We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining experience to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Headlam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My partner and I were looking forward to this dining experience but I don't think we were prepared for how fantastic it really was - such a different twist on a typical evening meal out. From start to finish we had exceptional service. The highlight being the chef coming out to serve each course and to personally explain how the food was cooked and explained a little about each one. The food was inspiring, thoughtful and simply delicious. We were very happy with how the evening flowed - not too rushed - not too slow, just right. Huge huge compliments to the chef for giving us this experience. Couldn't recommend it more.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rlane478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed here with a friend over a long weekend and have to say this is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at in a long time. I stay in lots of hotels around the world due to my job but none of them provide the charm and detail like Headlam Hall does. When we arrived we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who even printed out maps and gave us advance on things to do in the local area which was going above and beyond. The room itself was nicely decorated and full of small details like filter coffee, shoes stands and guest umbrellas which although are small details have disappeared from most mainstream hotel chains. This made Headlam Hall feel very homely and relaxing.
The hotel itself is a grand old building with lots of charm that has been lovingly updated to a modern hotel. We had drinks in the bar and just enjoyed listening to the pianist playing all evening. The grounds surrounding the hotel make this place extra special and offer the chance to enjoy nice walks in the morning or evening. The rose garden next to the bar offers a great place to enjoy a drink or cigarette outside. The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard. My only small complaint is that although the menu changes daily it was very similar on both nights of our stay. Not a problem though as it was still delicious each night.
I would highly recommend this hotel and just wish I had the opportunity to visit the North East and this hotel more often.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

An old Manor House (Hall) in a peaceful rural setting in deep Co Durham well off the A.1 (easy'ish to find) with a Golf Course beside it, walled gardens, a spacious room IN the Main House and big bed, & bathroom, and breakfast and 3-Course evening meal included for £200 seemed a no brainer. Newspaper, Bar & Beverages and Wines with Dinner were extras, obviously

Room was a delight. Up the flight of stairs and in a Wing of larger Rooms - we had 17 from memory, and I forget the name. Big bed, suite, TV, Wardrobe etc, Kettle for tea/coffee. Bathroom was either very old and dated or charmingly rustic, ancient, quirky and antique - each to their own. The uneven floors, doors that did not fit precisely, to us, just added to the quaint old Manor House feel.

Dinner was a good, pleasant meal, if nothing 'special, but we were on the Package. Breakfast - ditto. Waiting Service for both was OK.

Barmaid/server in the Bar was charming, pleasant, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

Gardens are terrific. We were lucky with the weather, so we could take an aperitif and wander round. Really quite spacious and a very pleasant stroll. Very children friendly, though none were there that evening.

Golf Course is a very short walk (3/4 mins) away and presented a tight 9-Hole challenge with some amusing features and water hazards. I do not recall the Green Fees, but do remember that it was quite reasonable and proved a great way to unwind and pass a couple of hours working up a healthy appetite

Having said all of that and rated it 'Good',but not Very Good or better, what else was there ?

Four Points, since you ask:

1. NOT everyone who visits Headlam Hall knows you offer Afternoon Tea and that your Restaurant is open to non-Residents, in addition to your being a Hotel, as the vast majority are not locals nor regulars. When Folks walk into Reception and confirm that they have a Reservation in the name of XYZ, responding with a "Duh" and doing a Vicki Pollard impersonation, whilst announcing that there are three options (as above) and "How am I supposed to know ?", did not go down well.

NOT an auspicious start. We were within a whisker of walking out. A hugely long drive to get here just intervened.

2. We asked for Directions to the Golf Club and sauntered over carrying Clubs etc, only to learn that they take Cash ONLY - No CCards, Debits cards or anything and NO Charging the Green Fee(s) to your Room. Fortunately I discovered a couple of notes deep in the bottom of my bag, otherwise I was faced with walking back to our Room for my wallet.

Big deal - No. Avoidable - Yes. Pertinent info in light of us being strangers to the Hotel and Golf Course (clue - as above and we asked for Directions) - absolutely. Simple.

3. Refresher on serving Wine at Dinner appeared called for.

4. Being woken at 06.10 by very loud music from the radio of the Fishmongers' delivery van was a very rude awakening, awful and completely avoidable.

Each relatively minor and simple to address, but equally they marred our 1st experience of Headlam Hall

We hope this review and our having the temerity to make those suggestions is appropriately received. As I said in the Title "potential to be Very Good or even Excellent".

We will seriously consider staying againif in that part of the World.

PS. Ensure every Member of staff knows How to give Directions to the A.1, heading either North or South - 'going the extra mile', as the saying goes

Room Tip: Only saw one Room, so feel unqualified to Comment. Did not use their Spa either so No Comments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My Wife arranged this visit for a birthday treat. As the Hotel is also a Spa I was slightly sceptical as I had never been to one before. I need not have worried as from the time we arrived on a very busy Sunday Lunch time the Staff could not have been more helpful.
We were taken to our room which was above the Spa by the Day Porter who explained the layout of the Hotel and method of access to the spa ,grounds and restaurant.
The menu for dinner and breakfast suited us fine with the ambiance of the building and the standard of the staff excellent.
Not to forget the 1/2 bottle of champagne which was on ice in the room.

Room Tip: If you intend using the Spa a room in this building is essential. Not far to walk in your Robe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syddor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We started staying at Headlam Hall a few years ago to break up the long drive from Scotland to South England. We've been consistently impressed with the quality and experience... one of these hotels where you can truly relax and enjoy company.

On our most recent visit (October 2013) we were running late due to ferry problems, and ended up arriving at 9.30pm for dinner... just the tail end of when they normally stop bookings. However, they couldn't have been more accommodating, realising we were in a frustrating situation and pulled out the stops to carry on as usual.

There's a great spa area, and the whole atmosphere of the place is welcoming. We will be back again next week and beyond.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGJR, Owner at Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

It is great to hear that we are one of your favourites and thank you for the positive comments. Hopefully when you next visit you will have enjoyed a better journey to get here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here for one night after a wedding , hotel room was lovely although the bathroom was a bit on the small side , Hotel has lovely features inc the drawing room with a lovely open fire , however only one draught German lager available in the bar which wasn't very nice , breakfast was al a carte and not the biggest .

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank plentysuncream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The weekend was perfect. From booking six rooms and enjoying the ten course taster menu. It was everything and more than we expected from a hotel we have not visited before.
It was a busy weekend for the hotel which did not affect the service both evening and breakfast.
Anne & Rob W

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGJR, Owner at Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Delighted that you had a good stay with us and your review is much appreciated by the team. Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headlam
24.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,576 reviews
17.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.5 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
21.1 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,212 reviews
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf

Address: Headlam DL2 3HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Headlam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Headlam
Price Range: £131 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star country house hotel with luxury spa and golf course. Set in beautiful gardens and surrounded by open countryside making an ideal rural retreat. Restaurant serving award winning 2 AA rosette food made with local produce and friendly professional service. Independent family owned and run hotel and farm. North East Small Hotel of the Year 2009/10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa And Golf
Headlam Hall Darlington
Headlam Hall Hotel Darlington
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing