We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a trip for the good deal on Living Social”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Took advantage of the Living Social offer and at £75 for B&B plus 1/2 hour treatment for 2 good value for money. We were located in the old part of the manor house which has lots of character, receptionist very friendly and room clean with tea and coffee making facilities and nice view of gardens.

Not many in hotel that night so lounge, dining room etc virutally empty but had drinks and dinner a deux, steak well cooked and nice home made chips but as there were only two of us in dining room that night presentation left a lot to be desired, even a bowl on the side for the chips would have been preferable to them being tipped onto the plate, which resulted in them spilling onto the table when I tried to cut the steak, nothing major but small things do make a difference. Goats cheese and beetroot starter on rather wet salad again lacked presentation but really at this price cant expect The Ritz as another traveller stated.

Breakfast was ok, grapefruit had strange taste and my friend had to ask for her toast twice as it didn't arrive with her breakfast, white toast arrived when brown requested so had to wait again for the brown hence breakfast nearly finished when it finally arrived, maybe writing things down might help, it wasn't busy.

Spa treatment was fine nice back massage but my friend felt she didn't get the full half hour. Spa area although small looked fine jacuzzi, small pool, sauna etc. they are obviously making improvements all the time here and we would return, juding by the managements response to any negative comments made on TA they are acting on them which can only be good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
There are newer reviews for The Manor House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Manor House both Living Social deals. We were not able to take advantage of the spa treatments on both occasions however we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The Stables bar is a small quaint intimate bar and an excellent setting for pre meal drinks. The staff in the main hotel are friendly and welcoming and professional. Our meal in the restaurant was lovely. It was a thoroughly enjoyable night.

Our room out in the courtyard was clean warm and welcoming we will definitely go back and hopefully enjoy some spa treatments.

My only complaint would be breakfast the next morning.... the service was slow and even though we ordered our breakfast they brought out our tea and food and gave it to the table next to us!!! My husbands breakfast was dry which we think was as a result of it being kept warm whilst they made my eggs benedict.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the main hotel and out in the courtyard both rooms were comfortable and clean when...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon17Teesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I think the reviewers of this hotel have a been a bit harsh and unfair.
The hotel is set in a fairly run down part of Durham but the hotel has charm and the staff really do their best to look after you.
I have been three times as part of Living Social deals and for £75 for two - bed breakfast and two spa treatments it would be churlish to expect the Ritz.
The hotel is very old and has uneven floors, interesting rooms and old comfy chairs in the lounge.
The restaurant usually presents great tasty food and is excellent value for money.
The bedrooms in the courtyards are spotlessly clean and comfortable.
The reviews are right about the heat in the bedrooms and after checking the reviews I did bring a fan and was very pleased I did.
We mentioned this to the reception staff who took up comments on board.
The receptionist were welcoming and Had our bags taken to our rooms while we were having our spa treatments.
Lunch was lovely but we did feel for the staff as the manager had let some go home and then they had a rush. One poor girl was running a round trying to accommodate all guests who had tight deadlines to fit round their treatments.
This was not the fault if the staff, it was down to the management.
If a hotel take advantage of Living Social type deals,,they must take the hit in staff costs to cope with the rush.
The evening meal was disappointing compared to the two previous occasions. The steak was not cooked to our taste and my goats cheese came with a pickled beetroot salad!
The breakfasts are great and I can vouch for the Eggs Benedict.
We really like this quirky hotel and think we will continue to come here when Living Social offer a deal as it is great value for money and you are very well looked after.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Went on a mid week spa day with a friend. The guy who greeted us was absolutely lovely and gave us the warmest of welcomes. He explained everything to us then off we went with our fluffy robes. Sun was shining so we lazed outside. Two hours of treatments .... Indian head massage, full body massage and a facial. Therapist was slim and blonde .... Wish I could remember her name, but she turned my brain to mush .... Not been that relaxed for a long time. Everyone we saw was raving about the treatments and the quality of the therapists. Lunch was good .... Again excellent service in the restaurant from warm professional staff. Would definitely recommend ... Mainly based on the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We booked a living social deal for my husbands birthday as the reviews were quite good! Nearer the time we checked the reviews again and were shocked to see some really bad reviews. As it was booked we decided to make the most of it. On arrival after waiting to be checked in we were given our keys. We found our room and were shocked to find it was dirty, the bed wasn't made, coffee cups and glasses were dirty and bins were full. We were on our way back to reception when the young girl on reception came running towards us with another key! When we eventually were shown the correct room it was as expected, nothing extravagant, old, but not too bad.
We had a 25 minute treatment as part of the deal and asked if this could be upgraded but were told this wasn't possible. Although short the treatments were good and staff friendly and professional. The pool etc was nice but again, nothing special.
Our evening meal and breakfast were nice, the restaurant was clean and nicely decorated. The rest of the hotel however was lacking in atmosphere and we returned to our room for an early night!
Luckily we had a surprise BBQ planned for my husband when we returned home as the hotel break was very average!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank joannelovesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Have just returned from a fab Spa Day with another friend. We arrive around 9.45 and had a facial and an Indian Head Massage for one hour followed by a chill on the comfortable padded outdoor furniture on the terrace. Lunch at 1.00 was extremely good value and very tasty indeed. Another treatment: Full Body Massage for one hour in the afternoon. Didn't even touch the pool (which grant it is small) or the steam/sauna rooms which I know to be good. Have experienced a deal some time ago the Hotel emailed us the offer. A huge BIG thank you to my Therapist Jess who was great. Hope the hotel pay you well as you are excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank October84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Myself and my partner had a very relaxing one night stay. The room was lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant was good and the atmosphere was very welcoming. We were fortunate enough to have sunny weather during our stay which meant we were able to sit outside and enjoy the sunshine and the lovely surroundings. We used the spa and had a treatment and this only added to an overall enjoyable experience .

Room Tip: This was our second stay at the hotel and we have been pleased with both our rooms. During our most...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Auckland
4.2 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,260 reviews
3.9 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
7.8 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
9.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
16.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Address: Front Street | The Green, West Auckland DL14 9HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > West Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
Price Range: £50 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House Hotel is a quintessential Jacobean grade one listed hotel, with 35 comfortably furnished and well equipped bedrooms, all offering free use of our Health Club. The Restaurant serves fresh, seasonal & local food to residents and non-residents alike. The hotel is also an ideal venue for weddings, conferences & events for up to 120 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Hotel Durham/West Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing