We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of The Kings Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kings Head
Ranked #1 of 3 Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights as a valentines day treat. The location is excellent, staff lovely and room awesome! Really spacious, comfy bed and beautiful bathroom. Had a meal in the restaurant which was delicious and the staff were great at accomodating us with a fully booked restaurant. 10/10!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    65
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
40
135
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Don't get me wrong, I liked the Kings Head, it was perfectly adequate. However nothing stood out as deserving of a Very Good or Excellent rating.

We stayed there as it was convenient for a party. We would stay again for the same reason, but wouldn't go back just for the sake of another stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonjeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsHeadWye, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear bonjeroo,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Kings Head. I appreciate your honesty that you would stay again, but not make a special visit. It would be really useful if you could let us know where we failed to meet your expectations at a very good, or excellent score; we are always looking constructively at ways to improve so your feedback is invaluable to us.

I do hope we can welcome you back another time, and meet your high expectations.

With best regards,
Mark Lightford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Thought I would invest the normal taxi fare in staying over at the Kings Head. Not living far away and passing by on several occasions it was a pleasure staying over and discovering it's charms. Met a friend for a catch up and enjoyed some good wine (including English sparkling) bar snack and a great atmosphere to chill out and catch up. The simplistic style worked for me and the design theme was carried out throughout. The hosts were very welcoming, friendly and engaging. The room was more than adequate for one and to use another reviewers term - quirky, loved the use of wooden crates for bedside table and the DAB radio. Very clean and well stocked bedroom with en-suite bath and shower. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The free wi-fi came in handy for those last minute business tasks. Breakfast wasn't until 8:00am but worth the wait for one of the best poached eggs on toast I had eaten for a long time. I shall be catching up more often.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Les J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsHeadWye, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Les,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at the Kings Head, even though as we discussed you only live a short distance away. And you're right about the sparking wine, from the Gusbourne Estate in Appledore, it's a superb local wine. Let's hope we have a chance to show you our hospitality again soon.

Best regards,
Mark Lightford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

seem to be out of fashion these days - but not at the Kings Head. All the staff we met went out of their way to be helpful and were very friendly. The room was quirky yet modern - and the towels!! I never thought I would comment on a hotels towels (and matching dressing gowns), but I made a point of noting their supplier and will buy some for myself - they are that good. I have stayed elsewhere in Wye before, but The Kings Head will be my preferred choice from now on. Oh, and the real ales are excellent too ...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsHeadWye, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Peter,

Thanks for your review, you're spot-on that old fashioned are so important, and we try to apply that ethos to everything we do. We believe that all our guests, diners, drinkers - whoever - should be treated the way we'd expect to be treated, in a professional, respectful, and kind manner. It's not always easy, so I'm thrilled we made an impression on you!

And it's great news that our ales hit the spot too! We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Mark Lightford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The New Management of this wonderful place is excellent, welcoming, warm, friendly, and they make you feel like friends then customers, trust me you'd love it!!!

there is a sexy feel to this modern looking place, but also has an old style feel.
Its well looked after clean and tidy and the staff there aim to please on every occasion not taking there eye of the ball throughout making sure that you are valued and respected to provide a very good service no matter who you are. I felt the team welcomed all cultures, backgrounds and welcomed everyone to this amazing part of the area.

the people who were visiting when we were there were really enjoying their time having a drink at the bar or a meal in the eating area. there was a warm fire place area where you could also sit and have a chat!

the food on the menu is purely tasty and value for money and they have something for everyone's taste

I walked in not knowing anybody and ended up making new friends at the end of the night, I didn't feel like I was being rushed either, I felt special.

have a look

http://www.kingsheadwye.com/

LOOKING FORWARD TO RETURNING NEW YEARS EVE

the kings head makes this area look modern and stylish but blended in brilliantly!
don't just read this go there and enjoy it too!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsHeadWye, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear frankec64,

Thank you so much for your splendid review, i think we can all feel very special at the Kings Head after reading it! We try hard to make sure our customers enjoy being in the Kings Head as much as we enjoy having you; hopefully we can all go away with a smile! I hope we have the chance to welcome you back, and enjoy your company again.

Best wishes,
Mark Lightford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Had a wonderful evening here , large group of friends who had all met up to have dinner , drinks and stay over at the pub.
Made very welcome as we took over a large plot in the stylish bar ...... Attentive service from the bar man , and then onto a great dinner - highly recommend the chicken Kiev !! Wowsers .
Lovely food and service makes for a great evening , so us as friend could catch up and have fun - which we did till last orders !
Up stairs to the simple and stylish rooms , great bed and great bath in the morning !
Fantastic stay ...... Can't wait to go back .
Well done KH

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsHeadWye, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Essexyboy,

Thanks for taking the time to write. I'm so pleased we could make your stay enjoyable. The chicken Kiev is one of our customers' favourites, and now yours too it seems! Hope to welcome you back soon...

Best regards,
Mark Lightford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here... The staff was great and took well care of us. Traveling with a five-month old is always a challenge - and we felt very welcome here. Good food, lovely atmosphere and a woodfire waiting for you when you return from a refreshing walk in the countryside. Our little chappy immediately felt at home... Great overall experience, we definitely recommend the place and will come back to this little gem in the garden of England.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thethinkingape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsHeadWye, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Thethinkingape,

Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to welcome you and your little one to the Kings Head, I hope we can extend our hospitality to you if you're holidaying in the UK again.

Best wishes,
Mark Lightford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wye
2.3 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,164 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
10.1 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
The New Flying Horse
0.1 mi away
The Wife of Bath
The Wife of Bath
#3 of 3 in Wye
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head

Property: The Kings Head
Address: Church Street, Wye, Ashford TN25 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Kings Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Wye, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing