We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere but expensive”
Review of Hadlow Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hadlow Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hadlow
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere but expensive”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of wedding party, wedding was lovely, all staff friendly, approachable and happy to help. Room was clean but bed very uncomfortable! Breakfast was very disappointing we came down halfway through service to a messy room dirty plates on most tables and a few bits of leftover food under heat lamps which were not doing the job, the food was all cold. Free wifi was good first hotel I have stayed in that didnt charge! However even with the wedding package I feel the rooms were overpriced for what you got.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    76
    51
    39
    20
See reviews for
59
87
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Challock
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed for a Saturday night special event.
At check in @ 1800hrs was advised by receptionist that the restaurant was closed due to them having a wedding reception. The only food available was room service, BUT, the chef would not be in until 2030, so there would be NO food until 2100hrs??? Not good !! Was advised that the hotel could not let me know as I had booked it online - booing was via probably the major online booking portal, that does hold all contact details, so a very flimsy excuse! As the hotel was only 40% occupied, I think they had no interest in letting me know, especially as the remarks box did state that it was for a special event and we certainly would have cancelled. Room was poorly insulated, lots of noise from other rooms, and even people walking down the corridor.
Room décor was shabby. Housekeeping the worst I have seen, half used toiletries left on the side of the bath, bed poorly made, stains on the carpet - a real half hearted effort.
Room service was ok, ordered a rump steak med/rare, for which they served rib eye, very medium, to medium/well - maybe we caught the chef on a really off night??
Best find somewhere else to stay !!
All in all I

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hadlow hotels

Deal, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

I was delighted to have been invited to a delightful wedding at this beautiful venue, set in the countryside with plenty of parking and lots of well kept gardens & trees. On arrival drinks were served in the bar. The wedding took place in the Garden Room which was very light & airy. After the ceremony we went into the garden where drinks were served whilst we waited for the Garden room to be set up with large round tables for the reception. In addition the partitioned doors were opened to created an L shaped room and more tables were set out in there. As guests; we were also there in a professional capacity to provide background music during the meal and in the evening. The staff asked us if we would like to link into their music system as well as using our own small system.
The meal was served and what a treat we had. Lovely starters, main courses and desserts with wine and coffee to follow. All presented and served with a smile!
After the meal, half of the L shaped room was cleared and chairs only set out for the evening of dancing to commence. This was nice as the other half was nice to sit in and chat and listen to the music. For those who wanted a quiet area the bar was just across the entrance hall.
We had a lovely day and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this venue to anyone looking for somewhere special to marry.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindyloo662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles T, General Manager at Hadlow Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on some feedback from the day and I am glad you had a fantastic day! Hopefully we will see you next year on your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Recently stayed over night with my wife, hotel was great - choice of food and quality was superb, as was the service we received from the staff that dealt with us; polite, friendly and nothing we asked for was too much trouble :-) Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bury1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles T, General Manager at Hadlow Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Many thanks for the kind words and I am glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward seeing you back at the hotel when you are next in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This hotel ,unfortunately ,lets itself down . When you arrive it looks beautiful and the main areas have obviously been refurbished and are very pleasant however this did not follow to the room. Our bedroom/bathroom was very grubby and tired, carpet and toilet were filthy. Bad nights sleep due to uncomfortable beds and noisy function. The bar and food were very poor, wine list needs serious attention. Lastly I can only describe the reception staff as miserable, unhelpful and down right rude. We would never stay here again, one of the most disappointing hotel stays I've ever had !!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovetoTravel599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles T, General Manager at Hadlow Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. If you wish to discuss the matter further please contact me at gt@hadlowmanor.co.uk and I would be happy to try and help resolving some of the issues you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding in a family room and there was no curtain in the childrens room with the Window right next to the pillow end of the bed.the phone in the room didnt work.stains on the carpet. Very bad placing of family room with the childrens room right above the disco in the function room hence tired children in the morning not one to recommend

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrighty1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend. Was unable to eat in the bar as there was a function on, so ate in the bar. Bar had no atmosphere and a very small selection of drinks and limited food menu. The starter of terrine looked and tasted like it had been brought in, the steak wasn't cooked right and came with over chips, the desert of a chocolate mouse tasted brought in. Food was very expensive for the quality.
Was upgraded to a superior room. Although this has been recently decorated it still seemed very outdated with not even a phone. Water pressure was terrible so shower was a drizzle. Bed and pillows were VERY hard and not comfortable. The function was about 20 metres from the bedroom meaning loud music, shouting and drunk people running around until 1:30 PM. When it finally ended, staff were clearing up for another hour whilst talking very loud and slamming doors. Worst nights sleep in a hotel EVER.
Breakfast was the only part of the stay that was ok. Full English cooked to order, however I don't this the chef has poached an egg before as it arrived very undercooked. The selection was again limited.
Staff were again 'ok'. Nobody stood out.

I will not be staying here again.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank olliebee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles T, General Manager at Hadlow Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
I have had a look into your issues that you have stated and seem quite puzzled regarding them. From looking through our system, your booking refers to a complimentary stay that was won at event so I am unsure where the issue from pricing has come from.
The functions that were taking place had been passed onto you before hand by one of the management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadlow
4.3 mi away
Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge
8.5 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
651 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
10.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
9.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadlow Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadlow Manor Hotel

Property: Hadlow Manor Hotel
Address: Maidstone Road | Maidstone Road, Hadlow, Tonbridge TN11 0JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tonbridge > Hadlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hadlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hadlow Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hadlow Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadlow Manor Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing