We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a quick stay but avoid the cooked breakfast!”
Review of The Roebuck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Roebuck Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Harrietsham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2013

If you're after a cheap bed for the night in a very pretty area, the Roebuck Inn is definitely work considering. Our room (to the left of the main inn in an annexe) was much larger than average and would be ideal for people with accessibility needs as the bathroom is enormous and fitted with all the usual aids. Unfortunately, The finish is definitely not what you would call 'luxury' and all round could do with a bit of TLC, but for the price, is perfectly reasonable. The walls are very thin and we could easily hear our 'neighbours' conversations, and although we were lucky, I can imagine this would be very disruptive if you happened to be staying next to someone noisy.

The real downside of our stay was unfortunately breakfast. Despite there only being one other couple in the restaurant, staff were slow to realise we were even there, and when we did get served our 'full english' was very disappointing. The teacups were dirty, beans obviously reheated, bacon barely cooked and floppy with white lumps stuck to it (I assume microwaved?) and mushrooms tasted like the bottom of a burnt grill pan. I have eaten many a mediocre breakfast in my backpacking days but this has to be one of the worst, and I had to leave most of it.

All round, if you're in the area and needing a cheap place to stay for the night, you could do a lot worse than the Roebuck Inn, but avoid a cooked breakfast and stick to the cereals and toast unless you have a very strong stomach.

Room Tip: Annexe would be good for those with mobility problems
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissPlaice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for The Roebuck Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

After visiting Leeds Castle my friend and I got in the car in search for a nearby pub restaurant. I vaguely remembered this place from a few years ago and decided to give it a go. Glad that we did act on the our spur of the moment. We were well looked after. We ordered fish and chips and have to say the cod was delicious and fresh. Our only gripe was that the conservatory doors were open and a draught was coming in; this was swiftly rectified for us and a heater set up for us. It seemed nothing too much trouble.
It's a rarity to have excellent customer service and I want to thank the staff for making our dining experience enjoyable. I would recommend family dining. Love the log fires too and cosy sofa area.
Truely a little gem of a place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHewitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom O, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

So glad you enjoyed your Dining experience with us and thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Generally, the people at the pub were quite friendly and accommodating.

Our room was just below a Travelodge kind of standard.
Similar set up but it didn't feel amazingly clean. It was like it had been given a very basic once over. We were given a sticky teaspoon for the tea and coffee provided in our room. Both spoons were stained. The drawers had crumbs inside. The toilet roll was the absolute cheapest you can buy. You could feel the springs inside of the mattress so wasn't particularly comfortable. We could also hear people above us flush their toilet, close doors etc very clearly.
Pillows were really thin and low down. Did have some cushions which helped though.

I was happy to stay there just as somewhere to crash for the one night and because it was convenient but I wouldn't want to stay again or really recommend it. It's not bad but it's not nice for a 'getaway' or anything. Breakfast in the morning wasn't very nice either (food was below average and there was some very cheap tasting orange juice) but it was passable, which I think can be said for the rest of the place too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom O, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Hi, So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Wish you had said something before you left, I'm sure we have checked with everyone who has stayed over the last week or so (as we were previously on Hols) and have had no such complaints. We did have a recent problem with a Cleaner but have since rectified this and can honestly say a Room inspection was carried out only this Morning and we were very pleased. It is extremely annoying for us and I'm sure other Business Operators when Guests leave without airing their views hence denying us the opportunity to rectify or compensate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I've stayed here several times in the last year or so and it's always a good experience. The staff and owners are consistently welcoming and friendly and I couldn't recommend it enough.

We normally get a room for two and breakfast for around £60 here which is exceptional value for money. We've stayed in various rooms (I think they have about 8) which have always been clean and warm. Breakfast in the mornings has always been a delight and another little thing which is essential to me is the WiFi which is free.

The breakfast is part of the deal but the pub restaurant serves food at other times as well so you don't need to go far for an evening meal either.

The pub itself is friendly (mostly locals) who make guests feel comfortable, so all in a good place to stay. It's in an ideal location being just a minute walk from a mainline station where you can get to London, Ashford, Canterbury and the south coast quickly and easily.

Thanks for another enjoyable stay, see you all again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesReckons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom O, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Hi There, I realise you travel allot and are very busy so thank you for taking take the time to write such a nice review, we look forward to seeing you and your Partner again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stayed here last Thursday, check in was fast and friendly in fact nothing was too much trouble for the staff a really happy bunch. Had a lively evening meal, food is very good quality and reasonably priced. It was quiz night and very busy but were welcomed to join in. We didn't take part in the half time snacks as we'd eaten but they looked good, not your usual bowl of soggy chips and sausages. As for our room it was a cozy double first on the right upstairs, room 2, we found it to be spotless. My girlfriend even commented on how clean the shower cubicle was. Her only complaint was the absence of a full length mirror, she's quite vain! We travel to France quite often and have now found a new stopover. Breakfast was excellent and the owner was very chatty for that early, in the morning and even made us some sandwiches for the ferry. We will definitely me back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sackz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom O, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Just had notification of a new Review and I thought 'I bet Its that lovely Couple who played the Quiz last Thursday' and it was. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such nice comments we look forward to seeing you again in the future.(Absence of Full length Mirror noted !)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The first thing that struck me was the smell of cigarette smoke hanging in the porchway as you enter. On arrival booked in and shown to back stairs which led up to rooms over the pub. The stairs were filthy. I dont think they had been vacuumed in weeks. The room wasn't much better with stains on the carpet and no vallance on the bed to disguise the very old, cheap, hard bed and mattress. The windows were filthy and there was dust on all the pictures and window frames. The room was small and decorated in the style of the eighties in three shades of brown and rust red. The shower had mold on the very old mastic around the shower panel and tray. Being right above the pub the room was very noisy until the bar eventually emptied at about midnight. The trouble then was that the workmen who were staying there went noisily to bed and as the bedroom walls are paper thin you could hear every word of the raucas and crude conversation. A treat that was repeated at 6.30 am when thay woke up and got ready to go out!
On the positive side the breakfast was good and included in the price of only £49. You get what you pay for!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ess-Aitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom O, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

So sorry to hear of your experience My Wife and I are on Hols atm, no excuse, however I do hope you aired your Complaint to our Releif Manager or Staff. We rarely have to deal withn situations of this nature and can only apologise. We aim to please and take your comments very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Stayed at the Roebuck Inn just before christmas, was a real bad evening weather wise.We entered the inn and was made most welcome.The place was nice and warm and had a nice atmosphere.We ate there in the evening and enjoyed good quality food and service.All the staff were very friendly and very helpfull.The room was comfortable and warm.In the morning we enjoyed a very nice well cooked breakfast.All in all very enjoyable and we would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrbusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom O, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Many thanks for your kind comments and Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrietsham
2.7 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
570 reviews
4.8 mi away
Weald of Kent Golf Course & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dog & Bear Hotel
Dog & Bear Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lenham
311 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Harrow Inn
The Harrow Inn
#3 of 3 in Lenham
109 reviews
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#12 of 17 in Maidstone
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roebuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roebuck Inn

Address: West Street, Harrietsham ME17 1HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Harrietsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Harrietsham
Price Range: £47 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roebuck Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn short distance from leeds castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roebuck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roebuck Hotel Harrietsham
The Roebuck Inn Harrietsham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing