We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and welcoming”
Review of The Shurland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shurland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eastchurch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights to attend a wedding nearby. Hotel is nicely decorated in a boutique style. On arrivial staff were friendly and showed us around including the gym and spa facilities. On the first night we had a few drinks in the bar where the locals were really friendly and chatty. Would be good if rooms decor was brought up to date to match the rest of hotel however they were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and overall the stay was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaDiva79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    27
    21
    15
    14
See reviews for
35
26
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dawlish
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed last couple of days, reception not manned when arrived a sign directed us to the bar to get somebody. Not shown to rooms but given directions. Lock on door is old fashioned and door did not lock behind us when we entered the room. Room No 10 small but bed huge and comfortable. A few scuff marks on wall but generally good condition. Professional hairdryer, small TV with the usual freeview channels were the only facilities, room overlooked pub across the road and curtain really not quite wide enough to cover the window took a few minutes to manoeuvre the curtain into place so there were no gaps. Good selection of drinks including hot chocolate but only 4 small milks and only 1 teaspoon in a room suppose to be for two. No shampoo in the small bathroom only body wash. Good flow of water to shower but it was difficult to maintain the temperature also shower was fixed to low so you couldn't stand directly under it, had to move it further out but this then flooded bathroom with rogue jets of water. Had a good nights sleep with no noise quiet village location had to sleep with window open as there was no air conditioning, could well be a problem during summer months Spa was big disappointment, good quality of equipment in the gym but area was to small so people very close to each other on equipment and building work going on around us. Also view was of the graveyard LOL, sauna switched off and Jacuzzi was a big hot bath with no bubbles couldn't see a button to get it working. Asked whether there were lockers to put belongings told there was but I had to supply my own padlock. Went out during the evening as food at hotel looked too expensive for my allowance, got back at 22-30hrs and found it all locked up, had to ring the night-watchman to allow us in. Two keys on room key apparently one fitted the side door but nobody had told us when we first arrived. Breakfast also disappointing but what was available was good quality but when you are paying £80 for the night think you should expect a better selection than the one presented to us ie selection of juices, small boxes of cereal, tea or coffee and a cooked breakfast but nothing like kippers if you don't like bacon/sausage. Restaurant and bar clean and classy
Hotel clean staff friendly and most smartly dressed but over priced for size of room, poor selection of breakfast and spa condition. Would stay again as it was local for place of work but wouldn't go there for any other reason.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The room was adequate, the food was poor. The evening meal I was served was inedible. Had to lock the room door each time I left rather than pull it shut. Not advised I could have breakfast in my room. Reception was not adequately staffed. Very disappointed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley S, Manager at The Shurland Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. However, we pride ourselves in our food quallity and receive very positive reviews on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastchurch hotels

Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We held a party at this hotel on St. 22nd March and can't find a rating high enough to cover the food that was prepared and served. The staff were very helpful,& very cheerful. As we all stayed over breakfast was for 27 and it was all freshly cooked and hotbwhen served, one of the best breakfasts we have had.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EUNICE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Shurland Hotel is nice. Met on arrival and shown to our room which was adequate. It appears early in the hotel calendar year and the hotel was under going some redecoration, but the inconvenience was minimal. Health Spa and Gym staff were excellent, helping me out as I forgot swimming trunks, and this saved me finding a way to Sheerness to buy some. Food and beer was spot on, breakfast served quickly, even though they forgot us on check out morning, we were accommodated immediately, and to a high standard. Bar lady Thursday night was lovely, asking how I was etc,same on Thurs night, different staff, so well done. Very helpful in getting taxis if required,especially after a brake failure on the car, causing it to be garaged locally. Garage was excellent, Brambledown autos who rectified the issue professionally and at good value, so big thanks there. Overall, theyre doing a grand job, in an isolated place with great pride. Thanks for all you did for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
544 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Shurland Hotel is one of the very few places that you can stay on The Isle of Sheppey if you need to. We were attending a family wedding at The Ferry Boat, five miles away, and their accommodation was full.
We were pleased to see that the hotel, after we had a difficult journey on a stormy weekend that closed the bridge, looked OK.
We were told that our bookings were remembered ("Was it four or five rooms?") and again were pleased to be allowed into two of them. They were basic but clean and pleasant enough. I thanked the two cleaners who were working hard "To get your other two rooms ready".
Seven of our party (who between us were taking the two rooms that were ready) then had a coffee in the pleasant bar, before going to the wedding venue, happy (we thought) in the knowledge that our rooms were secure.
Much later that evening, six others of our party, having left the wedding to turn in for the night were greeted with the news that there was only one room available for them, not two, as booked. That meant that two had to drive home 100 miles through the night and our plans for a family breakfast the next day were ruined.
The rooms had been booked nearly a year earlier, confirmed with 'phone calls and emails all of which we have a record of. The manager denied that the fact that they were fully booked because of an event of their own had not meant that our additional room was given to someone else, despite the fact that he personally confirmed the four rooms' availability, to my face, a few hours before.
All other elements of a hotel are irrelevant if they are not capable of getting the booking right and/or admitting the mistake and putting it right. We received a refund for one of the rooms; inadequate compensation for a ruined family event involving 13 people staying there.
My advice would be to stay somewhere - anywhere - else.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Retyree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley S, Manager at The Shurland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
I am so sorry you had such a terrible experience here. The GM has now left and we are trying very hard to get back on course.
I can assure you if you are ever on the Island we will give you the service you deserve.
Kind Regards
Simon Dallas ( head Chef, manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Our confirmed reservation was not honoured, and our rooms were not available despite having been booked for a year and re-confirmed less than 24 hours earlier. We had to drive home late at night after a family wedding on the island, putting paid to our planned post-wedding breakfast the next day.

The member of staff on duty suggested trying another hotel but no other remedy or compensation was offered.

Incidentally, having drunks rolling out of the noisy bar next door and leering at my wife as they strolled through the lobby wasn't ideal either.

Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esistnichtleicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley S, Owner at The Shurland Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We are sorry for the serious mix-up with your reservation, as explained at the time, we only have a record of 3 bedrooms being booked. Ordinarily, we would have accommodated you regardless, being fully booked however we were unable to do so. We offered to find you alternative accommodation locally, though you declined this offer. The Shurland Hotel does not operate an overbooking policy, nor would we ever sell a room to another individual once booked. We apologise again for any confusion, however we can only hold rooms which have been booked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastchurch
6.5 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
#4 of 6 in Sittingbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Tonge Barn
Tonge Barn
#6 of 6 in Sittingbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
7.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sittingbourne Kent Hotel
9.8 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shurland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shurland Hotel

Property: The Shurland Hotel
Address: 79 - 81 High Street, Eastchurch ME12 4EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Sheppey > Eastchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eastchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shurland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Shurland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shurland Hotel Eastchurch, Isle Of Sheppey, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing