We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well managed wedding”
Review of Hadlow Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hadlow Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hadlow
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well managed wedding”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Just had my daughters wedding at hotel. Location of ceremony was dependant on weather. Hotel was happy to be flexible. Food was excellent and for a midweek wedding there were more than enough function staff. The garden room has been refurbished and looks lovely. I just hope in future the owners of the hotel realise what a unique venue they have and continue with refurbishing the bedrooms. I am sure the ratings would then improve. They could also look at using the room off of the bar as an alternative restaurant when function rooms being used. Visitors would not have to then rely on room service for food. Overall though we all had a fantastic day and I would recommend for a wedding venue.

Room Tip: Not above a function room if event on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSD07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    73
    50
    39
    20
See reviews for
58
82
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

The grounds are a bit shabby and so is the interior. Obviously money has been spent but more is needed. Very scruffy bathroom with hard to work shower and lavatory which just couldn't manage the job! The room was spacious and comfortable if very dated. Breakfast was good. Didn't try an evening meal as this seems to be very much a function venue with rooms. We went on a deal and for the price it was fine but at full price I should have had to complain. Attention to detail failed. Awful lighting in the bar made it not a place to tarry.Old full and dirty ash-trays on the terrace. Staff were quite friendly. Good for a deal but not otherwise

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank buongustaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed this month for a wedding and the front of house team there were very good.

Check in was solemn but quick and efficient. The bedroom affords plenty of space but is a little tired with dated decor and dark walnut cupboards. The bathroom similarly is very clean and spacious but not the most modern. The room did, however, have all the typical services including tea/coffee making facilities and an iron and board and the bed was comfortable with spotless linen. For £95, however, I have stayed in much better appointed rooms.

The team that looked after us as wedding guests were notably young, polite, efficient and friendly. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble, including last minute requests from the best man for a projector and projector screen. All delivered with a smile and in very little time. This team retained their energy throughout the (long) afternoon and evening. It was nice to see them enjoying themselves almost as much as the guests. They were excellent ambassadors for Hadlow Manor.

My first thought was that the “L” shaped room for the wedding party would not work as half the room could not see the other half of the room. In fact it proved to be quite versatile. With the head table at the elbow of the “L”, everyone could focus on the speakers when the time came and the speeches were perfectly audible. Later, when some of the tables were quickly and efficiently cleared away by the staff, there were three distinct areas to spend time in depending on your preference for sitting down chatting, dancing, or socialising at the bar – it worked very well indeed. As the weather was on our side we also had the option of stepping through the french windows onto the patio area and from there to the well maintained gardens.

The following morning breakfast was fine without being exceptional ... the small cooked buffet selection was perfectly adequate and I saw bespoke requests (i.e. for poached eggs) being quickly responded to. It was a shame about the tinned grapefruit – that felt very 1980s – and a toaster with the heating capacity of a 5 watt bulb but there was a good selection of cereal and some decently thick back bacon too. Very surprised to see that one of the young team from the day before was now managing the breakfast too and (Imogene I think?) was still smiling, enthusiastic and efficient.

Overall the team at this venue more than compensated for the dated bedrooms.

Room Tip: It is a wedding / events venue. If you need a quiet room I'd take the opportunity to ask for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenfromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

stayed here for a wedding at a discounted rate, reception was very good and asked for our room to be made available early so we could get ready. Room large and comfortable but tired, old dark wood furniture, bathroom with plastic bath and a few repairs. Breakfast was included but a very limited buffet at the weekend, soggy scrambled egg, and not a lot of choice. Coffee was cold. Personally I would pay more for better.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HbsLittlehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of wedding party, wedding was lovely, all staff friendly, approachable and happy to help. Room was clean but bed very uncomfortable! Breakfast was very disappointing we came down halfway through service to a messy room dirty plates on most tables and a few bits of leftover food under heat lamps which were not doing the job, the food was all cold. Free wifi was good first hotel I have stayed in that didnt charge! However even with the wedding package I feel the rooms were overpriced for what you got.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Challock
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed for a Saturday night special event.
At check in @ 1800hrs was advised by receptionist that the restaurant was closed due to them having a wedding reception. The only food available was room service, BUT, the chef would not be in until 2030, so there would be NO food until 2100hrs??? Not good !! Was advised that the hotel could not let me know as I had booked it online - booing was via probably the major online booking portal, that does hold all contact details, so a very flimsy excuse! As the hotel was only 40% occupied, I think they had no interest in letting me know, especially as the remarks box did state that it was for a special event and we certainly would have cancelled. Room was poorly insulated, lots of noise from other rooms, and even people walking down the corridor.
Room décor was shabby. Housekeeping the worst I have seen, half used toiletries left on the side of the bath, bed poorly made, stains on the carpet - a real half hearted effort.
Room service was ok, ordered a rump steak med/rare, for which they served rib eye, very medium, to medium/well - maybe we caught the chef on a really off night??
Best find somewhere else to stay !!
All in all I

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hadlow hotels

Deal, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

I was delighted to have been invited to a delightful wedding at this beautiful venue, set in the countryside with plenty of parking and lots of well kept gardens & trees. On arrival drinks were served in the bar. The wedding took place in the Garden Room which was very light & airy. After the ceremony we went into the garden where drinks were served whilst we waited for the Garden room to be set up with large round tables for the reception. In addition the partitioned doors were opened to created an L shaped room and more tables were set out in there. As guests; we were also there in a professional capacity to provide background music during the meal and in the evening. The staff asked us if we would like to link into their music system as well as using our own small system.
The meal was served and what a treat we had. Lovely starters, main courses and desserts with wine and coffee to follow. All presented and served with a smile!
After the meal, half of the L shaped room was cleared and chairs only set out for the evening of dancing to commence. This was nice as the other half was nice to sit in and chat and listen to the music. For those who wanted a quiet area the bar was just across the entrance hall.
We had a lovely day and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this venue to anyone looking for somewhere special to marry.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindyloo662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles T, General Manager at Hadlow Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on some feedback from the day and I am glad you had a fantastic day! Hopefully we will see you next year on your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadlow
4.3 mi away
Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Tonbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone (A26/Wateringbury) Hotel
10.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadlow Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadlow Manor Hotel

Property: Hadlow Manor Hotel
Address: Maidstone Road | Maidstone Road, Hadlow, Tonbridge TN11 0JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tonbridge > Hadlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hadlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hadlow Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hadlow Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadlow Manor Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing