We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a WOW. Highly recommended”
Review of Hare and Hounds

Hare and Hounds
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Framfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$27
Description: Lorraine and Peter have recently taken ownership of the Hare and Hounds in Framfield. We are a family run pub offering a relaxed friendly atmosphere to eat or drink. We offer a varied menu to suit all with good quality food at affordable prices. We also cater for parties and events and would love to talk with you regarding a special occasion that you would like to celebrate. RESTAURANT HOURS: MONDAY: Currently closed for food, but under review TUESDAY TO SATURDAY Lunch-12PM-2.30PM Dinner-5.30PM-830PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM SUNDAY: Breakfast-8AM-10.45AM Lunch-12PM-3PM RESTAURANT HOURS: MONDAY: CLOSED FOR FOOD TUESDAY: Breakfast-CLOSED Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-830PM WEDNESDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM THURSDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM FRIDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM SATURDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM SUNDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-4PM Dinner- CLOSED FOR FOOD
Restaurant details
Description: Lorraine and Peter have recently taken ownership of the Hare and Hounds in Framfield. We are a family run pub offering a relaxed friendly atmosphere to eat or drink. We offer a varied menu to suit all with good quality food at affordable prices. We also cater for parties and events and would love to talk with you regarding a special occasion that you would like to celebrate. RESTAURANT HOURS: MONDAY: Currently closed for food, but under review TUESDAY TO SATURDAY Lunch-12PM-2.30PM Dinner-5.30PM-830PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM SUNDAY: Breakfast-8AM-10.45AM Lunch-12PM-3PM RESTAURANT HOURS: MONDAY: CLOSED FOR FOOD TUESDAY: Breakfast-CLOSED Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-830PM WEDNESDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM THURSDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM FRIDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM SATURDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-3PM Dinner-5.30PM-8.30PM SUNDAY: Breakfast-8AM-11AM Lunch-12PM-4PM Dinner- CLOSED FOR FOOD
Reviewed 12 July 2018

This is a true gem of a Sussex pub. Excellent food, great ale at a reasonable price. There is a beer garden, which is a good size and adequate parking. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Ten of us sat down for lunch today, and it was Lorraine who took our order. She introduced herself as the new proprietor and helped everyone with their individual ordering. The whole group had a wonderful lunch time experience, and everyone said that the Hare and Hounds, is going to be a firm favourite in the future.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank ray s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine C, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It was lovely to meet you all and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2018

We had heard that there was new management at this village pub, so decided to give it a try, since it had been very good under the previous owner. We were not disappointed, the staff were friendly, we were shown to a good table (having booked), and the menu has a very big choice, both of food and wine. I chose pork belly and it was very good indeed. My only comment is that really and truly, there is too much on the plate. I could not finish it, but they packed the remainder up for me and I finished it the next day... The pub looks much the same, but a little lighter and clearer, and we will certainly go back. It was a good evening.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine C, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are important to us and we are constantly striving to improve our customer experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Visited on a Saturday night. Wonderful atmosphere, friendly staff and great food made for a fantastic night. So good we went back for breakfast on the Sunday morning and were not disappointed. Will be making a return visit soon.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine C, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Was lovely to meet you and do hope to see you again.
All the best
Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We stopped for lunch today at this pretty Sussex pub/restaurant and were so pleased we did, on a day raining cats and dogs! Lovely warm friendly staff - log fire burning and a menu which offered almost anything you could possibly want - (we had the bacon & onion roly poly - and were not disappointed - it was perfect - together with a very nice glass of wine. The place looks great and has character in bucket loads. We would definitely visit again..

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank t0pcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We came to have Sunday lunch with a couple of friends. Our one year old day in her high chair but wanted to wander around the quiet restaurant for a couple of minutes until our food arrived. The proprietor came out to tell us that hot food was being carried around so children can't walk around. I agreed and stayed with my daughter between empty tables until another man came out to say again that children could not walk around. I explained I would be with her the whole time and she would sit as soon as the food came. The two tables that were occupied shook their heads and said they had no problem with the child walking between the empty tables. The proprietor continued to be unfriendly and we were left with no choice but to cancel our food and leave for a pub that was child friendly.

Date of visit: March 2018
4  Thank celimarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine C, Owner at Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Reading your review, I wanted to let you know that the Hare and Hounds is under new ownership. We are child and pet friendly and do hope you will visit us soon and have a more positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

 
Uckfield, East Sussex
 

Been to Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing