We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent stay, very friendly people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage Birchanger

The Cottage Birchanger
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cottage Birchanger
Ranked #1 of 2 Birchanger B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent stay, very friendly people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

A lovely house, beautiful inside and out very friendly helpful staff easy to understand directions. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
9
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

A lovely house with beautiful gardens and all the facilities you'd expect, plus a lovely breakfast. All that you could want from a b&b and its only 15 minutes from the Stansted terminal.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sieats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Lovely period house, clean well presented rooms, great breakfast, pleasant helpful people. The owner even carried my bags in as my back was bad! Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chorlton101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

This is a lovely, very old house with some beautiful features. My bedroom was quite large, twin bedded, with en-suite facilities, shower and toilet.
The location is very quiet and although once or twice I heard a plane taking off in very nearby Stanstead Airport the rest of the time the only sounds that I heard were the birds singing outside my window. Spotlessly clean and friendly, I would stay here again if I were in the area, or departing on an early flight from Stanstead. I didn't have breakfast so I can't comment there, but the breakfast room looked really pretty as it looks out over a lovely garden.
Thanks to the lovely lady who was looking after the house whilst the owners were away. She couldn't have been more kind and helpful to me, giving me directions both to the B/B and the next morning giving me directions to where I was working that day. And all with a smile!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birchanger
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,267 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
3.9 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Birchanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Birchanger

Property: The Cottage Birchanger
Address: 71 Birchanger Lane, Birchanger CM23 5QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Birchanger
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Birchanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cottage Birchanger 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do our very best to ensure that everyone is comfortably accommodated and made most welcome. The Cottage is to be found in the village of Birchanger which lies between a large ancient wood and the farmland of the peaceful Stort Valley.It is a quiet village despite its proximity to Stansted Airport, M11 and Bishop's Stortford.A friendly bed and breakfast guest house with 14 bedrooms ranging from single, double and twin en-suite and only a short journey time of 10 minutes makes it ideal Stansted Airport accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your The Cottage Birchanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing