We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My 40th treat!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bapchild
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
1 review
“My 40th treat!!”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

My husband treated me to two days at this wonderful hotel as part of my birthday present for my 40th. Everything about it was wonderful. The hotel was very clean, people were fantastic, food was yummy and the room was great. We used the pool, steam room and jacuzzi which was wonderful. If anyone is visiting or staying at this hotel, you have got to book yourself into Aquamanda for some treatments. My husband and I had pedicure, manicure, facials and full body massages. You feel so relaxed after and you will not want to come home!! Thank you staff at Hempstead House - we will be back soon

Room Tip: Any room above the Aquamanda!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    160
    84
    33
    18
See reviews for
182
287
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sheerness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We booked exclusive use of the restaurant for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary Dinner on 29th May 2011. We co-ordinated the event with the help of Maureen. She was great and advised us on menus, seating plans, drinks packages etc. We had a wonderful evening and everyone remarked on what a super meal they had enjoyed. The evening went so well and we were delighted with the service, the venue and the staff who did an incredible job. I would especially mention Danny who was an expert at getting us organised and oversaw the whole evening. We stayed the night as did several of our family and friends and were all delighted with our rooms. I have no hesitation in recommending the Hempstead House Hotel to anyone wishing to celebrate a special occasion in a very special place.

Room Tip: An individually designed room. Just book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meximillies77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Peter Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I booked in for the weekend for a friends wedding and could not find fault with anything. Amanda and her staff are to be complemented and their high qualitity of service,
The food was excellent, the rooms had everything you needed,even an ironing board and iron. An added bonus was the well equiped spa which was part of the deal. They are also to be congratulated on the wedding itself, which was lovely thanks to the staff ,who I might add found nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audreymargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed at the Hempstead for one night, room was comfortable and the standard of service was excellent. Overall there was a relaxed air about the place and for the price I would recommend anyone looking for a reasonable spa stay to try this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Numptynemesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

After reading the good reviews regarding the hotel we decided to book for a short weekend break and we weren't disappointed. From the moment we walked in the service was excellent. The receptionist was very welcoming and informative, our room was of a very high standard. The spa area was very clean and well maintained with friendly staff and very relaxing probably helped by the fact no children were allowed..Our breakfasts and evening meals were of a high quality, again the staff and service was exceptional.We try to get away once a month for a weekend break and this is one that we will definitely return to!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnT1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2011

In early 2000 my fiancée and I were looking for a venue for our wedding. Within seconds of arriving, our minds were made up and we have not changed our opinions about Hempstead House in the years since. From the outset, the welcome and the standard of customer service was superb and has been maintained consistently ever since. Our wedding was handled faultlessly and nothing was too much trouble on the day.

If you are looking for a hotel for leisure, business or a celebration there is nowhere that I can recommend more highly. The building is a mix of old and new, with lovely character-filled rooms in the original building and spacious, high-ceilinged rooms in the newer extensions. A theme of classic (and classy) decoration and furnishings runs throughout.

The grounds are wonderful, with established plants and trees that are well cared for and make for any number of photogenic settings as well as being the ideal place to wander as you digest your dinner.

That takes me onto the food... They have a fantastic restaurant and apparently a couple of additional dining rooms that we saw for the first time on this visit. The quality of the cooking has been excellent and we have nothing but praise (are you spotting a trend here?) for the way the tables are served. The hotel runs a dining club for non-residents, and I am not surprised how successful it is.

Over the years we have been back to Hempstead House for meals, weekend breaks, business meetings and events such as New Year and all have been hugely enjoyable.

Now, if Amanda, the owner, had only thought to add a gym, health spa and luxury pool and sauna complex, the place would be perfect. Guess what? She did - and it is!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We have been to the hotel for many functions but this evening was exceptional. the food for a large event was amazing the staff are always very helpful but we were a group of six with a varied choice of meals and everyone had nothing but praise for the quality of the food and the presentation. We love our wine and the bottles avilable were excellent and in our view because of th e quality good value. Our compliments to the chef and a special thanks to the DJ who kept us dancing all night with his great chice of music. A wonderful evening thank you.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraWarham101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bapchild
10.9 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
17.2 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
8.3 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
17.1 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
9.3 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hempstead House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hempstead House Hotel and Spa

Property: Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Address: Hempstead House Annexe London Road, Bapchild, Sittingbourne ME9 9PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sittingbourne > Bapchild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bapchild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hempstead House Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Victorian Country House Hotel and Spa set in four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens surrounded by glorious Kentish countryside. Luxurious individually designed en-suite bedrooms with all facilities including high speed internet access. Elegant spacious reception rooms and three bars. Air conditioned conference rooms with capacity for up to 150 delegates containing state of the Art audio visual equipment and full range of business services. Award winning cuisine served in our 60 cover classical restaurant, Lakes, with professional but friendly service. Licensed for civil marriages with complete wedding service, four honeymoon suites and capacity for 150 guests. Smaller rooms for more intimate ceremonies and private or corporate functions. Brand new spa and fitness centre including beautiful 15 metre swimming pool with hydrotherapy pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Fitness studio offering a full range of classes and fully equipped gym. The therapy suite offers five spacious treatment rooms, a relaxation lounge and a manicure, pedicure and hair-washing area. A wide range of treatments are offered from manicures and pedicures to full body rituals, massages and facials. The facility also features a contemporary Brasserie offering a bar service and light snacks throughout the day and comprehensive lunch and dinner menus for residents, members and non-members. Outside there are sun-filled terraces and courtyards allowing Al Fresco aperitifs and dining or relaxing afternoon teas and coffees and light refreshments. All around the beautiful gardens are seats and benches, perfect for unwinding and relaxation. A secret spa garden, carefully secluded to afford privacy and tranquility is the perfect place to while away some time after having a treatment or using the other facilities. Close to cathedral cities of Canterbury and Rochester and historic castle at Leeds. The ports of Dover and Folkestone and the Eurostar terminal are all about half an hour’s drive away and London can be reached within an hour by rail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hempstead House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hempstead House Hotel Sittingbourne
Hempstead Hotel Sittingbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing