We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”
Review of The Shurland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shurland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eastchurch
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Very nicely decorated and welcoming. Room maybe a little tight (we are rather big)! but very clean and appealing. Could have done with net curtains on our room as it was directly overlooking the pub opposite, but this was not too much of a problem. TV a bit small too, couldn't read the menu on it nor the schedule.

Room Tip: Only had experience of one, but there are all different types of bed for example my cousin had a fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley S, General Manager at The Shurland Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts, we will be upgrading all of the bedrooms over the course of this year, net curtains and bigger televisions are all in hand! We hope to see you again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    32
    22
    15
    14
See reviews for
35
31
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Have stayed here before but we saw that it had been refurbished and under new management and so decided on another stay while we were that way. we checked in were shown to our room, that was that we didnt know what the spare key was fpr but found it was for the side door incase they were closed when we came back, we were also told we needed to be back by 11pm??????? which the barman said come back whatever time you like, that was the only time the staff spoke to us throughout our stay even though we were in and out constantly. we were not told that breakfast was included in the price of our room or even that they had a functional resteraunt although we were charged for breakfast at the end of our stay and told that it was in our confirmation letter which we never received and the manager couldnt find to confirm whether it was ever sent by email or letter. The shower in the room was trickling out you had to move about to get wet, stains on the ceiling of the room, no matress protectors on the bed poor service in the bar, I could go on, i wouldnt normally write a negative review like this but when we spoke to the manager at the end of our stay he had nothing to say hes obviously very inexperienced if not then just a poor manager and based on what we saw I think there maybe new management again in the not too distant future unless attitudes change and something is done to improve the standards of the rooms and the friendliness of the staff, by all means give it a try but dont expect good service or value for money

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley S, General Manager at The Shurland Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us in Novemeber. To address some of the point your raise. Upon check-in, we explain to all guests that our main doors are operated on an automatic time-lock, for this reason, we issue guests with a separate key on their room fob to gain access to the 24 hour door at the side of the property. As you correctly stated, breakfast was indeed included in your room rate, and stated as such in your confirmation letter which was sent via Royal Mail; our breakfast team are on duty daily, Mon- Fri from 7am, 8am at weekends, in addition to a member of staff on the reception desk. I am sorry if you didn't receive breakfast, however, having check your dates of stay, at least 4 members of staff would have been on duty for breakfast on both mornings. With regards the shower in your bedroom, I am sorry if it didn't function as you expected, had this been brought to our attention, we would of course have had our maintenance team look at this for you, or moved you to an alternative room. As stated in our inroom information packs, the ground floor of the hotel has been totally remodelled and renovated, we are working our way through the rooms throughout the course of this year. With regards your comments on departure, I stood and spoke with you for quite some time in an attempt to address your issues, I am sorry if you feel this wasn't adequate, I have over 10 years experience in the hospitality industry, though we are always learning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastchurch hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastchurch
6.3 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
#4 of 6 in Sittingbourne
484 reviews
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
381 reviews
10.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,198 reviews
8.3 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shurland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shurland Hotel

Property: The Shurland Hotel
Address: 79 - 81 High Street, Eastchurch ME12 4EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Sheppey > Eastchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eastchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shurland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Shurland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shurland Hotel Eastchurch, Isle Of Sheppey, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing