We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rottingdean, white horse hotel”
Review of White Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rottingdean
Reviewed 9 November 2013

large hotel right on sea front... we chose this hotel to get parking nearby as carrying bicycles. staff very helpful and friendly, breakfast good.....but very tired hotel. we paid 89£ for a superior double as they only had a twin doulble. the room itself was amazing, stupendous view over the sea with massive sleigh bed and cannopy with sofa etc in very large room. most of the fittings seemed updated but the loo seat was chipped veneer as was the bath panel, and mould along the bath silicone. you could not lean over the sink too as the glass shelf above protruded too far. All the carpets and paintwork on the way in were very tired and felt very much like an old pub already tired from the 50's. On arrival we had to navigate a bevy of women smoking in the porch as the weather was pretty turbulent and inside the reception was just a kiosk. also the tv wasnt working at all. reception admitted this was an exterior fault out of their control due to the provider they used (different from downstairs which was still operational). but i think it would be more professional offer a small refund rather than assert 'not their fault' so earnestly. have to say though the village looked interesting on the way in and its well placed between brighton and the ferry at newhaven.

Room Tip: we were in room 104 but the rooms next door had a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Spent 2 nights here, me, husband and 12 year old. Booked through a special voucher promotion, knew we would not get a sea view room, and dreaded a front room on a busy road overlooking Tesco Express. It turned out our room was in the middle of the hotel, with a small window overlooking pipes and a fire exit. Ok so not a good view, but we hardly spend any time in the room.
The room was huge, and very well laid out. Clean, that is the most important thing. Bathroom was enormous, with a bath and overhead shower. It makes a nice change to have a bath in a hotel. Also very clean.
Bed was big, very comfy, lovely smooth, soft bedding, and big towels that you could wrap around yourself after stepping out of the shower, nothing worse than some of the handkerchief size towels you get in some places
Couple of niggles, the toilet seat was quite loose, one of the bedside lamps didn't work, things that the staff should have checked and dealt with before putting someone into the room.
In places the hotel is a little worn and dated, don't let this put you off, it is an old building (1930's) and has a bit of character to it. If you compare with a modern, small, functional, big chain faceless conglomerate, you might be disappointed. If you take for the individual style that it is, you will relish your stay here.
The location is excellent, right on the sea front, free car park for residents, with some excellent walks along the beach, in a lovely little village, with some interesting little walks and historic features. 5 minutes drive into Brighton or Newhaven, or bus stop over the road.
Breakfast was included, and what a breakfast, selection of pastries, fresh fruit, fruit salad, yoghurts, cereals, then the offer of a cooked breakfast, and not just the traditional full English, also, salmon and scrambled eggs, kippers, eggs benedict, and a few other choices, along with unlimited toast, tea, coffee and juices. The selection was good, but the taste and presentation was fantastic.
We had a meal in the restaurant on the first night and chose from the set menu, 3 courses for 9.95 was excellent value, so we expected the food to be acceptable. Wrong - the food was exceptional quality and portion size was more than adequate. Drink prices were also very reasonable.
On the downside, the hot water system broke down on night 2, and whilst I appreciate this is not the hotels fault, I thought a notice in reception keeping people informed and updated would have been the sensible option, as it was guests were having to seek out staff for an update.
Staff were fabulous, always friendly and polite, and very hardworking, excellent service.
On the whole, if they could iron out a few niggles, this would add to the enjoyment of the stay. But this is a fabulous hotel, with excellent service and good food, and I would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnkirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words. We did have a plumber working until 0130hrs and are happy to say he returned our piping hot water by the following morning. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Held a family get together here last weekend, a group of 27 adults and 3 smalls, many also staying in the hotel. The room was set out beautifully, service was slick and organised (we had pre-ordered from a choice of 4 options per course), food was good quality and attractively served. Special attention was given to one of our party with particular medical needs which was much appreciated.
Our room had a sea view which was lovely and also allowed us to leave the balcony door open as it was hot throughout the upstairs of the hotel. The room was fine but the decor needed some attention - a large patch of damp, probably only noticeable if you lie on the bed!
In summary - not the poshest but very good value for money and friendly staff. Special mention to Rumbi who helped with the party planning and Megan & team who were there on the night.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view - cooler, quieter and much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We ordered a meal at the restaurant and after waiting one and a half hours asked for a refund and left, never to come back.
We were having a lovely conversation and did not feel the passage of time, but after an hour I complained and the waiter brought me the starter. When an hour and a half had passed and even the guests that had arrived after us had finished and left, I demanded a refund for the rest of the meal that was never served. The lady apologize saying that she "forgot" about us, but there were very few tables with people around us.
Why were we ignored this way? The only explanation we could come up with is that we are not white British, so if you don't fall under that category you may be better off finding another place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Naranjo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Can't really fault this one. Good helpful check-in. Staff explained all I needed to know and the room was clean fresh and perfectly adequate for my needs. Ate in the restaurant and found the service to be as expected and delivered with a smile. Good wholesome menu with fair prices. Stay again? Sure can't think of any reason not to.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunman1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our first experience of an English hotel and we had a lovely two nights here. All the staff were friendly and helpful, thanks especially to Tom. Disappointed we didn't have a balcony room but it was a late booking so we were pleasantly surprised at the size and comfort of the family room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcli2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Returning from Whitstable ( Fishermans Huts) stopped at the White Horse Inn to break the journey. Rottingdean itself a very small Victorian resort, but functional. Our room in the White Horse Inn was immense with two double beds and a sea view. Bathroom window taped up probably to deter the smokers, but not the best appearance. Dinner, poor, undercooked steak and ale pie which could have been bought from the local shop. Breakfast did not fare any better, two hard poached eggs, which had obviously been standing waiting for my wifes eggs Benedict.
However, we both had a wonderful nights sleep making use of the two double beds, wonderful.
D3ylan

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d3ylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rottingdean
2.1 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,541 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
3.9 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,236 reviews
4.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,360 reviews
3.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Hotel

Address: High Street, Rottingdean BN2 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Rottingdean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rottingdean
Price Range: £64 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Rottingdean, Brighton And Hove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing