We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet midweek” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheshire Workshops

Cheshire Workshops
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A visitor attraction with gift shops, cafe and craft activities for all ages including candle making ceramic model painting Badge and key ring making Sand bottle filling Free ice cream throughout month of June with all activity packages purchased. (Yellow green and blue tickets)
mold
Level Contributor
527 reviews
246 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“quiet midweek”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

restaurant was busy but the shop quiet at around 1pm

great views from the restaurant and although not an imaginative menu the foods was fresh and plenty of it

really pleasant cheerful staff

thought some of the goods on offer were pricey in these austere times

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    42
    30
    6
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We attended on a week day and there was a large coach load of young children and were told there would be a wait for candle making. We decided to have a little trip up the road to the ice cream factory and return a little later. By this time there was a bus load of elderly people also making candles.

Even so, the young man on the candle making who had worked non stop through 90 children and about 20 elderly people happily showed us how to make the candles and left us to our own devices (Luckily so we didn't have to sing the rhyme) He looked worn out but still had a smile on his face.

We were very pleased with our candles and the price is great. Its a lovely souvenir. There are many other activities for children that im sure it would be a great place to take them.
Also a great view from the cafe.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice gift shop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Popped in on a dull damp afternoon on a drive out into Cheshire. Theres a large gift shop selling candles of every size and colour, candle holders and other craft items. The price around average - i picked up one candle and remeber thinking it was just slightly cheaper than a Yankee Candle.
There a a few activites for younger children - pony rides (it was half term) and candle making. There is a cafe there but as i didnt eat i cant comment about either the price or quality of the food. However, it did look full, which is a good sign.
Nice place to spend an hour or so looking round the shop - my 15 year old daughter was delighted with her hand made smelly soaps - but i would maybe combine the visit with a trip to another attraction as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Will NOT be returning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have been here a few times since I was a child so was fairly familiar with it. Popped in with my partner and kids and they wanted to paint a moneybox each. Now, this was at about 4pm and they closed at 5. At about 4.45pm we were told to hurry up as otherwise the lacquer they put on it wouldn't dry. So we did, and they put the lacquer on (although he seemed to have absolutely no idea what he was doing) and then put it in front of a small heater. The things didn't even have time to dry and he was putting them in the bag, and they were covered in finger marks, but their attitude was 'oh I'm sorry but we don't have time now'. How flamin rude, if there wasn't enough time then we should not have been able to purchase them, and for him to ruin it and not even offer any sort of refund is a disgrace. We will never be coming back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not worth a visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were very disappointed, no candle making was going on at all. The place appeared to be just a large shop selling candles and sundry other bought in items. We felt that we had wasted our petrol driving there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith and Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burw, General Manager at Cheshire Workshops, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to the candle workshops. I am assuming that when you were referring to the fact that there was no candle making taking place you were expecting to see staff making candles in the staff candle area not the public candle making area (as the public candle making area is open 7 days per week). Our candle makers operate in the staff candle making area making candles that have been ordered in the shop and via our website. They do not work every day of the week throughout the day and particularly during busy times their attention is focused towards instructing the public attending the workshops on how to make candles in the public area.

As most of the candles that are now made in the candle shop are bespoke for particular events or occasions we endeavor to display a small selection of the type and style of candles that we sell here so that when customers do wish to order a personalised candle it gives them an idea of the sort of work we can produce.

Apart from our own candles we do stock a wide range of candle and candles accessories in the downstairs showrooms, which are from other suppliers, thus widening the choices available to visitors. Our upstairs gift shops also offer a range of personalised items for children and adults , which we are sorry that were not to your taste.

Regrettably we were unable to meet your expectations when you visited, however, over a number of years the business here has diversified where now the main attraction for children and families is to visit and enjoy making their own candles together along with a variety of other craft based activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheshire Workshops also viewed

 

Been to Cheshire Workshops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing