We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Night and good entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bapchild
Certificate of Excellence
Queenborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely Night and good entertainment”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on the 15/02/2014 for the Valentines Dinner and Dance and we have no complaints at all, check in was smooth and very polite, we were given a short induction to the hotel shown to our rooms and also shown where we would be dinning.

The room was spotlessly clean, bed was also the same and made with style, plenty of hot water from the shower. The evening was good, food was superb and the entertainment was stylish and enjoyable, the ladies were given gifts, in fact the only niggle was that it finished to early we could have carried on dancing until the early hours.

All the staff we encountered were very friendly and courtious and always made sure that you were comfortable and that any wants were catered for, all without being imposing. Would I reccommend this hotel? a big yes, would we stay again? Defiantly and probably would make use of the Spa which was offered, but we did not have time.

Room Tip: We had an executive room which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RovingMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    163
    84
    34
    18
See reviews for
185
292
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here over the valentine weekend in a standard room.

A few points we want to point out:

1) When checking in - Asked for payment immediately for an unseen room. The receptionist do not show or explain where any of the spa facilities were or explained anything about the hotel, expect breakfast times.
2) When ordering the breakfast, we asked for breakfast in the room, we were not offered a continental option, so we assumed this would come as standard bit it did not. When placing the breakfast order we had to do this at reception, and we had to list each individual item per person rather than just filling in a form or a card in your room of which is normal in most hotels
3) The room - quite small, radiator in the bedroom was not working, but the radiator in the bathroom was very hot.
Shower - Had very little pressure, however the temperature was ok Carpets were stained and filthy and the room was very dusty. We discovered blood stains on the throw over on the bed. The bed - horrible, mattress worn in so uncomfortable, the pillows old and tatty, bed linen, wasn't fresh cotton, off white/cream not nice!
4) Cleaners - banging the hoover wire against the door and chatting very loudly in the hallways when you are tying to relax!
5) Checkout - Very polite lady, however we wasn't asked how things were, or if we enjoyed our stay, we was just advised that we had to pay a three pound service tray charge/

positives

1) Shower was a nice temperature
2) Tea and coffee facility in the room excellent
3) Bathroom was very clean
4) TV good size, with a good choice of channels

With this in mind and paying £110 per night is far too expensive and I would not be entirely happy to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollymomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hempsteadhouse, Owner at Hempstead House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We take all feedback very seriously and always act upon any complaints we receive. After reviewing the points raised by these guests, I would like to respond:
1) We request payment on arrival for the room rate chosen due to having had a few occasions where fraudulent credit cards have been used by guests who have left without settling their bills on departure. It has therefore become necessary to take the guest's PIN number on arrival.
2) We offer cooked and continental breakfast room service options and guests are asked what they would like when they telephone reception to place their orders. Only cooked items were requested on this occasion. There is a breakfast menu in the room folder of every room and guests can select from all the options.
3) The radiator in this bedroom had been turned off by the previous guests. The Duty Manager turned this back on as soon as he was informed.
4) The shower pressure is the same as all other rooms in the hotel. This is sometimes affected by the volume of water being used at certain times.
5) Our housekeeping standards are excellent and I do not agree that the room was dusty or dirty. The carpets are professionally cleaned every six months and there are no blood stains on the throw.
6) The mattresses are all less than five years old and the pillows were replaced in November 2013. All the linen in the hotel is cream.
7) We apologise most sincerely if the housekeepers caused a disturbance. This has been addressed.
8) We are pleased that these guests enjoyed some elements of their stay and that check out was polite and friendly. The charge is for room service is displayed in all room folders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I would just like to send a short ‘Thank You’ to your Team for the arrangements you put in place for my Mother’s 90th birthday lunch in the Oakly Room today. Everything went extremely well -the flower arrangement and the layout of the table ( including having the fire on – thank you ) were perfect, the flower colours matching exactly my Mother’s ‘birth colour’ of lilac.

Also please pass on our sincere thanks to Kevin, Natalie and the remainder of the serving Team who all provided their usual efficient and friendly service. The food was, as usual, excellent so our thanks must also go to the kitchen staff for their efforts.

All in all, it was a truly memorable lunch and one which I’m sure my Mother will recount for a long time.

Once again, many thanks to you all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had our prom here it was amazing it was so much fun though there was not a lot of seats the atmosphere was amazing a great time with amazing staff who laid everything on for us. The food was amazing and yummy an amazing time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elionwy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

me and my partner stayed at the hotel on the 8/02/14 and it was amazing, to my surprise my partner proposed to me and from what i have heard from him all the staff at the hotel helped in some way especially the management staff and reception, without them what my partner wanted to do would not have been possible, the room was beautiful the whole place was exceptionally friendly and we could not fault a thing, we wanted to write a review to let everyone know what a wonderful hotel you are and nothing seems to much trouble, thank you for making it a weekend to remember and we will certainly be returning in the future and maybe even for our wedding :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We spent a lovely evening here, courtesy of a MoneySupermarket.com offer when we changed our fuel provider, so the room came free. It was a beautiful room, with a king size bed, amazing large bathroom, comfortable chairs, a well-stocked tea tray, extras in the bathroom, iron and board, hairdryer etc. The TV had a limiter on the volume control which was very thoughtful. It was warm and cosy inside while a storm raged outside. I had a minor quibble with the shower, which was underpowered, but otherwise it would be churlish to complain about anything. Staff were friendly. The spa was a real treat: swimming, jacuzzi, bubble tub, sauna and steam room. Breakfast was very good: starters from the buffet (cereal, fruit, yoghurt, croissants, compote etc) and whatever you wanted to order was cooked for you and served. All in all a very pleasant experience. Must change fuel more often!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welling
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We arrived at this marvellous hotel in mid kent during a rather stormy day but the welcome we received was superb. The receptionist was very friendly and showed us yo our room.
The room we were given was just perfect in every sense.
We had booked for the New Year's Eve package and a fantastic evening was held.
There was a minor issue with my meal in that a rubber ring (which looked like a rubber band) I was informed it wasn't it was part of the haggis which came with my meal. Either way it was rubber and not edible so therefore had no place on my plate. I do not want this hiccup to distract from the excellent meal and evening.
We both had a 2 hour soap treatment on New Year's Day which was truly fantastic and the two therapists were absolutely brilliant (we will be back)
I thought the personnel to he's around the hotel were great and it helped bring all the guests into the family atmosphere that the owners have clearly strived to achieve.
All the staff on both days were great a credit to the owners and they worked really grad but still kept a smile. This us not often found these days. WELL DONE.

Room Tip: A deluxe room in the coach house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roygarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hempsteadhouse, General Manager at Hempstead House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you and again Happy New Year! It was a pleasure to look after you and you feedback and comments have been forwarded to the hotel staff from reception to the treatment suite and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bapchild
10.9 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,156 reviews
8.3 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
941 reviews
24.6 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
9.3 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
17.2 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hempstead House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hempstead House Hotel and Spa

Property: Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Address: Hempstead House Annexe London Road, Bapchild, Sittingbourne ME9 9PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sittingbourne > Bapchild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bapchild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hempstead House Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Victorian Country House Hotel and Spa set in four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens surrounded by glorious Kentish countryside. Luxurious individually designed en-suite bedrooms with all facilities including high speed internet access. Elegant spacious reception rooms and three bars. Air conditioned conference rooms with capacity for up to 150 delegates containing state of the Art audio visual equipment and full range of business services. Award winning cuisine served in our 60 cover classical restaurant, Lakes, with professional but friendly service. Licensed for civil marriages with complete wedding service, four honeymoon suites and capacity for 150 guests. Smaller rooms for more intimate ceremonies and private or corporate functions. Brand new spa and fitness centre including beautiful 15 metre swimming pool with hydrotherapy pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Fitness studio offering a full range of classes and fully equipped gym. The therapy suite offers five spacious treatment rooms, a relaxation lounge and a manicure, pedicure and hair-washing area. A wide range of treatments are offered from manicures and pedicures to full body rituals, massages and facials. The facility also features a contemporary Brasserie offering a bar service and light snacks throughout the day and comprehensive lunch and dinner menus for residents, members and non-members. Outside there are sun-filled terraces and courtyards allowing Al Fresco aperitifs and dining or relaxing afternoon teas and coffees and light refreshments. All around the beautiful gardens are seats and benches, perfect for unwinding and relaxation. A secret spa garden, carefully secluded to afford privacy and tranquility is the perfect place to while away some time after having a treatment or using the other facilities. Close to cathedral cities of Canterbury and Rochester and historic castle at Leeds. The ports of Dover and Folkestone and the Eurostar terminal are all about half an hour’s drive away and London can be reached within an hour by rail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hempstead House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hempstead House Hotel Sittingbourne
Hempstead Hotel Sittingbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing