We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice country pub near stansted airport”
Review of The Cock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cock Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheering
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice country pub near stansted airport”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Nice country pub with great staff and nice breakfast
Rooms are small but just what you would expect from this sort of place good for visiting Essex houses and duxton
No fridge or ice in the room
But the bar is really close

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dippa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    66
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
70
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A single night does not allow for a full review, but our impression was very positive. The Cock seemed welcoming and all the people we came in contact with were very helpful.
Our room was large, well presented although basic, it did give a good nights sleep and we noticed no aircraft noise although Stansted is not far away.
Breakfast was excellent, giving plenty of choice, the English breakfast included locally sourced produce, cooked and presented very well, top marks for taste.
We would certainly consider another stay, hopefully long enough to sample more of the 'pubs delights.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Cannot emphasise enough how lovely the people who run this hotel are. So welcoming and couldn't do enough to make sure we had all that we needed. We were able to check in earlier than normal so we were able to go to v festival which is really close by. The room was a lovely size and so was the bathroom, very clean. Ample parking outside. The breakfast was superb in the lovely bar area. A very nice outside area to sit as well. Would definitely return again, thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loobylou2588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, with our two dogs. Arrived just a little too late for dinner but the hosts were very welcoming, the room was basic but large, clean and well maintained. Breakfast was served in the bar area, not a hint of stale beer, which was great. There was a good selection of cereals and fruit, and a more than adequate cooked breakfast which saw us through the day.

There were no issues with having dogs with us and we were pointed out the ways to decent walks on our arrival.

Excellent value, well worth a stay. Will definitely book again when next in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newbie2btrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Ate here late afternoon so only had a 'lite bite'. Sausage and onion baguette with loads of fresh salad and crisps, and a breaded brie with a red berry marmalade and a lovely salad. Food was very pleasant and well priced. We ate in the well tended garden and enjoyed the afternoon sun.
The staff were very pleasant and friendly - so were the locals in the bar!
There is Sky tv in the bar if you wish to watch it.
There is accommodation, but we did not use these facilities, but it did look nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Rooms were clean, owners were friendly, breakfast was fine. Great curtains in room allowed solid sleep. Good bed. Arrived mid-evening and they went out of their way to suggest alternative places to dine because they had a private event in their eating area (it was Saturday night), A good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milesarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Clean and comfortable rooms, basic but adequate. Breakfast is served in the pub which has a set aside area and was sufficient . Thought the price was top end for what was village accomodation . We were a party which took 9 room of the 12 rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheering
2.0 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Down Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,627 reviews
2.4 mi away
Green Man Hotel
Green Man Hotel
#4 of 8 in Harlow
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hunters Meet Hotel
Hunters Meet Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
188 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,527 reviews
3.0 mi away
Manor Of Groves Hotel
Manor Of Groves Hotel
#1 of 1 in High Wych
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cock Inn

Property: The Cock Inn
Address: The Cock The Street | Herts, Sheering CM22 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Sheering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Cock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cock Hotel Sheering
The Cock Inn Sheering, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing