We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bapchild
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a Red Letter Gold dining experience and we chose this venue for. We had a lovely evening and the food and atmosphere was lovely. The conservatory area we eat in was very pleasant. We would definitely go back again. The staff were attentive.

Room Tip: We didn't. Book a room as we only live just over 30 minutes away. We ate in the conservatory res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Having given a so so review before, due to a staff member, I thought it would only be fair to update it as I have now stopped here quiet a lot in the past month or so.

The rooms, I have stayed in both the new and old part of the hotel although I do prefer the new part, just for the reason of the Air Con rooms but in all the rooms I have stopped in, they have been nice and big, with great beds, cant fault the comfort at all and its great to see ironing Boards, much needed for those that travel a lot.

The Brassiere is where I have been eating and I have to say its contrast from last time. The staff cant do enough for you, they really make you feel relaxed and welcomed, its just a pleasure to sit in there and relax. I must admit I have not tried anything else or than olives and the Tia Red curry, its fantastic. I do eat plenty of Tia food and this is certainly excellent. Due to the good food and how good the staff are, we took some customers there for a meal there and they were very impressed with the food. They also do a fantastic larger as well :)

The breakfast, well its in my top 3 breakfast's of all time, I do love the quality they serve and the fried bread which is rare these days although naughty, its so dam good. It really is a quality breakfast, make no mistake and its fresh, never pre-cooked.

I had not been here for over 3 years after last time but since coming back I have not stopped any where else and have no desire to do so either.

Great rooms, fantastic staff and excellent food, what else do you need?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ispy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Unfortunately, we were called away for an urgent funeral last December during our stay. We had booked massages and didn't even receive an apology let alone compensation for our treatments.

The 'manager' managed the situation very badly as we were very upset and it was only correct to offer us our money back. Instead their was no sympathy at all....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hempsteadhouse, Owner at Hempstead House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Sadly these guests had to leave the hotel early due to funeral commitment. They had however enjoyed an overnight stay with a three course dinner as part of their package. They were unable to have their massage but with such short notice for the cancellation, we were unable to offer a refund. Whilst we understand this was a very distressing time, we are unable to offer refunds for part of an inclusive package especially when the space in our treatment suite cannot be refilled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a Hotel of two half’s, the old section of the hotel is in an older classic style and feels very homely and the new extension which houses the spa is more modern and luxurious. We stayed in the original house and the standard double was very roomy and had a large bathroom with separate bath and shower cubical. Decorated classically but very nicely done, with a comfy bed and tea coffee, TV and iron in your room and lots of hanging space. We had lunch in the Brassiere, which had a nice menu and the service was very good. There is a main restaurant but we only had breakfast, which was a choice of cooked and continental and the service again was great. The spa has all you need with a sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, very powerful water jets for shoulder massage and small swimming pool. We are thinking of going back to for a murder mystery night coming up and also treating my mum to a traditional afternoon tea. This is a little gem in the Kent countryside.

Room Tip: Any that are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JEZZER1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

When we arrived at the hotel they were busy preparing for a wedding, however everyone we encountered found the time to help us. Checking in was done very efficiently by Sandi, she also took us to our room. The room was adequate with en suite shower. The only slight problem we had was finding the spa, the doors to the changing rooms are found in the bar., but we were soon pointed in the right direction by friendly bar staff . The spa was very quiet, only us and two other couples , there is a pool , a jacuzzi and a hydro pool, steam room and a sauna. The spa is very clean and towels are supplied in the well equipped changing rooms.
There are plenty of places to sit and have drink both indoors and outdoors, we were sat indoors in a quiet room when we met Steve the night porter, who was very knowledgable about the local area and the history of the hotel and made sure we had everything we needed.
Would highly recommend this hotel where all the staff go out of their way to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Venue- on edge of fields. Very quiet location. Plenty of parking.
Reception -brilliant once we finally got receptionists attention
Room-lovely spacious standard double room, clean and well equipped. Lovely accessories in bathroom. No air con in room so roasted but was very hot day/night. Freeview TV
Brasserie-gorgeous light bite food, staff brilliant.
Spa- lovely. Only 3 loungers though which can't be used cos people see them as 'towel holders'
Restaurant-highlight of the place. Maître d brilliant, chef goes above and beyond just your food order. Head waitress absolutely wonderful. Cannot fault -all outstanding!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Honest_N_Fair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hempstead House,
Reservation handled efficiently. Welcome was warm, staff seems to be efficient although our dinner reservation, made before arriving in the UK, was lost – in the event, this was not a problem.
It appears the hotel caters mainly to corporate meetings but also has reputation as a spa, which very busy. Landscaping is beautiful.
We stayed here for three nights. Our room (Executive) and bathroom were comfortable and quite spacious except for the wardrobe (more like a cupboard) was inadequate. It seems this hotel caters more to short-stay business visitors than to travelers. The owners might consider making an anonymous visit as a traveller with luggage.
The liquid soap dispensers in the bathrooms are not reachable for persons in bath. Consider offering guests bars of soap.
The hotel is well furnished and maintained. Would certainly return if in area.
During our stay, we dined twice (Tuesday and Thursday) in the Lakes Restaurant. Oddly, several items on menu were not available. The “market” fish is available only during the weekends and the freshness of fish available at other times is questionable. The beef tenderloin was perfectly cooked and superb.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BlighWestVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bapchild
10.9 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,354 reviews
9.3 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
24.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
10.3 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
419 reviews
23 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hempstead House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hempstead House Hotel and Spa

Address: Hempstead House Annexe London Road, Bapchild, Sittingbourne ME9 9PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sittingbourne > Bapchild
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bapchild
Price Range: £121 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hempstead House Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Victorian Country House Hotel and Spa set in four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens surrounded by glorious Kentish countryside. Luxurious individually designed en-suite bedrooms with all facilities including high speed internet access. Elegant spacious reception rooms and three bars. Air conditioned conference rooms with capacity for up to 150 delegates containing state of the Art audio visual equipment and full range of business services. Award winning cuisine served in our 60 cover classical restaurant, Lakes, with professional but friendly service. Licensed for civil marriages with complete wedding service, four honeymoon suites and capacity for 150 guests. Smaller rooms for more intimate ceremonies and private or corporate functions. Brand new spa and fitness centre including beautiful 15 metre swimming pool with hydrotherapy pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Fitness studio offering a full range of classes and fully equipped gym. The therapy suite offers five spacious treatment rooms, a relaxation lounge and a manicure, pedicure and hair-washing area. A wide range of treatments are offered from manicures and pedicures to full body rituals, massages and facials. The facility also features a contemporary Brasserie offering a bar service and light snacks throughout the day and comprehensive lunch and dinner menus for residents, members and non-members. Outside there are sun-filled terraces and courtyards allowing Al Fresco aperitifs and dining or relaxing afternoon teas and coffees and light refreshments. All around the beautiful gardens are seats and benches, perfect for unwinding and relaxation. A secret spa garden, carefully secluded to afford privacy and tranquility is the perfect place to while away some time after having a treatment or using the other facilities. Close to cathedral cities of Canterbury and Rochester and historic castle at Leeds. The ports of Dover and Folkestone and the Eurostar terminal are all about half an hour’s drive away and London can be reached within an hour by rail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hempstead House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hempstead House Hotel Sittingbourne
Hempstead Hotel Sittingbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing