We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The taste of the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Eden arms

Eden arms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The taste of the sea”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Second visit to Eden Arms, different menu, great choice. I went for the mixed grill and oh boy was it worth it, the meats where fantastic and tasty. The beloved wife is not a big meat eater and went for one of her favorit grilled sea bass, she was over the moon, she said it was 1 of the best she had ever had. The chef came over to talk to us, which is always nice, a bit of a personal touch.
We highly recommend the Edam Arms - well done.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 249JJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davpc20577, Owner at Eden arms, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Many thanks for your review, we're are so glad you decided to visit us again and that it was an enjoyable experience. We do our best to make our service friendly and keep our standards consistent. We would like to thank you for your visit and take this opportunity to let you know that unfortunately from Friday 25th July until Monday 4th August our kitchen we will be closed for essential maintenance. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause, however our bar will be open as usual for drinks. Many thanks again Dave & Loraine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    26
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, ale and wine. ”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Came over the road from the Manor House Hotel as had seen it to be a bit of a trend on trip adviser.
We found the staff friendly and attentive.
We had a pint of London Pride from before the meal and could tell the beer lines are well maintained. Most day that Pride only tastes good in London but this was really nice pint.
The food we had (pate and steak with blue cheese sauce) was absolutely beautiful and the Argentinian Malbec we had with it was top noch.
The only possible improvements could be the decor but I see this is on their to do list from an earlier review. Some dimmer switches for the lights would be a fairly cheap and easy way to start though.
With such good wine, a cheese board wouldn't go a miss.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davpc20577, Owner at Eden arms, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi myself Dave (chef) and my wife Loraine would like to thank you for your visit and for taking the time to review our pub. We're glad that you enjoyed your food, wine and ales as we take pride in trying to provide a quality experience for our customers. Im sorry that you were not offered a cheese board as a dessert option as we always have one available with a selection of good yorkshire cheeses, however i will bring this to the attention of our staff for future reference. Many thanks again for your visit and review and hope to see you again some time in the future. yours gratefully Dave and Loraine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fresh and Friendly!!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We were staying at the nearby Manor and found the Eden on TA - what a find!
The welcome from locals and staff was warm, the wine and beer was well prices and the FOOD!!!
You can select from the pub menu or the Daily Specials board. There is also an earlybird £11.50 for 2 courses before 5.
All food is freshly prepared and cooked by the owner/chef David.
I started with the fishcakes which were light, utterly melt in the mouth delicious and had a delightfully dressed salad garnished with finely sliced radish and spring onion. My partner had chicken pate with a heavenly caramellised onion marmalade chutney.
Mains: mine was Red Thai Curry with great rice and lovely coriander nans. His was the Sirloin special with a Stilton, mushroom and red onion sauce served as it should be in its own huge boat! Homecooked chips were amazing!
Portions were generous so we reall didn't have room for pudding but who could resist homemade strawberry shortcake?! Not me!
The perfect end to an amazing meal! With Prosecco at £15 the bill was also a pleasant surprise
Cannot fault this smashing local and wish we didn't live at the other end of the UK!
Chef and lovely lass behind the bar were attentive without being intrusive and the locals welcomed us so we got stuck into large shorts and stayed to watch the footy.
Thankyou to David and team for getting it SO right!

Helpful?
Thank ChrisiAnneNewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davpc20577, Owner at Eden arms, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi thank you for taking the time to review our pub. I'm so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and its was lovely to get to speak to you at the end of the night. I hope you that if your ever in the area again you will call in for another visit. Many thanks again Dave and Loraine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Visited twice in a fortnight but won't be the last”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

My sister and I came for a quick lunch last Wednesday and really enjoyed it so decided to call in for Sunday lunch, mmm it was lovely, perfect portion, very tender beef, home made yorkies and crispy roasties! One preference from me would be to serve choppy mint salad but will defo be back soon.. girl behind bar that served us both time was lovely, friendly and welcoming..

Helpful?
1 Thank samboandbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Called in as l saw the good reviews on TA and did not want the usual boring chain restaurant food usually attached to a certain hotel chain when travelling. A good move indeed, l had the breaded fish cakes for starters which were served on top of a lovely fresh salad incorporating radish and chopped spring onion. I had the Liver and black pudding with homemade chips for main which was delicious. Real home made/home cooked food, just what's needed on travels.

Helpful?
2 Thank ASevenX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eden arms also viewed

 
Bishop Auckland, Durham
Bishop Auckland, Durham
 

Been to Eden arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing