We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Indian Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flying Horse Indian Restaurant

Flying Horse Indian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Markfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leicester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Real Indian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The food was absolutely first class and greatly enjoyed by all 4 of us and we will visit again next month .The only slight drawback was the amount of noise from talking at times but I suppose this is only to be expected at such a popular restuarant

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    44
    17
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Indian food around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

eat at this restaurant every week and never yet had a meal that was anything but excellent.
very friendy staff

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tmb180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Take away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have had several meals delivered. All hot and delivered in good time. The food is very tasty, fresh and the quality is excellent. Looking forward to eating at the restaurant. The meals are a good size and the Naans are delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 659June
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
113 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“ANOTHER SO CALLED INDIAN RESTAURANT, BUT DONT EXPECT AUTHENTIC INDIAN CUISINE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

There are thousands of places like this all over the UK and in other countries too. So called Indian cuisine, that has nothing more than a superficial resemblance to the real thing. The chef I guess is Bangladeshi and the style of cooking was invented in the UK, not India.
Having said that, if bright red chicken tikka masala with sugar, cream and coconut is your cup of tea, you will like it here. The place is a converted old pub, it is very clean and a pleasant place to be, but don't expect any real beer, only lagers.
We went for the Sunday special @ £10.95 for a starter, main, rice or naan and a sweet, astonishing value indeed. We had assorted kebabs between us, mains, tikka masala, mattar paneer and to be safe I had a tandoori mixed grill, as I knew the curries would not be authentic. Rice and naans were very good and the kebabs quite decent. Mattar paneer was creamy and mild, just right for many English tastes, but nothing like any Indian has ever cooked for me.
The place was not very busy and the staff seemed miserable and unfriendly, my wife thought arrogant and perhaps racist. Service was quick but mechanical.
To sum up, nice place, so so food, so so service, but on Sundays great value for money and worth a try.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigChristoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food and setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our night at the Flying Horse, the staff were very friendly, the restaurant had a good atmosphere, Kingdisher on tap, my Lamb Jaipuri was full of flavour and it was very reasonably priced

Only thing negative was initially one of our meals was bought out as Lamb when we ordered Chicken and the waiter tried to suggest that we didn't order that dish but it was soon rectified and a replacement was quickly bought out

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngy316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flying Horse Indian Restaurant also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Flying Horse Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing