We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extended beyond its capabilities?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bapchild
Certificate of Excellence
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Extended beyond its capabilities?”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Many years ago I visited the Hotel on business. It was small friendly and looked after guests as if part of the family. So visiting it again sweeping into a vast car park and looking at the mismatched extensions I became apprehensive. Justified in the end because the extensions have made the access to bedrooms labyrinthine and the new bedroom where I was, was anonymous as any standard box hotel. Maybe catering for a vast party of people on a Monday night was challenging for the kitchen, because food from the a la carte menu, not cheap, lacked anything to write home about. Nor was the red wine proffered as a replacement for the selected red wine. Staff however did seem to be most attentive and deserve an accolade.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hempsteadhouse, General Manager at Hempstead House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We have extended progressively over the past 10 years with a very stable and reputable management and service provision in order to continually improve both the business facilities and guest experience. Thank you for your thoughts and your kind accolade to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    160
    84
    33
    18
See reviews for
182
287
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Now retired, but friends from school days, we met here with husbands for lunch at the instigation of one of our party as it is a firm favourite. Had a most enjoyable lunch, food excellent and staff extremely courteous and professional. There was a little misunderstanding about the prices on the menu when settling the bill but this was soon rectified and we have no complaints.

A most pleasant and enjoyable lunch and sure we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VulcanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hempsteadhouse, General Manager at Hempstead House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review Vulcan. We are glad to hear of your enjoyment and respectful comments for our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidstone kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Amazing weekend at Hempstead house, on a spa break! .... Totally relaxed, the staff were very professional and well dressed, would bend over backwards to help you and very friendly. The a la carte food was fantastic! One of the best meals I have ever eaten, would highly recommend the steak and I often thought a la carte was tiny portions.... Nope not at Hempstead house they portions were perfect! Will be back soon :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank becbecbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hempsteadhouse, General Manager at Hempstead House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review BecBecBec. Our Spa Breaks are very popular and make a perfect getaway and we are proud of our facilities and service and it is great to hear of your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascot
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

If you are looking for a thoroughly well run hotel, this is for you. The staff are all smartly uniformed, the hotel is spotlessly clean, the decoration and furnishings are in mint condition, the room we had overlooked the fields and was ideal and finally the food, we had breakfast and dinner, was excellent. In summary, a professionally run establishment that is real value for money.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the fields at the back and was very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reedonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hempsteadhouse, General Manager at Hempstead House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review reedonions. We are very appreciative of your review and hope to welcome you again when you visit Kent again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We celebrated my dad's 90th birthday with lunch for 70 people in the beautiful Heritage Suite at Hempstead House. We were looked after sublimely by all the members of staff and we took over many of the other lounges up until 12.45am for chatting and catching up with family who had travelled from all over Europe. Nothing was too much trouble at any time. Cameo Opera sang between each course of lunch and the staff ensured this went smoothly and seamlessly. Lots of us had chosen to book the night at the hotel so we could continue the celebrations and at breakfast the next morning (with the same staff who had been serving us at the lunch party who must have been exhausted) we were given the same welcoming and excellent service. In fact we did not leave until 12noon. It was difficult to tear ourselves away from what had been the most amazing experience.

I would recommend all aspects of this hotel for any function or simply to have dinner and spend a night in the luxurious rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on outer edge of the hotel had the best views over the fields but the other rooms overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarissa_read
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We enjoyed our one night at Hempstead House! Our room was delightful! We did feel a bit uncomfortable walking through someone's wedding reception to get to our room but had chosen room service anyway so didn't need to go anywhere once we settled in! Food was delicious and bed was huge and comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty and love the idea of having eggs made to order instead of sitting under a hot lamp. Would definitely return, we didn't get a chance to enjoy the spa facilities but they looked very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We spent our 10th wedding anniversary here, the hotel was very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and the spa was excellent. The only criticicsm of the spa was that there was not enough seating around the pool. We will definitely return and even use this place for spa day retreats.

Room Tip: The rooms over the Spa are ideal if you want to wander round in your robe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bapchild
10.9 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
17.2 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
8.3 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
17.1 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
9.3 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hempstead House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hempstead House Hotel and Spa

Property: Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Address: Hempstead House Annexe London Road, Bapchild, Sittingbourne ME9 9PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sittingbourne > Bapchild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bapchild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hempstead House Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Victorian Country House Hotel and Spa set in four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens surrounded by glorious Kentish countryside. Luxurious individually designed en-suite bedrooms with all facilities including high speed internet access. Elegant spacious reception rooms and three bars. Air conditioned conference rooms with capacity for up to 150 delegates containing state of the Art audio visual equipment and full range of business services. Award winning cuisine served in our 60 cover classical restaurant, Lakes, with professional but friendly service. Licensed for civil marriages with complete wedding service, four honeymoon suites and capacity for 150 guests. Smaller rooms for more intimate ceremonies and private or corporate functions. Brand new spa and fitness centre including beautiful 15 metre swimming pool with hydrotherapy pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Fitness studio offering a full range of classes and fully equipped gym. The therapy suite offers five spacious treatment rooms, a relaxation lounge and a manicure, pedicure and hair-washing area. A wide range of treatments are offered from manicures and pedicures to full body rituals, massages and facials. The facility also features a contemporary Brasserie offering a bar service and light snacks throughout the day and comprehensive lunch and dinner menus for residents, members and non-members. Outside there are sun-filled terraces and courtyards allowing Al Fresco aperitifs and dining or relaxing afternoon teas and coffees and light refreshments. All around the beautiful gardens are seats and benches, perfect for unwinding and relaxation. A secret spa garden, carefully secluded to afford privacy and tranquility is the perfect place to while away some time after having a treatment or using the other facilities. Close to cathedral cities of Canterbury and Rochester and historic castle at Leeds. The ports of Dover and Folkestone and the Eurostar terminal are all about half an hour’s drive away and London can be reached within an hour by rail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hempstead House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hempstead House Hotel Sittingbourne
Hempstead Hotel Sittingbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing