We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and a surprisingly good stay with 2 young children” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Headlam
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and a surprisingly good stay with 2 young children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We enjoyed a throughly enjoyable 2 days (1 night) sat at Headlam Hall with our 4 & 6 year old boys. Upon arriving at the hotel early afternoon we received a very warm welcome and were shown to our room by a very cheery and helpful porter. We were free to use the Pool and spa facilities between 4pm & 5.30pm and 8am to 9am during our mid-week stay which is a fantastic facility the kids loved. The grounds and gardens are beautifully maintained which the children enjoyed exploring before going for a swim. Dinner was fantastic and as well as the children's menu any of the main courses from he La Carte menu were available as half portion for the kid with our eldest enjoying a lovely salmon dish. The food and wine was excellent and very reasonably priced for the quality on offer. The bottle of Cote de Vontoux was first rate at around £23. We had a family room in the coach house and the only criticism we could make was the bathroom was a little pokey. Other than that the room itself was a good size, tastefully decorated and had a double bed, a single and a fold up bed. On our final day we had a pre-breakfast swim with the kids at 8am and then a really tasty cooked and continental breakfast at 9.30am. We then picked up one of the hotel's leaflets that highlighted a selection of walks out from the hotel and gave a short 1/2 hr one a try to wear of some of the excesses of dinner the night before. All in all a fantastic stay that worked much better than we could have ever hoped for with the kids with all of the staff being super friendly and welcoming towards us & the children. We'll be back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    152
    27
    14
    1
See reviews for
121
379
20
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband & I live locally to this wonderful hotel so, whilst never having had the opportunity to for an overnight stay, we have experienced a number of the hotel's facilities. The evening meals are fantastic and the staff are very attentive. The hotel sits in the beautiful location of Teesdale and has its own attractive gardens. We can also recommend the New Year's Evedinner dance, it is well worth the money, as is the taster menu experience. The Spa is also worth a visit for some relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfiedog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

A lovely hotel for a family. We stayed in a 4 poster family room which had a separate bedrooms or the children. This room also has it's own en-suite

The hotel, grounds and spa are beautiful. We were well cared for throughout out three day stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Railwayunicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glos
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in a junior suite above the spa. This was our second visit and the new spa area with pool sauna and steam room etc has been developed since we were last there. We used the pool both days and it was fairly quiet. The hotel does have allow membership but restricts the numbers. We didn't use the golf course but it looked good. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the dinner and service was of good quality. We found the staff very helpful

We got the distinct impression that the hotel is well looked after and that staff are pleased to work there and have a strong customer focus

Room Tip: Rooms in the spa section are more modern than those in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montyglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North east
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I'll keep it brief. Although not cheap we were celebrating our 28th wedding anniversary so thought we'd go that little extra. Really glad that we did, this place is superb from the cleanliness of the rooms (we booked a junior suite), the grounds, the attitude of the staff, the facilities, but mostly because of the food. The evening meal was fantastic, no other word to describe it. We both agreed it was the best meal we have had for many a year, each course cooked perfectly, presented beautifully and tasted fab.
Will definitely be back

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank des2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Lovely welcome by a very nice chap called Brian, spotless rooms, amazing food, great service, gorgeous pool and hot tub,and the spa is sublime. The meal at night was stunning and the breakfast was beautiful. I felt so pampered and spoilt. I have already booked to stay again :-)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton-Le-Dale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Headlam Hall is not a cheap hotel but it is good value for money. The rooms and facilities are great, the restaurant is excellent and the staff are all local, friendly and helpful. The Spa is a nice add-on with a good gym and good-sized pool and the gardens are very pleasant to wander around in for some fresh air. It is definitely one of the most enjoyable and relaxing hotels we have stayed in and it is in a nice part of the country.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the main hall so cannot comment on the other rooms available but it is a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headlam
4.5 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,001 reviews
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
17.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
15.8 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf

Property: Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Address: Headlam DL2 3HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Headlam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Headlam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star country house hotel with luxury spa and golf course. Set in beautiful gardens and surrounded by open countryside making an ideal rural retreat. Restaurant serving award winning 2 AA rosette food made with local produce and friendly professional service. Independent family owned and run hotel and farm. North East Small Hotel of the Year 2009/10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa And Golf
Headlam Hall Darlington
Headlam Hall Hotel Darlington
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing