We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gen in a strangely mixed town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A gen in a strangely mixed town”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I used to live in Bishop Auckland, and was catching up on old times. The Manor House stood out as a good place to stay, even in Durham planning has not treated West Auckland well.

The Manor is a 600 year-old gem! And the present management has tried its hardest to reflect this. The bed was luxurious, the food and drink excellent for the price. The environment incomparable. And it was glorious to find an hotel that was not over-heated!!

On the down side, there are many small instances where the Manor is let down by lack of attention to detail. Our bath and shower had very mimited flow of hot water, matched by a semi-blocked shower drain. The tiling above the bath had been carried out by an amateur, and the curtain rail listed badly!

However, the Manor is such a glorious place, and SW Durham hospitality was so much as I wanted (and expected) it to be, that the stay was just great. Staff who were pleased to be serving customers made the experience complete.

Room Tip: Go for broke, enjoy the four-posters!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilPick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear NeilPick,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the features and character of the building.

May I offer my sincere apologies for the problems you encountered with your shower, and I have spoken to our maintenance team, who assure me this will be sorted. However I am glad this did not taint your experience at the hotel.

I have passed your kind comments regarding the staff onto our team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    329
    163
    113
    81
See reviews for
166
447
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Very friendly young staff.Food passable though plain otherwise hotel is slightly tired though very clean .Does not quite pull off the country house hotel effect,but very relaxed and relaxing ambience.Very good value - no fancy prices.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisStaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear ChrisStaly,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Manor House Hotel.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have passed your kind comments regarding the staff on to our team.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We recently bought a 'groupon' offer which was a fantastic deal.
The hotel has everything you want, steam room, sauna, pool.
Excellent restaurant which we dined in on the evening and the following morning for breakfast.
stable bar is very relaxing which lots of locals go to.
All staff were pleasant, would recommend if you want something a little different. A charming quirky hotel with lots of character. If you want a modern, clinical spa this is not for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nettycrawshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear nettycrawshaw,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had an excellent time, and enjoyed making use of our restaurant and spa.

I have passed your kind comments on to our staff, who look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We booked the Manor House for our wedding reception, and had no regrets at all from our choice of venue.

From the moment we first made enquiries up until we checked out the morning after the wedding the experience was amazing.

Service levels from all staff were phenomenal, even to the point of running the groom home to get a disc of the first dance music, and serving us food at 3am after everyone else had left, examples of going the extra mile.

The food for both meals at the reception and the breakfast the next day were simply excellent, no bad points, all perfectly prepared and served.

The suite we picked was well furnished, spacious, and very comfortable,

We are looking forward to visiting again for our first wedding anniversary in the summer.

Room Tip: Top floor suites are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme_T-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Graeme_T-S

Thank you for taking the time to review your special day at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that we were able to help make your wedding day perfect.

I have passed your kind comments on to our staff, and our wedding co ordinator, who are delighted that you had a good day.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary!

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Recently bought a deal though LivingSocial to spend a spa day at The Manor House Hotel with two beauty treatments.The beauty therapists made us feel so at home and relaxed and we throughly enjoyed our day. So pleased i bought this offer and would totally recommend any deals in the further with both companies. HUGE THUMBS UP. Two very happy relaxed ladies!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaylzH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear HaylzH,

Thank you for the review of your recent spa day at the Manor House Hotel & Spa.

I am delighted that you had a relaxing and enjoyable day with us, and enjoyed your spa treatments.

I have passed your kind comments on to our beauticians.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Positive Points:

Quaint, quite charming, old fashioned hotel.
Value for money on £39 special deal
Spacious double bedroom
Clean bathroom
Free Wi-Fi in lounge
Excellent massage in Spa
Very good meal in restaurant
Decent, well-priced wine list
All staff encountered were very pleasant and helpful

Negative Points:

Many public areas and bedroom in need of minor repairs and maintenance
No Wi-Fi in bedroom
Bedroom had some dust and cobwebs
Small seating area poolside and area in need of some repairs/maintenance
Ordered tea on arrival in lounge – arrived cold and had to be replaced
No hot water for bath or shower on Saturday evening
Average cooked breakfast that was barely luke warm
A surprise bottle of wine was ordered and paid for by a relative to be put in bedroom for our arrival – this was not given to us until we checked out.

Overall, not a bad stay but let down by lack of attention to detail on negative points mentioned. Would consider staying again at the price paid (£39 B&B) but not at full price as this would not have been value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Booked a special offer through Living Social, fab price and value for money.
I was given an upgrade by a very pleasant receptionist.
Beautician couldn't of done more for me.
Gorgeous meal .
Would definitely recommend, manageress was fantastic !
.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 10JET1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear 10JET1,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that once again you had a fantastic stay with us. It is great to see guests regularly returning to the hotel!!

I have passed your kind comments on to our manager and all of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Auckland
4.2 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,199 reviews
3.9 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
7.8 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
9.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: Front Street | The Green, West Auckland DL14 9HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > West Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House Hotel is a quintessential Jacobean grade one listed hotel, with 35 comfortably furnished and well equipped bedrooms, all offering free use of our Health Club. The Restaurant serves fresh, seasonal & local food to residents and non-residents alike. The hotel is also an ideal venue for weddings, conferences & events for up to 120 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Hotel Durham/West Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing