We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Relaxing day”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I was treated to a spa. Day by my best friend which proved to be a great experience . The hotel is very old but still has lots of character and quirkiness. The back and neck massage was very relaxing and the towels and robes sort and fluffy . The pool facilities were also good. We had a twin room in main hotel overlooking the front gardens ,tastefully decorated and very comfortable.the restaurant was very pleasant and airy and the quality of food excellent. All staff were very friendly and helpful . With a choice of bars and a gym covered all our needs.

Room Tip: Make sure you book all spa treatments needed in advance as they were soon booked up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Barbara M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent spa day at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had a relaxing and enjoyable day with us.

I have passed your lovely comments on to the management team and all of the staff.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    323
    157
    111
    75
See reviews for
162
433
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just got back from an overnight stay. This was my 2nd visit to this hotel. The first was a spa day earlier on in the year with the girls! Then a return with the hubby for a pamper treat, both booked with living social and most excellent value for money.
I was eager to see what the hotel accommodation was like. Upon arrival at the hotel reception we were given an alternative room! A lovely 4 poster bed large room ensuite in the old manor house itself. The deal we bought included B & B for 2. Back, shoulder and neck massages, full access to spa facilities a free bottle of wine with a 2 course meal purchased at hotel restaurant
I wasn't disappointed, in fact pleasantly impressed. Looks like a lot of funds have been reinvested, since my first visit there is a marked improvement in the presentation of all aspects of the hotel. It's an ancient building with a homely feel the staff are so pleased to see you.
So glad we stayed and experienced this mysterious building, go see for yourself!
Would go back for a longer stay and explore the local area!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roynaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Roynaa,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that once again you had an enjoyable time with us, and made use of all of our facilities.

I have passed your kind comments on to the management team, and all of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd stay and was very good. We stayed in room 9 this time which was huge compared to the previous room we had in stable block. Only down side was this room was very hot one radiator would not turn off and one window would not open. Food was amazing and well worth the money. Will definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Rachel D,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay, and found the food to be amazing.

I have passed your kind comments on to the management team and all of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed my stay here. It was like staying in a stately home. I wanted to walk down the stairs in a long Edwardian dress! It dates from the 12th century so has wide shallow stairs complete with suit of armour. Yes, the floor boards creak and are maybe not level but this adds to the joy of the place. My room (33) was very spacious and very clean. I chose this hotel as it has the adjoining spa. (as I was alone I thought this would be a good time filler). Pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Although I only stayed 1 night, the area looks nice and I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and will definitely stay there again if in the area. I only had the continental breakfast, there was plenty choice but I don't feel I can comment on the food in general. I personally found it very warm and had to turn off the radiator in my room and open the window. I also heard others commenting on how it was too hot. (maybe the staff could turn the heating down 1 or 2 degrees and save themselves a few pounds).

Room Tip: I was in room 33. It overlooks the back of the hotel, at night there was slight noise from possibly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Examiner666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Examiner666,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay, and appreciated the historic character of the building.

I have passed your kind comments on to the management team, and all of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterlee, Co. Durham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

After reading the mixed reviews didn't really know what to expect, but from the moment we arrived till we left, I felt the staff really made us feel welcome .. Daniel showed us around was very polite, friendly and helpful we ordered coffee and cake before we entered the spa.. once in the spa the décor is a little tired and needs some attention.
We had a very nice meal in the hotel and then our treatments started I had back and shoulder massage and nail file and polish with Claire my massage was one of the best I have had and lovely file and polish .. Claire was very friendly and professional.
As we bought this on a special offer it was worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Cath196,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent spa day at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable day, and found the staff friendly and professional.

I have passed your kind comments on to all of the staff and the management team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

we stayed over night whilst child free. the room was nice and staff friendly. however, noisey doors slamming at 5am meant i didnt get back to sleep. had a bath and saw i had 5 bites on my leg, like mosquito bites, very itchy.....bad drain smell too. food was bland and cutlery needs replacing. would not eat there again. i am suffering with these bites, perhaps bedding needs attention.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kezzababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaThomas, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear kezzababe,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Manor House Hotel. I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay.

May I first of all apologise that you heard banging of doors at 5am. We have put some new hinges on the public doors to ensure they close more gently for future guests.

With regards to the comments about the linen, I can assure you that the linen is laundered by a professional laundry company, however I will pass your comments on to them. We have not received any other complaints of this nature.

I have passed your comments on to the management team and all of the staff. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

i came for my 30th in February had a great time so decided to stay again for my friends birthday this weekend 26th April for 1 night we stayed in a twin room in the main hotel room 33 it was a great spaces room which was clean n beds were really comfy. we had a 3 course meal which was beautiful i had the chicken goujons for starter and my friend had tomato and basil soup was nice for main i had the mixed grill and my friend had lasagna and we both had portiterroles with salted caramel sauce for dessert they were to die for yum yum we stayed for a Sunday 3 course meal that was nice too the staff were great and friendly but want to thank Gary the chef the most cause i have food allergy's and he sorted what i could eat ect which he done the first time i stayed 5 star to him

Room Tip: room 33 for 2 people and room 27 for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhouse30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaThomas, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear madhouse30,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Manor House Hotel. I am delighted that once again you had a great time, and had lovely meals in the restaurant.

I have passed your kind comments on to the management team, and all of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Auckland
4.2 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,109 reviews
3.9 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.7 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
6.3 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
9.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: Front Street | The Green, West Auckland DL14 9HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > West Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House Hotel is a quintessential Jacobean grade one listed hotel, with 35 comfortably furnished and well equipped bedrooms, all offering free use of our Health Club. The Restaurant serves fresh, seasonal & local food to residents and non-residents alike. The hotel is also an ideal venue for weddings, conferences & events for up to 120 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Hotel Durham/West Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing