Forest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
2.7 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
York Holiday & Cycle Stop
Show Prices

Been to Church View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Church View Bed & Breakfast
Address: 87 The Village, Stockton on the Forest YO32 9UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Stockton on the Forest
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stockton on the Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Church View Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Church View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing