We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit and still great. Strongly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Headlam
Certificate of Excellence
glos
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Second visit and still great. Strongly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in a junior suite above the spa. This was our second visit and the new spa area with pool sauna and steam room etc has been developed since we were last there. We used the pool both days and it was fairly quiet. The hotel does have allow membership but restricts the numbers. We didn't use the golf course but it looked good. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the dinner and service was of good quality. We found the staff very helpful

We got the distinct impression that the hotel is well looked after and that staff are pleased to work there and have a strong customer focus

Room Tip: Rooms in the spa section are more modern than those in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montyglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    153
    27
    14
    1
See reviews for
122
384
20
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North east
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I'll keep it brief. Although not cheap we were celebrating our 28th wedding anniversary so thought we'd go that little extra. Really glad that we did, this place is superb from the cleanliness of the rooms (we booked a junior suite), the grounds, the attitude of the staff, the facilities, but mostly because of the food. The evening meal was fantastic, no other word to describe it. We both agreed it was the best meal we have had for many a year, each course cooked perfectly, presented beautifully and tasted fab.
Will definitely be back

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank des2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Lovely welcome by a very nice chap called Brian, spotless rooms, amazing food, great service, gorgeous pool and hot tub,and the spa is sublime. The meal at night was stunning and the breakfast was beautiful. I felt so pampered and spoilt. I have already booked to stay again :-)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton-Le-Dale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Headlam Hall is not a cheap hotel but it is good value for money. The rooms and facilities are great, the restaurant is excellent and the staff are all local, friendly and helpful. The Spa is a nice add-on with a good gym and good-sized pool and the gardens are very pleasant to wander around in for some fresh air. It is definitely one of the most enjoyable and relaxing hotels we have stayed in and it is in a nice part of the country.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the main hall so cannot comment on the other rooms available but it is a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This place is total heaven to us, we married here and decided to return yet again for our anniversary and already the visit is perfect. The room is gorgeous and still all the same smiling staff whom never change. If you are looking for personal treatment look no further.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynwaxmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Everything here is top quality, lovely old hall beautifully furnished, friendly helpful and attentive staff, comfortable bedrooms, fabulous facilities, wonderful walled gardens and the most amazing food, still can't believe the incredible flavours of the stone bass indian style, has to be the best food I have ever tasted. Every effort seems to have been made by the owners to ensure that the comfort of the guests is paramount, and they have done a brilliant job. Hoping we can manage another stay later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I have been to spa days here before but never stayed over until now. I would thoroughly recommend it. The building is 17th century, very well looked after and tastefully decorated. I booked online but spoke to reception to book a table in the restaurant and when I stated it was for our wedding anniversary was told, "let me see what I can do", then was told she had upgraded our room. When we arrived we were given a lovely welcome and given a guided tour to our room by Brian the Day Porter. We were in the Garth Suite! A very acceptable upgrade. Thank you!
We spent some time in the spa which has a very relaxing atmosphere and good facilities. Again we received a friendly welcome.
Later we enjoyed a lovely meal in the Orangery restaurant, followed by coffee and drinks in the lounge/bar.
Breakfast (again in the Orangery) was delicious. The poached eggs were cooked perfectly. Hubby really enjoyed his full breakfast.
The gardens are beautiful too and the whole experience, although far too short, was wonderful.
We will be back!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The Garth Suite was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolate_Girl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headlam
4.5 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,033 reviews
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
17.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
15.5 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf

Property: Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Address: Headlam DL2 3HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Headlam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Headlam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star country house hotel with luxury spa and golf course. Set in beautiful gardens and surrounded by open countryside making an ideal rural retreat. Restaurant serving award winning 2 AA rosette food made with local produce and friendly professional service. Independent family owned and run hotel and farm. North East Small Hotel of the Year 2009/10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa And Golf
Headlam Hall Darlington
Headlam Hall Hotel Darlington
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing