We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been before, will go again!”
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Rottingdean
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Have eaten here on a few occasions. Always bring our visiting friends and family. The food is great, the service is friendly and its very reasonable. Couldn't ask for more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KennethBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenliongroup, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi KennethBear,

Thanks for your kind words. It's really nice to hear we are worth showing off to your friends when they visit. I hope we see you and yours again soon!
The Plough xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 283 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

I went here with friends on a Wednesday. We all had the burger deal which was great value. My friends all enjoyed the meat burgers. I am vegetarian and was glad there was a tasty vege burger as part of the offer.
Good mid week meal!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenliongroup, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thanks for your feedback! We understand that hey, vegetarians are people too...
The Plough xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We enjoyed a very nice, relaxing lunch there last Saturday. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the food was tasty and plentiful. Will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Enneffcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenliongroup, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Awww thanks! What are Saturdays for if not relaxing in the pub?
Glad we could help! Hopefully see you again soon!
The Plough xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Been here loads of times and it's always great - massive home made Burger (2-4-1 on Wednesdays!), good beer and very friendly staff. Love it!

Thank Seb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenliongroup, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thanks Seb,

Glad you enjoyed it. Our burgers are pretty special....
I'm sure we'll see you again soon. Thanks so much for your kinds words!

The Plough xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We don't write reviews much but had to write a review because so impressed by our Sunday roast today. Because our daughter has a severe peanut allergy we can't usually have a Sunday roast at a pub because it's always boring nut roast. Not here. Fantastic homemade veggie sausages & all the trimmings...Yorkshire pud, roast parsnips, roast potatoes, red cabbage, swede mash, broccoli...all cooked to perfection and so delicious. Great straightforward price of £10 each. Puddings were really good & excellent presentation. We had sticky toffee pudding & chocolate mousse. Big compliment to the chef. Really high standard. The staff were friendly & made us feel welcome..two kids & two dogs in tow so could've got messy! They got the dogs water without being asked & were lovely to the children. Our waiter was obviously very busy but didn't look stressed & nothing was too much trouble for him. Well done Dave Day & well done the team at The Plough. A fantastic old style village pub which ticks all the boxes and more. Terrific food, good price & really nice atmostphere.

Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenliongroup, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Aww you guys!
I'm really pleased you enjoyed your visit. I know our chef Saja has spent a lot of time getting the veg option on a Sunday 'just right', and she was thrilled with your feedback.
Thanks for taking the time to get in touch, we hope see you again soon!
Lyndon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

Rottingdean, Brighton and Hove
Rottingdean, Brighton and Hove
 
Rottingdean, Brighton and Hove
Rottingdean, Brighton and Hove
 
Rottingdean, Brighton and Hove
Rottingdean, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing