We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Roebuck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Roebuck Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Harrietsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a lovely stay, clean friendly good food,nice peaceful location, very helpful and great value for money breakfast was great too..we would highly recommend it and we will be visiting again..

Thankyou!..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chell27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    39
    20
    10
    6
See reviews for
16
64
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Recently returned from a one-night stay at the Roebuck Inn. We were greeted by friendly staff and was able to check in to our room earlier than we expected. The manager was very helpful regarding the surrounding area, although our plan was to visit Leeds Castle.

On our return from the Castle (which is fab!), we had a drink in the bar. It is a typical village pub, where everyone knows everybody but doesn't make visitors feels unwelcome.

The room was a little small, but for the price it was fine. The decor could do with a little improvement but other than that it was great. Everywhere was clean and tidy. The shower in our room was a great size.

In the evening we had a meal and although there was a slight problem with mine they were quick to apologise and offer a dessert or drink.

The evening staff were just as helpful, particularly Ben who looked after us.

The following morning we had a full English breakfast and you were able to help yourself to coffee, juice, cereal and toast.

I would be more than happy to recommend this hotel, there isn't much in the village, but if you are planning a trip to Leeds Castle - it is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Two very comfortable nights - excellent room with en- suite bathroom. Lots of choices at breakfast in lovely surroundings. Very friendly and sociable people. A lovely family run establishment. Plenty of parking spaces. Thoroughly recommend and will use again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Me & my partner Paul stayed here back in December for our trip to Leeds Castle and wanted somewhere very close to stay and purely booked on the fact that they were the closest.

So glad we booked to stay here, for the moment we arrived the staff we very helpful, friendly and couldn't have made our stay any better.

Beryl behind the bar, we enjoyed her company until the very end of the evening and was great to have behind the bar.

We ate lunch here - great menu, homemade and not "same old pub food" that you normally get. Dinner was even better, huge selection and homemade, we really enjoyed our evening here.

It is very, very hard to get a taxi out and about as we found - we had planned on going out into another village to eat & drink but decided to stay put - which we were so glad we did because the food and company made our stay.

When we are up in the area again, we will be popping in to say hi!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 27sunshine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

My wife and I enjoyed some wonderful hospitality at the Roebuck. The staff were extremely friendly; the atmosphere, relaxed; the room very comfortable, and the breakfast was as full as we expected. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_considine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Really warm, friendly atmosphere the second you step in.
Lovely staff who are kind and helpful. Plus the rooms are really nice and quirky, which I loved :)

Breakfast was also included, and that was made to order, which was awesome and greatly received. Just sad that our visit was so quick and we didn't spend a large amount of time there.

We will be going back if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki2970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffroebuck, Manager at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, we hope to see you again soon when you can spend more time to enjoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was heartened by the sight of the Roebuck on a bleak, stormy night in the week before Xmas. The place certainly scores well on it's appearance and proximity to the railway station after a seven hour train journey. Paying up front (which mmeans you have to pay seperately for your food and collect multiple receipts) can be a pain when you are travelling on business but that is the MO at this place, apparently.

Service was couteous and jovial but the mattress in room 2 had clearly seen better days; a lumpy bed with a lot of "give" suits some people but I am not amongst them, I am afraid. A raging storm howled outside throughout the night but I hardly heard it which says a lot for the old place, really. The food was OK- others have commented on the burgers- certainly appeared to be the best buy on a very limited menu, I think. The beer was not good; my first and second pints went back because they were just not up to it but then again I had eaten early because there were large groups due in the restaurant for Xmas meals so the beer may have improved as the night wore on.

Good value at £45 given local rates and I would not want to discourage anyone from staying at the Roebuck. I had travelled down from the North and, if I was going to the area again, I would probably stay in Ashford overnight where there is a good choice of accommodation and get the train down to Harrietsham the next morning, as a preference but if I had to stay there, it would be no great hardship to stay at the Roebuck- just not on that mattress in Room 2!

Room Tip: ... if you suffer with a bad back, avoid room 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastYorkshireFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffroebuck, Manager at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Sorry to hear that your wasn't as comfortable as it could have been and we have passed the information about the mattress on.
We were quiet surprised to hear that the quality of the beer wasn't up to standard, we make sure that every effort is put into keeping the lines perfect to ensure a nice beer on each pull, we didn't have any further complaints about it that evening.
With regards to payment for your room and meal, rooms bookings are taken as a pay on arrival system and we don't have the facility to incorporate the 2 together, sorry as i appreciate your comments on making it difficult having multiple receipts.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrietsham
2.2 mi away
Dog & Bear Hotel
Dog & Bear Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.5 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#14 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roebuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roebuck Inn

Property: The Roebuck Inn
Address: West Street, Harrietsham ME17 1HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Harrietsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Harrietsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roebuck Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn short distance from leeds castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roebuck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roebuck Hotel Harrietsham
The Roebuck Inn Harrietsham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing