We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Tortworth Court
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“birthday treat”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The hotel was excellent , room was clean had everything you needed , Staff was very helpful , Restaurant was stunning , best to get there early so you can sit bye the window food was good .Grounds where really nice .Pool and gym area very clean .Would go back again .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonmichaeltinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    853
    454
    177
    132
See reviews for
365
1,261
34
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated 5 day break for my birthday. It was lovely. Food excellent but roast of day not very exciting. Seabass good. Staff attentive. Large room with sofa and two chairs. Let down room not cleaned round edges and bathrooms need updating. Husband hurt his leg and blood stained duvet cover. Wad not changed just turned round on last night.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jembey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Tortworth made for a good wedding venue, and our room was fine. The management were pretty disorganised though.

We arrived at 1pm for a 2pm wedding and were told that no rooms would be ready until 4pm. We ended up getting changed in the leisure centre, with our 9 month old being changed on the floor of the ladies' toilet.

We later found out that at least two of our friends who arrived after us were given their rooms.

As I pointed out to the duty manager, if the hotel are willing to accept the money for room bookings and a wedding, they should spend some of that money on employing enough cleaning staff.

Oh and the wifi didn't work.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattyboysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Stayed 3 days with my partner and 2 friends,what a wonderful experience.The food was exemplary,the staff were wonderful, helpful and very professional.My partner suffered a worrying heart flutter I contacted reception who contacted nhs direct and patched it through to our room.And within minutes the duty manager was knocking our door offering any help that we may need,fortunately my partners problem eased.The attention that we received was marvelous.I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to everyone.I would also mention that the hotel stands in its own 30 acres Arboretum. (Wonderful)

Room Tip: Room 201 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickmarje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel - stayed for one night on this occasion -rang the hotel and got a good rate for dinner,bed and breakfast. Room looked newly decorated, very comfortable bed, quiet and not too far from reception- Not in main building though ( Courtyard car park) 3 Course dinner was included in price which was average good choice but not gourmet by any means however the buffet breakfast was good. The grounds are stunning and provide a lovely walk around the arboretum. The area is also very interesting with some pretty villages near by.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziejenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed over on a friends wedding night. We were in the new wing, there is a maze of corridors full of function rooms and bedrooms. When we went there it was full to capacity (July). Weddings and private functions everywhere. The room was on ground floor with small patio with table and 2 chairs looking onto the grassed square. The room was basic but clean and functional. Main breakfast room was full at 9 am and we were asked to sit in the adjoining overflow room where breakfast was served. The food was mediocre and warm not hot as it was heated by hot plates. A bit of a let down to be honest. the main hotel and gardens are very impressive with lots of character.
The staff were all very friendly and for the price we paid to stay over with breakfast was acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smudgekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here on a Secret Escapes deal for 1 night. Lovely hotel in beautiful grounds. Not a great view from our room but was comfortable, quiet and clean. 3 course evening meal and breakfast was included and both were delicious. Only used the pool but spa facilities looked good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8nickyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
1.1 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
8.1 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,540 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
434 reviews
10.2 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Tortworth Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Court

Property: De Vere Tortworth Court
Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly De Vere Tortworth Estate)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Court 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Court offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
De Vere Tortworth Court Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing