We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Tortworth Court
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value package”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here on a Secret Escapes deal for 1 night. Lovely hotel in beautiful grounds. Not a great view from our room but was comfortable, quiet and clean. 3 course evening meal and breakfast was included and both were delicious. Only used the pool but spa facilities looked good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8nickyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    816
    428
    162
    124
See reviews for
339
1,196
31
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
425 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

You will love this place. Great atmosphere and decor. Spent 2 weeks here and loved every minute of it. View from my room was amazing over looking the meadow. Good at the hotel is the best. Sunday is traditional British Sunday Lunch. Roasted chicken, duck, beef. It is to die for. Great pool and fitness center available and free wifi.
This is a must stay for everyone.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ddb2422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The AA gives this hotel 4 stars so we expected a certain standard and were disappointed. The main building is a rebuilt Gothic style hall with endless wings added, surrounded by car parks. The rooms have that familiar and gentle air of decay offered by hotels that lack the funds to update. Our bed had the hardest mattress that I have ever had to try to sleep on and the mattress cover was too small for the bed so that the mattress itself could be seen beneath the bottom sheet. We stayed for 2 nights and never will again. The breakfast was the usual buffet, but with the cheapest possible ingredients on offer as breakfast is included in the room rate. No meat was discernible in the sausages and the bacon was universally undercooked. Conversely the black pudding was overcooked and dry; none of the breakfast ingredients had any taste at all. Coffee was weak.
The staff however were pleasant and as helpful as they could be.
The AA inspectors must have got their notes muddled.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OldtravellerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Spent 2 nights at the end of July; Outstanding welcome at reception covering all the essentials. Large hotel, with many rooms which is fine once you discover the shortest route back to main area. Lovely, spacious room. Great evening meal and superb breakfasts. Lovely pool and spa area. We booked under Secret Escapes. Fantastic value for money and would definitely go again. We were so impressed with 'Four Pillars' that we have booked another Cotswold break because it was 'Four Pillars.

Room Tip: Be sure to state if any mobility issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewandDenise_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This really is not a 4 star hotel, they have a. good historic building which has got heritage on its side. The service levels are quite shambolic. we stayed here 2 nights and found that used tea cups were not changed, water bottles were not replaced and the room service could not be contacted for an hour as it kept going to their voicemail !!, then after finally reaching room service and asking for new cups water etc did not get things done as they forgot about it ..terribly poor service ..paid neatly 200 pounds per day for the room ..Would have got 10 times better service anywhere else at this price.. Very forgettable experience.

Room Tip: Don't come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Went here for a wedding and stayed over. The staff are friendly and efficient and the setting and the gardens are really very pleasant. However, our hosts had hired a marquee in the grounds for the evening do and everyone had a very pleasant evening until about 20 minutes before the bar was scheduled to shut. Then 2 of the most intimidating and huge bouncers arrived and stood in front of the bar facing out into the room. These guys wouldn't have looked the slightest bit out of place controlling the crowds at a cage-fighting event! No doubt they were there to make sure the party finished on time but with everyone from children to grand parents in attendance, parading this pair chaps showed a complete lack of imagination.

In the hotel the accommodation block was a proper labyrinth. Think of the accommodation decks on a cross-channel ferry and you'll get the idea. Nothing wrong with the rooms though but finding them with the hopeless signage and corridors twisting this way and that was by no means easy.

Finally the breakfast was truly vile. This was a real surprise as all the rest of the food we'd had the day before was perfectly acceptable. They served a cooked breakfast buffet style and it was clear everything had been cooked for an 8 o'clock start. By the time we sat down at 9.30 the fried eggs were like rubber. The fried bread was as soggy as you like and the fried potatoes (which would have been a nice addition) were also limp and soggy. For £15 a throw they absolutely need to get this right - you can do a lot better in pretty much any greasy spoon for well under half the cost!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrHostNeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The property and the hotel are wonderful, the landscape is outstanding, I do think there could be some improvements in regards to the food, the a la carte menu tends to be good but the breakfast and Sunday Roast do not meet the expectations, it is not bad but it is not what you would expect in this high standard hotel. The service is great and everyone is very friendly. The berdroom is spacious and clean but there are a lingering odor at the newest wing of the property. I do recommend because the place is beautiful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Foreign_Londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
23.5 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
10.2 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
12.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Tortworth Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Court

Property: De Vere Tortworth Court
Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly De Vere Tortworth Estate)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Court 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Court offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
De Vere Tortworth Court Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing