We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Tortworth Court
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Shame about the service”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at Tortworth court at the end of last month for my best friend's wedding. I was initially impressed each time I had attended the hotel by its grounds and structure, and the orangery and Westminster suite, where the wedding breakfast and party were to be held were wonderful. The setting all round the hotel is ultimately beautiful yet unfortunately the service did not keep up with the pleasing aesthetics. The mother of the bride booked us a spa day the day prior to the wedding, which was great, the beauticians were lovely and the treatments were soothing. What I found disappointing was that they did not warn us that the time we must arrive at the spa is the beginning of the treatments so when we arrived to the desk about 5-10 minutes late, two treatments had already begun and the bride and m.o.b had shorter treatments than the rest. I just find this a bit disappointing that they couldn't pre warn us that the time to arrive was the beginning of the treatments. The rest of the stay got worse service wise. We ordered room service that evening as a group of 7, the receptionist was not best pleased to be taking an order of 7 by his frosty tones each time I said the next meal. Yet we each organised our costs towards this but when the food came they tried to charge us and extra £40. The receptionist whom we ordered with had bought the food and his attitude to us. He proceeded to huff and puff and sigh when we struggled to comprehend the extra money spent. We then noticed they had given us an extra two meals that they initially refused to take back, yet after the bride got a bit unsettled by the situation, they agreed. Before sleeping we wrote out our breakfast orders, but this was also not received correctly and despite that every breakfast comes with continental toast and pastries, they appeared to have missed our breakfast tray, and considering I had requested a fruit bowl with no melon that came very much with melon, and the bride was banking on the continental breakfast for a little bite, we were not too amused. We had also woken up to a bill of a further £20 of room service "charge" which when enquiring about, was one of the extra meals they had tried to charge the previous evening. The rest of the day was filled with the occasional wedding day stress that we're not helped by the hotel staff. I found the attitudes of staff was generally disappointing and let down the the whole vibe of the hotel. They were not all entirely useless but the majority of them were unpleasant and unhelpful. I was also not entirely impressed by the quality of the food and the prices charged and can't say I would recommend the hotel for anything but a beautiful location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephsmith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are very disappointed to hear Tortworth Court Hotel did not meet with your expectations on this particular visit. In particular we are extremely disappointed to hear some staff may not have been as attentive as they could have been and the services offered were not to the high levels you would expect from a Four Pillars Hotel. These are areas in which we would normally excel so we are very sorry to hear that on this occasion, this appears not to have been the case. Your feedback has been shared with the team to highlight the importance of delivering exceptional customer service to all guests at all times and we can assure you that we shall make improvements in customer service as a priority. Our Peels spa team do ask guests to arrive early for any treatments as this gives them amble time to make sure that the guest has filled in a heath questionnaire before any treatments take place and we apologise if this was not the case during your visit. We are extremely pleased that you found Tortworth Court and the grounds to be an ideal location and setting for the wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    822
    432
    167
    128
See reviews for
343
1,210
32
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here on Saturday night and we the Sleepover Package. As mothers of small children, it was a wonderfully indulgent treat for ourselves. The lady on reception was very professional but also very friendly. The room itself was very spacious and like a mini apartment. We had a choice of DVDs and several packets of chocolate and popcorn. There was also a chocolate brownie each with a couple of strawberries, and a bottle of pink fizz awaiting our arrival.

Our evening platter arrived exactly on time and there was plenty of it. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous with lots to choose from. Generally a fantastic experience.

I only gave 4 stars though as there were a couple of minor issues which could have made it perfect.

1 - Our ice cream didn't arrive. The staff were extremely apologetic and offered to bring it straight away but, by then, it was too late and we didn't fancy it,

2 - Our leftovers from the dinner platter weren't collected and we had to call reception for that to happen. Once again they were very apologetic and sent someone straight away.

3 - Our room was right next to a wedding reception where a live band started playing at 22.45!! It was very loud and we couldn't possibly hear the DVDs and we had to close the windows on a very warm and humid evening.

4 - Some of the chocolate was out of date!

However, having said all that, we still had a wonderfultime. HooHopefully next time will be perfect!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Coleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are sorry that this reviewer could only give Tortworth Court 4 star because of a few minor issues and feel confident on their next visit the stay will be perfect. Thank you for this review and that overall you enjoyed a wonderful indulgent evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked in for a 2 night stay as part of Wedding Day organised overnight package, although none of the celebrations actually took place at the hotel. Very good price of £99 for the room, including breakfast, at a special block booking rate.

The hotel is set in a beautiful surrounding with plenty of car parking space in various places. Reception was very friendly, efficient and helpful, with plenty of smiles. We were made to feel welcome right from the very start, entering the main house. Everywhere was always clean. You felt that the staff took pride in their work.

Drinks on the terrace were fabulous, with great views of the countryside. We had dinner on the first night in one of the bars, as part of the casual dining experience. Bar service and dinner service was excellent. Breakfast each morning went very well, good choice of food, and plenty of staff on hand to assist.

We both slept very well each night.

Will certainly stay at this hotel again in the future, when in this part of the country. Highly recommended hotel, and fully deserves AA 4 stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V2-60885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for this review of your stay at Tortworth Court. We are extremely pleased that you found our hotel to be excellent value for money; fully deserving of its AA 4 star rating and that you would recommend Tortworth Court Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

When arriving at the hotel we were taken aback by the gorgeous scenery and the amazing building that faced us. When arriving in reception it took a while to be checked in but when we were the man on the desk was extremely helpful and told us everything we needed to know. Once in our room we were quietly disappointed. The bed was very hard and small and the bathroom was not very luxurious In fact needed some TLC. We were booked in for dinner at 8.30pm as we were told it was the only time available. The restaurant was an amazing room but we cannot say that about the food, our worry before even ordering was there was more food being sent back in the kitchen than out. We proceeded to order from the less than appealing menu - I had steak and asked for it rare my husband had chicken with Cajun spices, the steak was over cooked and very fatty (6.95) supplement too and the chicken had no spices on it what so ever and was very dry. We had a 3 course meal which did not warrant £75 but as it was our anniversary we paid it, I think the outside of the hotel leads you to high expectation and the inside well and truly lowers those! We also had a spa treatment each and when in the pool after the treatment we both said we didn't even feel like we had a massage we were never asked how we wanted the massage and it was very soft. We wouldn't return to this hotel due to the costs and the food and room not up to a 4* standard. We were also on our first anniversary which the hotel were told but nothing was mentioned at all throughout our stay. All in all it was a very disappointing anniversary stay and we felt very let down especially after reading the description and looking at the amazing photos of this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are very disappointed to hear Tortworth Court Hotel did not meet with your expectations on this particular visit. In particular we are extremely disappointed to read that the dining experience did not meet with this reviewers expectations, this is one of the areas in which Four Pillars Hotels excel so we are very sorry to hear that on this occasion, this appears not to have been the case and this feedback has been shared with our Executive head chef and his team. Over the past two years we have made many improvements within the hotel and are currently refurbishing most of our 190 bedrooms and I feel sure that this reviewer would notice a vast improvement on a future visit to Tortworth Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a connoisseur room in the main building. The room was large with a good bathroom and an excellent shower. The bed was very comfortable, and clean, with the added bonus of two small bottles of wine and water. The restaurant was good, an adequate buffet breakfast --the food was hot, but I felt the evening meal was disappointing , due to the vegetables being cold and the same both nights [no choice of veg ] and some meals were very spicy, which spoilt the flavour of the food.
All told a very good break was had, and a possible visit in the future could be on the cards.
The service was excellent, from reception to the restaurant,

Room Tip: stay in the main block thus avoiding a long walk from the rooms which are quite away from the loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nantlais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We would like to thank this guest for taking the time to provide us with a review online and we are pleased that they enjoyed their stay at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel. We are disappointed that this reviewer felt that the dining experience was not to the usually high standards they would expect from a Four Pillars Hotel and this feedback will be passed onto our head chef and his team. Thank you for your comments for our bedrooms and the excellent service provided by all our staff, we look forward to welcoming this reviewer back to Tortworth Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Had a Fri/Sat break as a Red Letter Day gift. Fantastic building. Sitting on the terrace in the sunshine was a treat. Looking out over lush lawns shrubs and trees. Fantastic staff. Good dinners. Huge choice for breakfast. Nice clean rooms. Faultless.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Redldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for this wonderful review of Tortworth Court Hotel. We are extremely pleased that you had the opportunity to sit and enjoy our grounds and had a wonderful relaxing break at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stunning views both inside and out, decent food, some good facilities for gatherings.

We stayed for a night and found the building and grounds to be close to perfect. The evening meal and breakfast were tasty and good value. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean.

Now for the not so good bits:
The pool is small, crowded and needs a bit of maintenance to the sealants and paint. The changing rooms are really tatty and are only fit for a 1980's local authority leisure facility.
The carpets to the converted barns look like they've had an oily cart dragged over them.

All through the night, perhaps because there was a party going on and people were returning to rooms throughout the night, the fire doors would bang loudly and resonate through our room (248).

There was little through ventilation and the room was exceedingly hot, I spent the night with a damp towel over me. The Mrs, who felt cold in 40 degree heat in Thailand recently, slept without any cover and the (not particularly effective) fan on.

With a better room I'd stay again and the surroundings are so wonderful I'm still giving the hotel 4 stars. Just pay extra for a better room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are very disappointed to hear Tortworth Court Hotel did not meet with all your expectations on this particular visit. We have over the past two years refurbished most of the public areas within the hotel and are currently refurbishing most of our 190 bedrooms. Further refurbishments are planned for Tortworth Court and this does include our leisure area including the swimming pool and spa. The carpet leading to the stable block had unfortunately been stained by a contractor working at the hotel and this will be professional cleaned shortly. We do apologise if other guests staying in the hotel were banging fire doors late in the evening and our night manager did try and keep the noise down to a minimum level. We do hope that this reviewer will revisit Tortworth Court and we would like to thank them again for their feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
1.1 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
23.5 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
406 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
942 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Tortworth Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Court

Property: De Vere Tortworth Court
Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly De Vere Tortworth Estate)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Court 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Court offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
De Vere Tortworth Court Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing