We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our perfect wedding day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We booked the Manor House for our wedding reception, and had no regrets at all from our choice of venue.

From the moment we first made enquiries up until we checked out the morning after the wedding the experience was amazing.

Service levels from all staff were phenomenal, even to the point of running the groom home to get a disc of the first dance music, and serving us food at 3am after everyone else had left, examples of going the extra mile.

The food for both meals at the reception and the breakfast the next day were simply excellent, no bad points, all perfectly prepared and served.

The suite we picked was well furnished, spacious, and very comfortable,

We are looking forward to visiting again for our first wedding anniversary in the summer.

Room Tip: Top floor suites are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme_T-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Graeme_T-S

Thank you for taking the time to review your special day at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that we were able to help make your wedding day perfect.

I have passed your kind comments on to our staff, and our wedding co ordinator, who are delighted that you had a good day.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary!

Kind Regards

James Hart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

Recently bought a deal though LivingSocial to spend a spa day at The Manor House Hotel with two beauty treatments.The beauty therapists made us feel so at home and relaxed and we throughly enjoyed our day. So pleased i bought this offer and would totally recommend any deals in the further with both companies. HUGE THUMBS UP. Two very happy relaxed ladies!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaylzH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear HaylzH,

Thank you for the review of your recent spa day at the Manor House Hotel & Spa.

I am delighted that you had a relaxing and enjoyable day with us, and enjoyed your spa treatments.

I have passed your kind comments on to our beauticians.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Hart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Positive Points:

Quaint, quite charming, old fashioned hotel.
Value for money on £39 special deal
Spacious double bedroom
Clean bathroom
Free Wi-Fi in lounge
Excellent massage in Spa
Very good meal in restaurant
Decent, well-priced wine list
All staff encountered were very pleasant and helpful

Negative Points:

Many public areas and bedroom in need of minor repairs and maintenance
No Wi-Fi in bedroom
Bedroom had some dust and cobwebs
Small seating area poolside and area in need of some repairs/maintenance
Ordered tea on arrival in lounge – arrived cold and had to be replaced
No hot water for bath or shower on Saturday evening
Average cooked breakfast that was barely luke warm
A surprise bottle of wine was ordered and paid for by a relative to be put in bedroom for our arrival – this was not given to us until we checked out.

Overall, not a bad stay but let down by lack of attention to detail on negative points mentioned. Would consider staying again at the price paid (£39 B&B) but not at full price as this would not have been value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Booked a special offer through Living Social, fab price and value for money.
I was given an upgrade by a very pleasant receptionist.
Beautician couldn't of done more for me.
Gorgeous meal .
Would definitely recommend, manageress was fantastic !
.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 10JET1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear 10JET1,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that once again you had a fantastic stay with us. It is great to see guests regularly returning to the hotel!!

I have passed your kind comments on to our manager and all of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind Regards

James Hart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Recently stayed at the hotel and loved the charm and the character of the place. We stayed in a lovely room, old but we prefer this to modern. The reception was quaint and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. We explored the village which was lovely and then had a swim, sauna and a relaxing massage in the spa. The Spa room was lovely and our therapist was very good and told us to take our time when leaving. Sometimes i feel that i am being rushed out of a treatment room, not so here. We had the choice of a drink in the lounge area or a nice pub type bar in the courtyard before having a meal in the very tastefully decorated restaurant. The meal was lovely and the view from the wall to wall window into the privte gardens was great. We did peep into the Knights Hall which would be a fabulous venue for a wedding reception or indeed any party. All in all an excellent stay. Thank you to all the staff who made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Elsie S,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had an excellent time, and that you appreciated the old characteristics of the building.

I have passed your kind comments regarding your treatments onto our beauticians who are as pleased as I am that you had a great time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

James Hart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Had a recent weekend overnight at this hotel with my wife - an anniversary gift from the in-laws. What a great stay! We were given a really large room to the front that overlooked the hotel gardens & village green. The hotel is steeped with character and had a certain cosy charm that we loved. Meal in the restaurant on the night was lovely and they have their own little pub/bar across the courtyard which was so cute! At breakfast we sat next to the large windows and fully appreciated the morning sunlight lighting the restaurant with full views to the gardens. Have no problems recommending this to anyone - we will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianspratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear ianspratt,

Thank you for review of your recent stay with us here at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had a great stay with us.

I have passed your kind comments on to all management and staff.

I am pleased to read that you will certainly be coming back to the hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind Regards

James Hart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

For Mothers day my daughter and granddaughter treated me to an afternoon spa day. When we arrived at the spa we were given a glass of champagne and strawberries whilst the beauticians explained what different treatments we could have. We decided to upgrade to the shellac polish for my daughter and I opted of the hot stone massage both of which were well worth the money at only £5 extra each. Included in the spa day deal was a light lunch over in the restaurant although the menu was quite small we all found something we were happy with and really enjoyed our lunch. After having another glass of wine we spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing by the pool and chatting in the Jacuzzi. Value for money this was an excellent afternoon thoroughly enjoyed by all three of us and will certainly consider doing this or another spa day again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneGraney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Auckland
4.2 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,348 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
814 reviews
3.9 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
9.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
11.7 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Address: Front Street | The Green, West Auckland DL14 9HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > West Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
Price Range: £44 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House Hotel is a quintessential Jacobean grade one listed hotel, with 35 comfortably furnished and well equipped bedrooms, all offering free use of our Health Club. The Restaurant serves fresh, seasonal & local food to residents and non-residents alike. The hotel is also an ideal venue for weddings, conferences & events for up to 120 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Hotel Durham/West Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing