We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spa cafe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Headlam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

called in whilst cycling with a good friend and fellow restaurateur and wow, great sandwiches, great coffee, great cake, friendly staff. job well done.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Silohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend. Excellent value. Very comfortable clean room with balcony and lovely views. Superb spa, swimming pool, sauna, steam and outside hot jacuzzi all spotlessly clean. Helpful staff, service first class, great dinner and breakfast. All in all couldn't be better for a short break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the spa block so you just go in your robe straight to the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sports1mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Staying in Headlam Hall for a wedding was the perfect location. Beautiful rooms with fabulous views and the staff were very helpful and attentive to every need. After a very long journey extensive free parking adjacent to the hotel made for easy access and a quick check-in with porter to help with bags to our large en-suite room with a view. Free wi-fi was great. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were on hand all day and night if required. Very relaxing and enjoyable for the two nights we spent. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book early if possible as they appear to be allocated when booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here for one night in one of the deluxe suites above the spa which has a lovely balcony with amazing views. Very friendly staff who genuinely seem to want you to enjoy your stay. Our evening meal was delicious and the service was impeccable.
We went to the bar area for a drink during the afternoon and sat next to a huge log fire again the service was great and prices very reasonable.
We visited the spa the following morning which is fantastic.. Outdoor hot tub is a lovely way to start the day!!
After this we had a gorgeous breakfast and I can see why the Hotel has received awards for it. My husband had a full english and I had poached haddock with a poached egg. YUM YUM YUM..
I cannot recommend this hotel enough. You will not be disappointed if you visit and we will definately be back again.
I forgot to mention the gardens - BEAUTIFUL!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarlingtonWatsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Headlam Hall on the spring break package. Staff were great and very helpful. Spa facilities are excellent and are the best we've come across after staying at various other Hotel & Spa's in the North East.

The food was also very good, however the standard was better on the second evening, but I don't know whether this was because different chefs working on each evening.

We stayed in the "Gold Room" in the main building, and although it was very nice (four poster bed etc) it was a little "tired". The main problem however was the shower which was poor to say the least with no power. A wall mounted electric shower is what i would expect in a seaside guest house, not a luxury Hotel. This was reported to staff at the end of the stay and they did seem extremely concerned that there was a problem, so maybe we should have reported it straight away, but it wasn't enough to spoil the break.

The only other thing we found strange about the room was the Ironing board which was sticking out from the side of the wardrobe, with nowhere else to put it !!.

I would certainly recommend staying at Headlam Hall, but i would suggest that you go for the Spa rooms as these are modern and more luxurious than the main hall bedrooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FastEddieAltrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Had a wonderful 1 night stat at Headlam Hall, we booked for a Sunday night with an offer for 3 course meal inc.

From the moment we arrived staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

We were in a suite, even though we booked a deluxe room so that was a bonus. The room was very big, clean and homely. What needed to be modern and updated (the tv, bathroom) had been and everything else fitted into the style of the hotel.

We used to spa which was lovely, again very clean and looked after. The underfloor heating in the changing rooms was great. We enjoyed lounging on the chairs and even ordered some drinks to poolside- it was like being on holiday!

Evening meal was gorgeous! Very high standard and full of flavour.

Cannot wait to return.

Only thing to point out was there was no conditioner in the spa or room so would need to take your own ( there was shampoo).

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Medleymixture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

A bit of a squeeze driving down country lanes to get to hotel but greeted with ample free parking once there. Fabulous old building with sympathetic..ish extensions. Our room was situated above the spa but we were afforded a balcony as compensation with perfect view of surrounding grounds and beautiful countryside. Short walk across courtyard to restaurant could be awkward if raining but umbrellas provided beside each door. Although catering for a wedding party, hotel never felt crowded and only a short wait before free sauna, steam room and outside hot tub were vacated. Swimming pool bigger than looked on website and adult only timings allow avoidance of children if preferred. Room very spacious with air con which was needed as heat rose from spa below. Double bed was really 2 singles joined, which was disappointing. Food was to a high standard and wines reasonably priced. Orangery restaurant very airy and service was excellent although suprised that wine was left on our crowded table and had to refill glasses ourselves. Excellent range of foods for breakfast with endless top ups if requested. The only gripe we have is that Hedlam is nearly always fully booked!! Well done guys.

Room Tip: If you have to stay above spa area, ask for 1 of 2 balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentHelpful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headlam
24.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,536 reviews
4.5 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,398 reviews
17.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
11.7 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
457 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf

Address: Headlam DL2 3HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Headlam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Headlam
Price Range: £120 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star country house hotel with luxury spa and golf course. Set in beautiful gardens and surrounded by open countryside making an ideal rural retreat. Restaurant serving award winning 2 AA rosette food made with local produce and friendly professional service. Independent family owned and run hotel and farm. North East Small Hotel of the Year 2009/10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa And Golf
Headlam Hall Darlington
Headlam Hall Hotel Darlington
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing