We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Little Inn”
Review of The Cock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cock Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed overnight with family to break up a journey. Initially I booked this hotel because it was dog friendly however in the end we left our dog with friends so could have stayed elsewhere, however we were fairly pleased with our choice.

Trip Advisor reviews gave this a high rating for food and were looking forward to eating here, however we didn't realise that on Sunday evenings the kitchen was closed, which rather ruined our plans. In fact we struggled to find anywhere in the vicinity which did serve food on Sunday evenings - although we did eventually find one about a 5 mile drive away. However the landlord very kindly offered to allow us to eat a take away in the restaurant and to provide plates and cutlery if we had been completely stuck.

Breakfast the next morning was very enjoyable, well cooked and served with a smile. We considered ourselves lucky to get it though as normally there is only a continental breakfast provided on Mondays (according to the website - as it was a bank holiday there was an exception made.

The room was quite basic but clean. The bed was comfortable, though the pillows were so flat you would scarcely be aware you were even using one - I do suggest some new pillows should be provided as soon as possible. The TV was a very old bulky one but worked well enough. The bathroom was looking very tired - rust marks around the plughole and a rather temperamental shower, no toiletries provided except some economy Tesco shower gel but the towels were nice and thick and good quality.

All in all a friendly place to stay for a short spell - probably enjoy it more when evening food is available, but I wouldn't make a point of seeking it out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melbermar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my daughter. From the minute we walked in until checkout we recieved friendly and welcoming service. The room was lovely and clean. We had a fabulous evening meal in the pub and awoke to a substantial breakfast in the morning. I would recommend this b&b for anyone needing to stay near stansted airport - ideal.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldpicklesno2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

booked a one night stay at the cock inn to break up the journey home after visiting relatives.
it was superb, the room was clean and spacious and the service in the bar and restaurant was excellent.
the food choice in the restaurant was varied and the meals we had were great.
would recommend this hostelry to all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at this B&B last weekend. My family were attending a large family party and pretty much booked all the rooms at The Cock Inn. Our room was spacious, clean and well furnished. It was quiet, away from the main pub/bar area and had tea/coffee making facilities. A large comfortable bed, with lovely fresh bedding/duvet/pillows. Small/portable wall mounted tv, and chairs. There was also a good sized wardrobe with hangers (always useful, but often missing). The bathroom was clean and tidy, in good condition.

My only criticism would be there was a lack of toilet rolls in the bathroom, and no soap. Other family members also commented on the lack of soap. The heating was on high when we arrived, despite it not being so very cold outside. We turned off the two radiators and opened the window as it was stifling and unnecessary.

The following morning they served a good English breakfast, cereals, coffee/tea/juices. All very good value for the £45 we paid for our room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Found this via Tripadvisor and was not disappointed. Clean, spacious room with a king size bed (I think other rooms may be smaller) in recently built annexe attached to the pub.

Pub is not noisy and serves good old pub grub as well as some more adventurous menu items. I am told the beer was good too !

Had a few issues with hot water but that was more the fault of the power supply and the Sawbridgeworth Christmas lights ... the management sorted it out ASAP.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We popped in on spec with the daugheter and son in law to be last Sunday.
It was not very busy but started to fill up after we arrived.
The accomodation is spacious, the appointments commensurate with the establishment.
1) Staff - Could not have been more friendly or nice!!
2) Expecting only to be able to dine on the ubiquitous 'sunday roast' was delighted to find that in addition to the roast's on offer, so was the A La Carte menue.
Service was great, food was hot and tasty - Could not ask for more.

Many thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillandBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

My Cousin Simon loves the Cock Inn. He told me about it early 2013 and raved about how much he loves The Cock, a really great atmosphere, great staff and lovely food. I'm hoping to get together with Cousin Simon later this year so we can enjoy this place once again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheering
1.0 mi away
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,700 reviews
2.0 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
299 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Green Man Hotel
Green Man Hotel
#4 of 8 in Harlow
303 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hunters Meet Hotel
Hunters Meet Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
201 reviews
4.7 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cock Inn

Address: The Cock The Street | Herts, Sheering CM22 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Sheering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheering
Price Range: £63 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cock Hotel Sheering
The Cock Inn Sheering, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing