We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for lunch”
Review of Hare and Hounds

Hare and Hounds
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Framfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$27
Description: Lorraine and Peter have recently taken ownership of the Hare and Hounds in Framfield. We are a family run pub offering a relaxed friendly atmosphere to eat or drink. We offer a varied menu to suit all with good quality food at affordable prices. We also cater for parties and events and would love to talk with you regarding a special occasion that you would like to celebrate. RESTAURANT HOURS: MONDAY: Currently closed for food, but under review TUESDAY TO SATURDAY Lunch-12PM-2.30PM Dinner-5.30PM-830PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM SUNDAY: Breakfast-8AM-10.45AM Lunch-12PM-3PM RESTAURANT HOURS: MONDAY: CLOSED FOR FOOD TUESDAY: Breakfast-CLOSED Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-830PM WEDNESDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM THURSDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM FRIDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM SATURDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM SUNDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-4PM Dinner- CLOSED FOR FOOD
Restaurant details
Description: Lorraine and Peter have recently taken ownership of the Hare and Hounds in Framfield. We are a family run pub offering a relaxed friendly atmosphere to eat or drink. We offer a varied menu to suit all with good quality food at affordable prices. We also cater for parties and events and would love to talk with you regarding a special occasion that you would like to celebrate. RESTAURANT HOURS: MONDAY: Currently closed for food, but under review TUESDAY TO SATURDAY Lunch-12PM-2.30PM Dinner-5.30PM-830PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM SUNDAY: Breakfast-8AM-10.45AM Lunch-12PM-3PM RESTAURANT HOURS: MONDAY: CLOSED FOR FOOD TUESDAY: Breakfast-CLOSED Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-830PM WEDNESDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM THURSDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM FRIDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM SATURDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM SUNDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-4PM Dinner- CLOSED FOR FOOD
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We stopped for lunch today at this pretty Sussex pub/restaurant and were so pleased we did, on a day raining cats and dogs! Lovely warm friendly staff - log fire burning and a menu which offered almost anything you could possibly want - (we had the bacon & onion roly poly - and were not disappointed - it was perfect - together with a very nice glass of wine. The place looks great and has character in bucket loads. We would definitely visit again..

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank t0pcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We came to have Sunday lunch with a couple of friends. Our one year old day in her high chair but wanted to wander around the quiet restaurant for a couple of minutes until our food arrived. The proprietor came out to tell us that hot food was being carried around so children can't walk around. I agreed and stayed with my daughter between empty tables until another man came out to say again that children could not walk around. I explained I would be with her the whole time and she would sit as soon as the food came. The two tables that were occupied shook their heads and said they had no problem with the child walking between the empty tables. The proprietor continued to be unfriendly and we were left with no choice but to cancel our food and leave for a pub that was child friendly.

Date of visit: March 2018
4  Thank celimarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine C, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Reading your review, I wanted to let you know that the Hare and Hounds is under new ownership. We are child and pet friendly and do hope you will visit us soon and have a more positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Visited here on a Friday evening with my dad and stepmum
We were seated quickly and drinks orders taken , the menus were delivered with the drinks and we were given a good amount of time to decide on our meals .
I ordered lamb shank , my dad went for liver and bacon and my stepmum ordered the poached salmon .
The food came out fairly quickly , was piping hot and the portions were large , we all enjoyed the meals , the fresh veg was perfect , the meat on both mine and my dads meals melted in the mouth and my step mum said the salmon was lovely .
Myself and dad decided to have puddings which were also great and big portions .
The price for the meal and 6 drinks was very reasonable .
The staff were pleasant , efficient and polite , and the landlord was a very nice gentleman .
We will certainly come again and recommend this lovely old fashion traditional pub to others .

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank I9394TRneilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Two of us went to lunch here one Sunday and we had the roast lamb and roast pork. The portions were large but because it was so nicely cooked, we managed to eat the lot! Generous portions of lean meat with lovely vegetables and lots of potatoes. It was really good home cooking. The desserts were also pretty good: bread and butter pudding and syrup pudding. Very friendly and good service. Would certainly go again.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank linthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Had a really lovely lunch here with family and friends, food was excellent and staff were efficient and friendly, well done everyone, highly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Buzzard54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

 
Uckfield, East Sussex
 

Been to Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing