We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for Brighton”
Review of White Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rottingdean
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Brighton”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a bit tired but in a perfect location by the beach and central Rottingdean.

There is parking and a frequent bus to Brighton and Eastbourne, lovely coast road routes.

The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the rooms were a good size and clean the breakfast menu is excellent and nicely served.

We would use it again.

Ask for a sea view and for a bit extra the suites are worth considering.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank matilda48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    204
    94
    42
    60
See reviews for
130
273
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Excellent location close to restaurants, race course and undercliff walk. Food at the restaurant was very good, showers in the room exceptional!! Rudyard Kipling suite was very spacious with amazing views. Would recommend to anyone wanting a great seaside spot close to Brighton (50 minute walk along the waterfront (undercliff walk). Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank partyburkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Your opinion of this hotel will depend entirely on what it is you're looking for. If you're looking for a luxury holiday then it certainly isn't the right place for you, but if you're looking for great location at a reasonable price (just somewhere to lay your head at night), then this hotel is just that.

Ok, the hotel as a whole is in need of a make over and the rooms are certainly very tired, but our room was clean and tidy, a reasonable size and with a decent bed. The room had a TV, tea and coffee making facilities and plenty of storage space for clothes. The bathroom was a decent size with a very powerful shower (which i love) and plenty of crisp white towels.

We stayed at this hotel (along with 3 other couples) as we were all atteding a wedding in Brighton. The reason for choosing this hotel was it's great price, location, it had parking and breakfast also included.

The breakfast consisted of a cold buffet (cereals, fruit, yoghurt, muffins, croissants etc.) with the option of a cooked breakfast (full english, salmon, omelette, poached eggs etc.) if you wanted it. The breakfast was lovely, much better than i expeced.

If you're visiting Brighton and the cost of hotels is important then this hotel is ideal. The bus stop in to Brighton is right outside the hotel and is only a 5 minute journey which saves you driving and trying to find somewhere to park. Taxis are also easy enough to get hold of.

Overall, this hotel scores 5 stars for it's location and price, but the decor and general appearance of the hotel lets it down quite a lot. Having said that, if we were to come back to Brighton, i would still choose to stay here as it was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicole_arnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Worst most uncomfortable hotel I've ever stayed in and was overcharged and they still haven't refunded the overcharge it was hot the wc windows were pained shut do no sir in the room on
The hottest night of the year very outdated the carpet is Worn on all the stairs

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rottingdean hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Menifee, CA
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I guess your opinion of this place will depend on what it is you're looking for.

My wife and I wanted an affordable place to stay for a couple of nights ,near Brighton, to visit a relative. The White Horse fit that bill. However, we arrived on a Saturday afternoon and (surprise!) the sun was shining. Consequently, the beach was packed. No problem there, we thought ... but so was the hotel parking lot! You see, the hotel's lot in fact doubles as a public car park. With 3 heavy suitcases to offload (we were staying in the UK for over 3 weeks) that was a major problem. However, after waiting in the car, blocking the exit, for just over an hour, we managed to grab a space when someone finally left. Subsequent check-in was marred by having to lug the cases through the lot and then up a flight-and-a half of stairs (no lift) to our room on the first floor.

The view from our room, overlooking the beach was great (see photo), and the room itself was spacious and clean, en-suite bathroom fine, bed very comfortable, with crisp, clean linens. But that's where the room compliments end - the decor was dreadful. I see others describe it as 'tired' but, to me, that's a polite euphemism. The carpet was worn and stained, as were the couch and chair, and plaster was hanging down from the ceiling. Indeed, one area of the ceiling appeared to have a huge hole in it, which had been "covered" by a sheet of unpainted drywall just hammered over it (see photo). On enquiry, one of the staff informed it had been like that "for over a year". Scary!

And our room was not a one-off. The rest of the hotel was in a similar state of disrepair, too. Indeed, our breakfast table had a beautiful view overlooking the beach, but the aura was ruined by the grubby plaster/wallpaper over our heads which was hanging down and which someone (a customer, maybe?) had valiantly tried to re-affix - with large strips of grey Duct tape!

Ok, on to the positive stuff. As I said, the location and views are great and the outdoor patio for drinks and food is a major plus. The food (we ate breakfast there both mornings and had dinner there one night) was fine and excellently priced. The full English Breakfast was indeed full, beautifully cooked, and accompanied with whatever else you wanted from the cold buffet, in the way of cereals, fruit, pastries, etc. The service was excellent - friendly, yet always polite, and most helpful. ( I have to single out Hannah Weeks and Tom Martin for special recognition there - thanks, guys!) And, additionally, and the people who clean the rooms and dress the beds do a truly gallant job, given what they have to work with. Indeed, it has to be the attitude of Manager, Audrey, and her staff which keep this place going, despite the odds being stacked against them!

The pictures of the hotel signs I've attached just about sum up the total state of the hotel - heading for collapse (hmmm ..... it's strange how their website has airbrushed the signs out? https://www.oldenglishinns.co.uk/our-locations/the-white-horse-hotel-rottingdean) The holding company "Old English Inns" should be ashamed of itself - this was once, and could be again, a beautiful place - manager, Audrey, and her similarly dedicated staff, not to mention the unsuspecting traveling public, deserve it!

Room Tip: Don't leave the windows open at night. The baby seagulls nesting on the ledges outside will wak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Menifeemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a superb room, very large and comfortable, with really great sea views, all the staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed our stay in the area. If we are in the area again would certainly revisit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Best fish and chips we had all through England and Europe over 6 weeks of travelling! Room price is excellent for what you get - clean, comfortable bed relatively new bathrooms. Bedroom decore & furnishings are a bit dated and our window didn't open. Other than that, service was 5 star! So friendly and welcoming. And breakfast included in the room price for us was excellent in comparison to some we had. Thanks.

Room Tip: pay extra for a sea view because the traffic on the road is a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingJess2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rottingdean
2.1 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#15 of 44 in Brighton
1,417 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Lanes Hotel
The Lanes Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
321 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,175 reviews
3.5 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
815 reviews
4.0 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Hotel

Property: White Horse Hotel
Address: High Street, Rottingdean BN2 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Rottingdean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rottingdean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Rottingdean, Brighton And Hove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing