We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of The Roebuck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Roebuck Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Harrietsham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Really warm, friendly atmosphere the second you step in.
Lovely staff who are kind and helpful. Plus the rooms are really nice and quirky, which I loved :)

Breakfast was also included, and that was made to order, which was awesome and greatly received. Just sad that our visit was so quick and we didn't spend a large amount of time there.

We will be going back if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki2970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffroebuck, Manager at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, we hope to see you again soon when you can spend more time to enjoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was heartened by the sight of the Roebuck on a bleak, stormy night in the week before Xmas. The place certainly scores well on it's appearance and proximity to the railway station after a seven hour train journey. Paying up front (which mmeans you have to pay seperately for your food and collect multiple receipts) can be a pain when you are travelling on business but that is the MO at this place, apparently.

Service was couteous and jovial but the mattress in room 2 had clearly seen better days; a lumpy bed with a lot of "give" suits some people but I am not amongst them, I am afraid. A raging storm howled outside throughout the night but I hardly heard it which says a lot for the old place, really. The food was OK- others have commented on the burgers- certainly appeared to be the best buy on a very limited menu, I think. The beer was not good; my first and second pints went back because they were just not up to it but then again I had eaten early because there were large groups due in the restaurant for Xmas meals so the beer may have improved as the night wore on.

Good value at £45 given local rates and I would not want to discourage anyone from staying at the Roebuck. I had travelled down from the North and, if I was going to the area again, I would probably stay in Ashford overnight where there is a good choice of accommodation and get the train down to Harrietsham the next morning, as a preference but if I had to stay there, it would be no great hardship to stay at the Roebuck- just not on that mattress in Room 2!

Room Tip: ... if you suffer with a bad back, avoid room 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastYorkshireFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffroebuck, Manager at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Sorry to hear that your wasn't as comfortable as it could have been and we have passed the information about the mattress on.
We were quiet surprised to hear that the quality of the beer wasn't up to standard, we make sure that every effort is put into keeping the lines perfect to ensure a nice beer on each pull, we didn't have any further complaints about it that evening.
With regards to payment for your room and meal, rooms bookings are taken as a pay on arrival system and we don't have the facility to incorporate the 2 together, sorry as i appreciate your comments on making it difficult having multiple receipts.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed boxing day night, was very dissapointed.Have stayed here in the past and realy enjoyed.
We arrived at 5pm to be greated with a halfhearted welcome, and you have to pay your bill.I asked could i pay all together with our meal.Was answered we dont do food tonight, and at 6 everything is closed.
There is an Indian in the village, that was also closed.We had to drive to the next village to find food which was very good, but wasent what we wanted .
We should have been informed that no food was available on the evening.It was like take our money and run.
Doubt i will return, will stay in Lenham next time where the welcome and service was a little warmer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrbusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffroebuck, Manager at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for leaving us a review, i'm sorry to hear your welcome wasn't more inviting we have spoken to the member of staff about this.
With regards to paying your bill our hotel is booked on a pay as you arrive system.
Whilst i appreciate you were disappointed about us not doing food, our staff member did try to be helpful with an alternative, but was unaware of their closure also.Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

we stayed here last night and it was lovely. Very good for price, clean, quiet and all staff very friendly especially in resturant in evening. Set in a very small village was lovely. Although the menu is v limited food is a 10/10 homemade and very big portions. My partner had burger and i had chilli (made with big chunks of steak that just fall apart!!) we don't live far so are def going back again for dinner. Lots of choice for breakfast and all herbal teas etc cater for every taste. A lovely stay overall.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Fantastic service great food and made to feel very welcome , would defiantly stay here again , the staff could not do enough for you , the bar was very reasonable too
......
Space for parking your car and easy to get to ...... Only thing is there wasn't much around the pub / hotel but everything you need was inside

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonoboy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Arrived late Friday afternoon to a friendly welcome and shown to Room 1, a twin room. The carpet had stains all over it, the wallpaper was marked/dirty. Window frames were dirty and handles were broken on two drawers. Inside one drawer was information on walks for Maidstone West dating from 3/2007!!! Very out of date and information now incorrect. No other information available about local area/hotel itself and its history as well as local places to visit and how to get there. Bed linen, although immaculately clean, had holes in it and one of the twin beds creaked/squeaked the minute you sat on it or lay anything on it. We stayed for 2 nights and I did not sleep a wink, nor did my husband due to the noise from the mattress. These are simple things to put right and very inexpensive to do, hotel needs to think about things from the customer's perspective. My husband was born and lived in Harrietsham for 30 years so very disappointed with the experience. Food was plentiful and hot and hosts very friendly, they just need to sort out the rooms. The Roebuck is the only surviving pub in the area and the only hotel, they could have a little gold mine if they put the effort in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We decided to go to the Dinner dance and make weekend of it and stay.The food at the dinner was 1st class and breakfast next morning lovley and freshly cooked.The room was lovley and clean and well stocked tea and coffee tray.The staff were very friendly and would recommend to anyone.There were 3 couples and we were all very happy.

Room Tip: Room 2 is lovley,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrietsham
2.7 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
577 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dog & Bear Hotel
Dog & Bear Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lenham
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Weald of Kent Golf Course & Hotel
2.3 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
979 reviews
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#13 of 17 in Maidstone
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roebuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roebuck Inn

Address: West Street, Harrietsham ME17 1HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Harrietsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Harrietsham
Price Range: £48 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roebuck Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn short distance from leeds castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roebuck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roebuck Hotel Harrietsham
The Roebuck Inn Harrietsham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing