We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above the rest.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bapchild
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Hempstead House is a privately run hotel that is quite simply one of the best I have ever stayed in. Each rom is individual and it just makes each visit different. The Lakes restaurant has a small but superb menu served by white gloved staff. On my two visits I have seen a wedding each time and the whole venue and setting makes for a perfect choice to tie the knot. The Aquamanda Spa and gym is well equipped and offers a great choice of treatments.
I can't praise this place highly enough and its 83% rating misleads you. Its 100% in my book.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

A useful base for touring in the area. Room was comfortable, bathroom a good size, but had a fundamental problem in that shampoo and liquid soap dispensers (assuming these are acceptable to you - we don't much like them) were at other end from shower of very slippery bath ( we had to ask for non-slip mat) and fixed so high up that it was challenging to reach for shorter partner and impossible for anyone taking a bath without go-go-gadget arms!
Breakfast OK, but hot breakfast obviously pre-cooked. Restaurant and brasserie adequate, though portion sizes were excessive, to the extent of being off-putting.
Swimming pool and spa were not open when we arrived hot and tired at 6pm on Sunday, although open later for rest of week.
Staff were friendly and helpful, although restaurant staff took themselves rather seriously.
Laundry service was very efficient and reasonably priced.
Would we stay again? Probably yes, given limited options locally, but would take own soap and shampoo.

Room Tip: Room 34 has the unreachable soap holders. Don't know about other rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SallyandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Attended a family wedding on 31st May. Great function room. Lovely grounds and the pool/spa area was a bonus. The sun was shining so we also made the most of the courtyard areas. Bedroom and the bed were a little on the small side and we had a noisy generator outside the window - could be a problem in the summer but as we were only staying 1 night it wasn't a problem. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SC223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed in an executive room which was nice but slightly dated, more so in the bathroom area. The spa was great although I hadn't anticipated so many hen or baby shower gatherings so quite loud at times but overall relaxing - I would definitely recommend a celebration here, we also ate in the restaurant which was fabulous and definitely helped tie the room into the overall feel of the place and helped change my opinion. Food was amazing and service was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I got married last year and had our wedding reception at Hempstead house..the staff, hotel, food, drink and experience was fantastic... what a venue!!

We then decided to have our first year wedding anniversary lunch there.. And I'm so glad we did.
Once again the staff were brilliant.. Special thank you to Danny for excellent service.
The food and drink were delicious... we definitely made the right choice and will always highly recommend people to go there.
It's a lovely family run hotel..thank you once again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IzzieTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We spent a pleasurable afternoon at Hempstead House, we had our own suite, which was nice & personal.
The meal was nice, but just nice, tomato & mozzarella salad should really use a milky soft mozzarella, in this instance a cooking mozzarella loaf was used, so a real let down on flavour..
Chicken terrine I found to be a lttle dry, with the presentation average to say the least..
Salmon & prawns, was beautiful as was the sauce & the veg was supberb, with a bite just how it should be, but thats a preferance thing..
Chocolate Roulade, very light, but really needed more white chocolate sauce, as the flavour simply didnt stand up to the token sauce given..
Lemon posset really light, and complimented by crumbly biscuit..
Coffee price an extra charge, and far to pricey for what it actually costs to produce..

Being an experienced chef, with a catering business it was interesting to see how a venue deals with multi events at the same time, from our point of view, it took ages to get our first round of drinks delivered, it was our only round of drinks and we were not asked if we wanted refills!!
Service of starters was a bit car crash as another parties starters found their way into us!!
Mains arrived promptly of good portion hot & tasty.
Desserts took a while, but were a nice way to finish the meal, more drinks offered would have been nice especially as we spilled out on to the patio to enjoy the afternoon sun..

Overall i nice venue, but not a wow factor, we will return though as the staff were very pleasant if a little shy, clean surroundings, if only a little expensive for what the end product delivers..

An enjoyable family meal, with the afternoon spent in garden gounds, shame no after service was offered, you missed out on extra sales there I'm afraid...

My wife was on crutches, a very helpful young girl helped her into her seat & placed her crutches nearby for her, a star member of staff, thank you to her..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hempsteadhouse, General Manager at Hempstead House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thankyou Alan S for your recent review and for choosing us for your special occasion. We have reviewed & discussed your comments with our head chef & front of house manager & wish to express our thanks for your honest review on the food. After speaking with our waitress who was looking after your function she has informed me that she approached a lady guest of your party with offer of arrival drinks and was informed that they wished to wait until your party had all arrived which unfortunately resulted in our other group being at the bar causing your delay, she also recalls asking if you wished for any drinks to take outside when you left the room and again was informed that you were all ok however we shall react upon this and ensure to double check. We hope to welcome you again & again thank you for your review..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Lovely surroundings, friendly helpful staff and clean rooms. However, we stayed in a standard double room at £110. This was quite overpriced. The room was small and the bathroom very dated and needed some updating. The shower was just a dribble. The mattress was quite old and sloped inwards at the middle. We had a bite to eat in the Bistro. It was well priced for what we ordered but felt the Waldorf salad just came out of a tub with added leaves so could have been better. I would visit again but would stay in a better room as might be better value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scbooth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hempsteadhouse, General Manager at Hempstead House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you scbooth5 for your review and your recent stay with us. As you are aware from your visit we have some very modern and luxurious facilities and décor throughout the hotel & our annual schedule of improvements is on-going with the older area of the hotel scheduled for improvements in the near future. Our Thai chef in our Brasserie kitchen receives some very high praise for her menu and is all freshly made on the day with fresh deliveries on a daily basis from our suppliers for our new summer menu this month. I hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bapchild
10.9 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,329 reviews
9.3 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.4 mi away
Tonge Barn
Tonge Barn
#6 of 6 in Sittingbourne
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,088 reviews
10.3 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
418 reviews
14.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hempstead House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hempstead House Hotel and Spa

Address: Hempstead House Annexe London Road, Bapchild, Sittingbourne ME9 9PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sittingbourne > Bapchild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bapchild
Price Range: £117 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hempstead House Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Victorian Country House Hotel and Spa set in four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens surrounded by glorious Kentish countryside. Luxurious individually designed en-suite bedrooms with all facilities including high speed internet access. Elegant spacious reception rooms and three bars. Air conditioned conference rooms with capacity for up to 150 delegates containing state of the Art audio visual equipment and full range of business services. Award winning cuisine served in our 60 cover classical restaurant, Lakes, with professional but friendly service. Licensed for civil marriages with complete wedding service, four honeymoon suites and capacity for 150 guests. Smaller rooms for more intimate ceremonies and private or corporate functions. Brand new spa and fitness centre including beautiful 15 metre swimming pool with hydrotherapy pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Fitness studio offering a full range of classes and fully equipped gym. The therapy suite offers five spacious treatment rooms, a relaxation lounge and a manicure, pedicure and hair-washing area. A wide range of treatments are offered from manicures and pedicures to full body rituals, massages and facials. The facility also features a contemporary Brasserie offering a bar service and light snacks throughout the day and comprehensive lunch and dinner menus for residents, members and non-members. Outside there are sun-filled terraces and courtyards allowing Al Fresco aperitifs and dining or relaxing afternoon teas and coffees and light refreshments. All around the beautiful gardens are seats and benches, perfect for unwinding and relaxation. A secret spa garden, carefully secluded to afford privacy and tranquility is the perfect place to while away some time after having a treatment or using the other facilities. Close to cathedral cities of Canterbury and Rochester and historic castle at Leeds. The ports of Dover and Folkestone and the Eurostar terminal are all about half an hour’s drive away and London can be reached within an hour by rail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hempstead House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hempstead House Hotel Sittingbourne
Hempstead Hotel Sittingbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing