We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carden Park Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,565)
Filter reviews
4,565 results
Traveller rating
2,515
1,242
474
202
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,515
1,242
474
202
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf breakthe main hoteltwo double bedscourtyard roomvines restaurantspa treatmentslovely hotelgreat facilitiesevening meallovely groundsrelaxing breakleisure facilitiesredmonds restaurantnight breaksteam roomchanging roomsfood was lovely
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,703 - 3,708 of 4,565 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the hotel and played 3 rounds of golf. What a pity that both the Cheshire and Nicklaus courses are mainly Made up of clay soil - any rain and you have puddles. The cheshire course was better than the Nicklaus course, particularly the greens. The Nicklaus course greens had seedheads growing - making them slow whilst the Cheshire greens were slightly better and slightly quicker but had no zip about them. The accomodation itself was superb and the two evening meals were top quality but it took two and a half hours to get through 3 courses and being a group of 20 we were rapped on the first night for being rowdy by the restaraunt manager. However had the service been better we would have been eating rather than talking! The group were promised good deals onthe visit and had paper evidence of their promises - despite this we were challenged on each and every part of our deal - this can only mean to me that there is something radically wrong with the management and communication within this complex. Beverage is extremely expensive and the golf bar had no draught beer on our first evening, and no coffee beans on the following morning (demonstrating the lack of proffesional control). Overall a satisfactory visit - could have been a superb one but in order to have been one of the best the greens and courses need attention and the general management needs a good shake up!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carden_Park, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

We have noted your feedback regarding your two night golfing break and do recall the time of your stay. The weather is improving at long last and the greens have since been fertilised and are now back to their original condition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

"If one sows goodness, one will reap goodness" Just about sums it up. Arrived on a very busy Saturday after a nightmare journey which took 4 hours to cover 120 miles. Check in was smooth and effortless and we were soon relaxing on a fabulous sunny terrace with friendly and attentive staff ensuring our every need was catered for. Drinks prices no dearer than many other hotels of this quality and bar food fantastic. The "Bootmaker" sandwich was amazing and became the talk of the terrace. Room and bed both huge and very comfortable and grounds are breathtaking. Evening meal was of good quality but atmosphere spoilt by other families who see nothing wrong with allowing young children to eat late (9pm) but then play on ipads at full volume during dinner. The delights of Chester are only a short drive away if you need to venture out from the spa, gym or pool. Superb weekend break and will definitely return. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaspandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carden_Park, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

The team here at Carden are really happy to learn that you had a superb weekend break with us. Your review is very kind and we appreciate you taking the time to write. It had been our pleasure to look after you and it's good to learn that you will definitely return so we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We were a party of 3 couples staying 2 nights to enjoy the golf and spa facilities. The golf was excellent, 2 superb courses, a pity the weather was so poor. Our wives said the spa treatments were "okay, we have had better". We were on a package including the golf/spa, breakfast and 3 course evening meal. The food is very good. The rooms were clean, spacious and well appointed. Overall a good break. We would certainly recommend Carden Park for a short break.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pensionerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carden_Park, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

We are pleased that you and your party had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for mentioning the golf courses being superb, food very good and accommodation being clean, spacious and well appointed. We are disappointed about your comments regarding the spa treatments and do hope you gave us your feedback at the time. We are however delighted that you would recommend Carden Park for a short break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Spent the weekend at Carden Park. Lovely hotel set in stunning grounds. Ate in Redmonds Restaurant both nights, good food but the same menu both nights. Bedrooms clean, large comfy beds and fluffy towels. Staff at hotel are friendly and efficient, and pimms went down a treat in the sunshine.
The only downside is the Spa, which was the reason for our trip, so very disappointed. Treatment rooms dated and scruffy, relaxation rooms noisy with residents using their mobiles, so no opportunity to relax! Booked a 1 hour 25 mins treatment, only lasted an hour and did not include all of what was stated in the package! Pedicure was the worst ever, made to lie on the treatment bed with my knees up!
Would go again to stay at hotel, but will avoid the spa in future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carden_Park, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for writing and whilst we are pleased you found the hotel lovely and food good on both nights, we too are very disappointed about your spa experience. We presume that you would have spoken to us during your stay but we are pleased that you mention you would return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

I thought I'd stay here as opposed to my regular hotel in Chester. What a mistake... The room was ok but the vines Resturant service was appalling I ordered a drink and had to chase it twice, after my main course it was as if I was invisible. I waited 45 minutes to even be attended to, the staff were too busy nattering and I had to ask in the end for a desert menu... Give it a miss, not worth all the hype unless you play golf !

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beechcrafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carden_Park, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

We are very sorry to read your feedback regarding dinner. We do hope that you spoke to a member of staff at the time as this is definitely not the norm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews