We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommend”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed here having got a great deal with Living Social.. Very friendly and extremely helpful staff. Fantastic breakfast. Made the most of the swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Had lovely treatments too. Couldn't fault it. Would thoroughly recommend. Thank you for getting my little girl and I's half term holiday off to a great start.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    311
    156
    109
    75
See reviews for
158
421
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed here earlier this week having got a great deal with Living Social. All the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. Would fully recommend it to anyone. The breakfast was fantastic. We made the most of the swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. We also had lovely treatments. Full marks. Thank you so much for getting my little girls and I's half term holidays off to a brilliant start.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Caroline H,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you and your daughter had an excellent time with us. I will pass your kind comments on to all of the staff, and we look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Took my daughter here for a spa day treat for the half term with a living social voucher, we had a really lovely time. We were welcomed by a lovely guy at spa area who was very helpful. The pool area could do with a lick of paint but it didn't spoil anything, we enjoyed the sauna and steam room also. We had hot chocolate with warm cookies in the hotel itself which is a lovely building, we returned here for our lunch which was sandwiches, and broth. There was so much food, the sandwiches came with salad, homemade coleslaw and crisps,and homemade broth, they were all lovely. Our treatments were excellent too, couldn't fault our day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burnmoorcricketfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Burnmoorcricketfan,

Thankyou for the review of your recent spa day at The Manor House Hotel and Spa

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your day with us.

I will pass your kind words onto our kitchen, and spa staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

When we walked in it was a bit dark and dingy the staff were friendly but even though its an old building its very dark looking no effort with decor!
When going into our room (ten) the corridor smells awful got into our room it was a bit disappointing the bed squeeked with every move you made the telly was in a funny place but the bathroom is lovely but no conditioner for hair.
You could also here every move the people made upstairs.
the meal on the night was gorgeous!!! And the health spa was small but nice and clean and costs nothing!
Although in the morning the breakfast was disappointing no sugar on tables for your tea and coffee took ages to get some because staff are so busy and I ordered a simple bacon sandwidge no butter on bread bacon was hardly cooked and I like mine rare! And the bread was stale. Overall okay stay wouldn't return unless for a meal!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Kate B,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at The Manor House Hotel. Guest feedback is very important to us, and it is only with guest comments that we can strive to improve the guest experience.

I am sorry that the dark decor of the main reception area was not to your taste, and you found it dark and dingy. As you mention, it is an old building, and we try to retain the historic character.

I also apologise that you were not satisfied with your room. Room 10 is one of our four poster suites, and is usually very popular with guests.

I have spoken to our restaurant manager regarding your issues with breakfast, the lack of sugar and the time it took to order. This is not the usual standard here at the hotel, however thank you for your kind comments regarding dinner in the restaurant and the spa facilites.

I hope that you will one day let us restore your faith in the manor house. Should you wish to discuss your concerns any further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on the hotel telephone number.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shields
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my sister for a Spa break that she was bought as a Christmas Present. We had a right carry on trying to book up at a time that suited us and ended up having to pay extra for a 4 poster bedroom and having to have our treatments on the day that we were leaving.

We arrived after 7pm and parked in the car park to the rear right of the building, which was easy enough to find, but trying to navigate our way back to the hotel reception was a nightmare. There was absolutely no lighting in place and we ended up using our phones to avoid any mud or pot holes. Watch the step on the way into the hotel - I tripped on the way in and my sister did on the way out!

Check-in was fast and efficient and the staff were lovely. We were asked if we wanted to make reservations for dinner and we should have as there isn't much nearby (except a Spar) and we ended up coming back to the hotel to eat in the restaurant. It was very nice and we both enjoyed our meal. Again, the satff were very polite. We had a drink in what I guess was the lounge (we didn't realise that the bar was across the courtyard) it was very relaxing but there was a serious lack of atmosphere. A little bit of piped music wouldn't go amiss.

Our 4 poster bedroom was a great size with a very comfortable bed, flat screen tv and large bathroom with a bath and shower. The hotel provided tea and coffee making facilities, some toiletries and a hairdrier.

Breakfast was as expected, nothing groubndbreaking but nice all the same. Cold continental breakfast and a choice of hot breakfasts cooked to order. Again, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Before we checked out we went for our spa treatments. What a disappointment. We both had a back, neck and shoulder massage and we weren't seen to in the spa. We both had our treatments in a twin bedroom - room number 19, on a very old unsteady table without a face hole. Every time the therapist went up or down my back the table moved which wasn't very relaxing and I could hear the loud dance music from the (empty) gym below. The massage was lovely and I couldn't fault the therapist but the surroundings completely spoiled it.

It's good to note that there is no Wi-Fi at all - or, at least, I couldn't pick any up. I can't believe that a hotel doesn't offer free Wi-fi (or even chargeable) anywhere in the hotel. Especially since there isn't really much to do nearby!

The hotel is very quirky, interesting and full of old english charm. Lovely for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunkymonkey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

We had a living social deal that was very good value so wasn't expected too much we booked for the treatments but after reading reviews on here we thought we were in for a treat. Our sparkling wine and strawberries were not ready on arrival we had to ask for them but the fruit man hadn't been yet. The staff were really friendly in the spa and the spa area was nicer than I expected. We enjoyed using the facilities. The treatments were a big let down. My massage was only 15 minutes and my neck hurt afterwards. I wasn't in a proper treatment room it was a hotel room and the massage bed did not have a face hole in but a pillow on. I didn't realise until afterwards that this was what must've caused it. I had a cricked neck all afternoon and night. When I had my second treatment I told the girl and she said she would work on my neck during the facial which she did for a little bit but the facial was only 20 minutes. The two people I was with said their treatments were ok. I felt worse than before after mine. not relaxed at all. The other annoying thing was lunch. We chose our time for lunch and preordered but it was about 50 minutes late. It tasted nice though. Probably wont be going back.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank emmylou30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear emmylou30,

Thank you for your review on your spa day at The Manor House Hotel. Guest feedback is very important to us, and it is only with guest comments that we can strive to improve the business.

May I first apologise for your sparkling wine and dipped strawberries were not ready for you on arrival. I am sorry for the delay.

I am sorry you felt that your treatments were not relaxing. I have had nothing but good comments about our beauty therapists, and will discuss this with the Beauty Manager. However, I am pleased to hear that your friends enjoyed theirs.

Once again, I am sorry for the delay with your lunch, this is not the normal standard at The Manor House, but thank you for your kind comments regarding the food.

I hope that you will one day let us restore your faith in the manor house. Should you wish to discuss your concerns any further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on the hotel telephone number.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Auckland hotels

Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night and wasn't sure what to make of the place. It didn't get off to a good start with the well hidden step at the front door, but then a really nice warm welcome from the staff made up for it. My room was clean and well turned out, a fantastic hot shower in the ensuite with gallons of water, brilliant! The bed was comfy and warm though the pillows were slightly on the hard side. The evening meal in the bar over the courtyard was tasty and very reasonable, again friendly staff and pleasant atmosphere. Breakfast was a little bit of a challenge, trying to find the restaurant in the rabbit warren, then trying to find someone to arrange breakfast was disappointing. This was made up for though with very polite an pleasant service and good food. Next time I intend to make the most of the facilities there.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ACammyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Dear ACammyB,

Thankyou for the review of your recent stay at The Manor House Hotel and Spa. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay.

Im sorry that you had difficulty locating the restaurant for breakfast, but that was made up for with the food and good service.

I will pass your comments onto all of the staff here at the hotel, and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Auckland
4.2 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,029 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
9.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: Front Street | The Green, West Auckland DL14 9HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > West Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House Hotel is a quintessential Jacobean grade one listed hotel, with 35 comfortably furnished and well equipped bedrooms, all offering free use of our Health Club. The Restaurant serves fresh, seasonal & local food to residents and non-residents alike. The hotel is also an ideal venue for weddings, conferences & events for up to 120 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Hotel Durham/West Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing